CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

LCD : change DDRAM to the second character set

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Guest








LCD : change DDRAM to the second character set
PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:08 am     Reply with quote

hello,
I am using Flex LCD driver by PCM Programmer for controlling 16x2 LCD.
According to HD44780 data sheet, there are 2 possible character sets which vary in address of DDRAM.
My question therefore is how to employ the second set instead of the first one.
I guess the modification of the following is to be done, but dont have a clue what exactly:
Quote:
int8 const LCD_INIT_STRING[4] =
{
0x20 | (lcd_type << 2), // Func set: 4-bit, 2 lines, 5x8 dots
0xc, // Display on
1, // Clear display
6 // Increment cursor
};


thanks in advance,
regards M.
Guest








PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 2:11 pm     Reply with quote

or am I wrong? I allege that based on Table 4 in HD44780 datasheet. There are 2 ROM Codes - A00, A02
Can it be switched between them or is it factory programmed?
cheers
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 2:38 pm     Reply with quote

You have to buy the LCD with the specific character set that you want.
Look at this section in the HD44780 data sheet:
Quote:
Ordering Information

It shows the different ordering options. One part number has character
set A00, another p/n is for character set A02, etc.
Guest








PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 3:56 am     Reply with quote

thanks for clarifying
aruna1



Joined: 14 Oct 2008
Posts: 103

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 1:32 am     Reply with quote

Hi
sorry for reviving this old post. but my question is related to this.
@PCM programmer,

How can we know which chip is used in the lcd module we have?

I have some 16x2 lcd modules but their chips are sealed. is there anyway we can find which ROM address chips have?
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19338

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 1:53 am     Reply with quote

Display the characters....

Best Wishes
aruna1



Joined: 14 Oct 2008
Posts: 103

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 1:55 am     Reply with quote

Ttelmah wrote:
Display the characters....

Best Wishes

that is what i thought. I was looking for more lazy way Very Happy

thanks Ttelmah
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19338

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:53 am     Reply with quote

Realistically if this is not marked on the unit, it is going to have to be powered up, so just displaying characters is as easy as any other way....

However it normally is part of the part number on the unit.

Best Wishes
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group