CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

software RS232 problem! help!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ADN



Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

software RS232 problem! help!
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 11:11 am     Reply with quote

Hello,

I am using a PIC18F2550 which has a software R232-connection to the PC. I want that the RS232 waits till it gets 8 characters from the PC.

This is my code:

Code:

#use rs232(baud=57600, bits=8,parity=n,xmit=PIN_A1, rcv=PIN_A2, stream=commu)

#byte TRISA = 0xF92

bit_clear(TRISA,1);
bit_set(TRISA,2);




RB_counter=0;


while (RB_counter<8)
{

   while(!kbhit(commu));
   if (kbhit(commu))
   {
      alps_in_data[RB_counter]=fgetc(commu);
      delay_us(1);               
      RB_counter=RB_counter+1;         
   }
}


I thought the pic would wait at the line while(!kbhit(commu)); till it gets a new character but I habe seen the pic does not stop at that positon and read 8 NULL values, without that the PC has sent any thing!

I am really at loss and need urgently your help!

Thx in advance!!
Humberto



Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 1215
Location: Buenos Aires, La Reina del Plata

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 11:56 am     Reply with quote

If the loop doesn't stop, it seems something wrong with the Rcv input.
At first glance I see that the pins used are Digital I/O or Analog Inputs.
After power up, they wake up as Analog Inputs unless other specification.

Add this in the beggining:

setup_adc_ports(NO_ANALOGS);

Made some changes in the polling..

Code:

RB_counter=0;

while(1)
   {
    do
      {
        // wait here... 
      }while(!kbhit(commu));

    if (kbhit(commu))
      {
       alps_in_data[RB_counter]=fgetc(commu);
       RB_counter=RB_counter+1;         
      }

   if (RB_counter>8)
     {
       RB_counter=0;
       ......
       // read the received packet
       ...... 
     }
  }



Humberto


Last edited by Humberto on Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:10 pm; edited 2 times in total
ADN



Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:03 pm     Reply with quote

I have already added this command

setup_adc_ports(NO_ANALOGS|VSS_VDD);

so it is obviously not the cause of the problem

ADN
Humberto



Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 1215
Location: Buenos Aires, La Reina del Plata

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:14 pm     Reply with quote

PIN_A2 should be high when idle, did you check this ?

Humberto
ADN



Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:19 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:

Code:

RB_counter=0;

while(1)
{
do
{
// wait here...
}while(!kbhit(commu));

if (kbhit(commu))
{
alps_in_data[RB_counter]=fgetc(commu);
RB_counter=RB_counter+1;
}

if (RB_counter>8)
{
RB_counter=0;
......
// read the received packet
......
}
}



but I think this does not change any thing, in the fact that the "while(!kbhit(commu)); " loop does not wait for an incoming character.
ADN



Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:21 pm     Reply with quote

Humberto wrote:
PIN_A2 should be high when idle, did you check this ?

Humberto


yes I have checked this and both pins A1 and A2 are high
ckielstra



Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 3680
Location: The Netherlands

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:26 pm     Reply with quote

What does the rest of your RS-232 interface look like? Do you use an interface chip like the MAX-232?
ckielstra



Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 3680
Location: The Netherlands

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:27 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:
but I think this does not change any thing, in the fact that the "while(!kbhit(commu)); " loop does not wait for an incoming character.
The software UART is level sensitive and sees a logic 0 as the start bit, this as opposed to a hardware UART which is edge sensitive and would wait for the high-to-low edge.
ADN



Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:33 pm     Reply with quote

ckielstra wrote:
What does the rest of your RS-232 interface look like? Do you use an interface chip like the MAX-232?


exactly, I am using MAX232
ckielstra



Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 3680
Location: The Netherlands

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:43 pm     Reply with quote

Which compiler version are you using? It might be a compiler bug.

Does your program work when you move the receive PIN_A2 to a pin on another port, for example port B?
ADN



Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:51 pm     Reply with quote

ckielstra wrote:
Which compiler version are you using? It might be a compiler bug.

Does your program work when you move the receive PIN_A2 to a pin on another port, for example port B?


I am using the PCWH version of CCSC.

Actually I did not try to choose an other pin on another port. But this is a good idea. I will try it out.

ADN
Humberto



Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 1215
Location: Buenos Aires, La Reina del Plata

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:51 pm     Reply with quote

ADN wrote:
Quote:

but I think this does not change any thing, in the fact that the "while(!kbhit(commu)); " loop does not wait for an incoming character.

Yes it does. kbhit() wait for the start bit of an incoming character.
Is the only way to wait for a start bit using software UART. At @57600 Baud -as you are using- the start bit is 17us long.

When asking something, pls post full info. We doesn't know how did you set the
18 configuration bits that determine the main behaviour of this processor.


Humberto


Last edited by Humberto on Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:57 pm; edited 1 time in total
ADN



Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:57 pm     Reply with quote

sorry Humbrto, you r right! Embarassed

here are the fuses I am using and the different setup commands:

Code:

#FUSES NOWDT                    //No Watch Dog Timer
//#FUSES WDT128                   //Watch Dog Timer uses 1:128 Postscale
#FUSES XTPLL                    //Crystal/Resonator with PLL enabled
#FUSES NOPROTECT                //Code not protected from reading
#FUSES NOBROWNOUT               //No brownout reset
//#FUSES BORV20                   //Brownout reset at 2.0V
#FUSES NOPUT                    //No Power Up Timer
#FUSES NOCPD                    //No EE protection
#FUSES STVREN                   //Stack full/underflow will cause reset
#FUSES NODEBUG                  //No Debug mode for ICD
#FUSES NOLVP                      //No Low Voltage Programming on B3(PIC16) or B5(PIC18)
#FUSES NOWRT                    //Program memory not write protected
#FUSES NOWRTD                   //Data EEPROM not write protected
#FUSES IESO                     //Internal External Switch Over mode enabled
#FUSES FCMEN                    //Fail-safe clock monitor enabled
//#FUSES PBADEN                   //PORTB pins are configured as analog input channels on RESET
#FUSES NOWRTC                   //configuration not registers write protected
#FUSES NOWRTB                   //Boot block not write protected
#FUSES NOEBTR                   //Memory not protected from table reads
#FUSES NOEBTRB                  //Boot block not protected from table reads
#FUSES NOCPB                    //No Boot Block code protection
#FUSES MCLR                     //Master Clear pin enabled
#FUSES LPT1OSC                  //Timer1 configured for low-power operation
#FUSES NOXINST                  //Extended set extension and Indexed Addressing mode disabled (Legacy mode)
#FUSES PLL1                     //No PLL PreScaler
#FUSES USBDIV
#FUSES VREGEN

#use delay(clock=48000000)



setup_adc_ports(NO_ANALOGS|VSS_VDD);
setup_adc(ADC_OFF);
setup_spi(FALSE);
setup_wdt(WDT_OFF);
setup_timer_0(RTCC_INTERNAL);
setup_timer_1(T1_DISABLED);
setup_timer_2(T2_DISABLED,0,1);
setup_timer_3(T3_DISABLED|T3_DIV_BY_1);
setup_comparator(NC_NC_NC_NC);
setup_vref(VREF_LOW|-2);
setup_low_volt_detect(FALSE);
setup_oscillator(False);
setup_spi(spi_master |spi_clk_div_4 |SPI_L_TO_H | SPI_XMIT_L_TO_H);


hope it helps find out the mistake!

ADN
Humberto



Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 1215
Location: Buenos Aires, La Reina del Plata

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 1:28 pm     Reply with quote

#use delay(clock=48000000)

Quote:

#FUSES XTPLL //Crystal/Resonator with PLL enabled


What kind of crystal are you using ? I mean serial / paralel cut.

Mmmh.. did you make a sofware delay test to make sense of how fast the PIC is running?


Humberto
ADN



Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 1:41 pm     Reply with quote

I am using a 4 Mhz crystal. And it works smoothly.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group