View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Scanny
Joined: 13 Jan 2006 Posts: 5 Location: Italy
|
HW USART TX Level |
Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 2:53 am |
|
|
I guys,
I have a problem related to the idle state of tx ( RC6 ) PIN when in RX mode.
I need to drive a serial external module that requires TX Line at LOW Level when PIC is waiting for an incoming streaming.
Looking at scope and also on the Registers I found that with #RS232 directive TRIC.6 = 0 and TRISC.7 = 1.
Moreover LATC.6 = 1 and LATC.6 = 1.
I'm not able to test fw modification now but my question is really simple:
"Do you think that simple having in the code the bit_clear( LATC, 6 ) when in RX I can solve my problem ? "
"Or can you suggest a more elegant way to reach my target ?"
Some details:
PIC18F2420 @40Mhz
CCS PCH 3.242
Thank you very much for your help
Paolo |
|
|
asmallri
Joined: 12 Aug 2004 Posts: 1634 Location: Perth, Australia
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 3:12 am |
|
|
Driving TX TTL level low on idle is not the protocol behaviour for RS232. It sounds like the external module is expecting Rs232 line driver input level behaviour. Can you post a link to the module? _________________ Regards, Andrew
http://www.brushelectronics.com/software
Home of Ethernet, SD card and Encrypted Serial Bootloaders for PICs!! |
|
|
Scanny
Joined: 13 Jan 2006 Posts: 5 Location: Italy
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 3:26 am |
|
|
Module is AUREL XTR-869.
Is a radio module.
In the datasheet you'll don't find anything about the TX LOW line.
This suggestion comes directly from AUREL technicians.
Paolo |
|
|
Humberto
Joined: 08 Sep 2003 Posts: 1215 Location: Buenos Aires, La Reina del Plata
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 8:16 am |
|
|
Quote: |
"Do you think that simple having in the code the bit_clear( LATC, 6 ) when in RX I can solve my problem ? "
|
No. The iddle Tx state must be High as asmallri stated.
Quote: |
"Or can you suggest a more elegant way to reach my target ?"
|
Not an elegant way but you have two choices:
1) Use software UART wich as the INVERT capability.
2) Use a hardware inverter like a transistor or a logic gate inverter between the Tx output and the RF module.
Humberto |
|
|
Scanny
Joined: 13 Jan 2006 Posts: 5 Location: Italy
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 8:23 am |
|
|
Dear Humberto,
I need to look into INVERTED Mode. I don't know what this does mean but I can simple imagine the behaviour.
Of course I considered a simple NPN transistor + a collector resistor in order to have a logical inverter but I cannot follow this way because the hardare ( schematics plus pcbs ) are already done !
I will try your suggestion today.
I will back on the forum with results.
Thanks a lot
Paolo |
|
|
Humberto
Joined: 08 Sep 2003 Posts: 1215 Location: Buenos Aires, La Reina del Plata
|
|
|
|