View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ser ching Guest
|
|
Posted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 2:14 am |
|
|
how u read from it? I use putc() and printf() to write to hyperterminal and getc() to get the character from hyperterminal. |
|
|
falleaf
Joined: 23 May 2004 Posts: 48
|
|
Posted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:54 am |
|
|
No, I dont talk about writing in PIC. I would like to know where can we fill in a byte, and give the send command to PIC in Hyperterminal. How we do that in HYperterminal??
I only see that when I choose SEND Icon, it bloom out a window, and tell to add the file into it. So what we do with it? |
|
|
Joan
Joined: 29 May 2004 Posts: 41 Location: Barcelona, Spain
|
|
Posted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 5:21 am |
|
|
falleaf wrote: | No, I dont talk about writing in PIC. I would like to know where can we fill in a byte, and give the send command to PIC in Hyperterminal. How we do that in HYperterminal??
I only see that when I choose SEND Icon, it bloom out a window, and tell to add the file into it. So what we do with it? |
Hi falleaf:
Use a more specific toll fot that use: Visual Basic or LabVIEW, for example. They give more control about you're trying to sent to COM. What happens when you're sending hexadecimal commands ? .... I think some times ASCII code is not for this kind of use....
Best Regards;
Joan _________________ I Came. I Saw. I Won. |
|
|
falleaf
Joined: 23 May 2004 Posts: 48
|
|
Posted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 6:15 am |
|
|
Nope, I had a basic program to xmit from PC to PIC, but I would like to ask how to xmit with Hyperterminal? |
|
|
SherpaDoug
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 1640 Location: Cape Cod Mass USA
|
Alternative to Hyperterminal |
Posted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:28 am |
|
|
I avoid using Hyperterminal. It always give me problems. Instead I use Terminal available free here:
http://bray.velenje.cx/avr/terminal _________________ The search for better is endless. Instead simply find very good and get the job done. |
|
|
rwyoung
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 563 Location: Lawrence, KS USA
|
|
Posted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:40 am |
|
|
falleaf wrote: | Nope, I had a basic program to xmit from PC to PIC, but I would like to ask how to xmit with Hyperterminal? |
Hyperterminal has several options for sending files, if that is what you mean.
1) Hook up the two machines through a NULL modem serial cable.
2) Start Hyperterminal on both machines, direct com connection, same speed (example, 38400,8,n,1). I generally pick no-handshake but you could try software (XON/XOFF) or hardware (if your null modem cable is wired correctly).
3) Use the Transfer | Send file menu option. Use the control to navigate to the file you want to send and use Zmodem as the sending method.
4) If the receiving PC does not automatically start receiving the file you can go through the Transfer menu and manually start the receive session.
I use this setup to update software on some old PCs we have setup as equipment test stations that don't have floppy drives or network connections. Works great for pulling off old status files or updating the software. _________________ Rob Young
The Screw-Up Fairy may just visit you but he has crashed on my couch for the last month! |
|
|
falleaf
Joined: 23 May 2004 Posts: 48
|
Re: Alternative to Hyperterminal |
Posted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 12:40 pm |
|
|
Thanks muchie, I see it easier to use.
Quote: | 1) Hook up the two machines through a NULL modem serial cable.
2) Start Hyperterminal on both machines, direct com connection, same speed (example, 38400,8,n,1). I generally pick no-handshake but you could try software (XON/XOFF) or hardware (if your null modem cable is wired correctly).
3) Use the Transfer | Send file menu option. Use the control to navigate to the file you want to send and use Zmodem as the sending method.
4) If the receiving PC does not automatically start receiving the file you can go through the Transfer menu and manually start the receive session. |
No, I'm using hyperterminal for PIC communication. That is I would like to send only few bytes, So how can I send? I fill out on a notepad file, and send the file to PIC? For example, pls show me how to send 0xf0 to PIC? Of course, if you send, PIC will receive it. I programmed for PIC and used my own xmit program writen in Basic. |
|
|
rwyoung
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 563 Location: Lawrence, KS USA
|
Re: Alternative to Hyperterminal |
Posted: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:55 pm |
|
|
Quote: |
No, I'm using hyperterminal for PIC communication. That is I would like to send only few bytes, So how can I send? I fill out on a notepad file, and send the file to PIC? For example, pls show me how to send 0xf0 to PIC? Of course, if you send, PIC will receive it. I programmed for PIC and used my own xmit program writen in Basic. |
OK - you will need to create a file with the bytes you want to send.
You say you want to send 0x0f. If you mean the bit pattern 0000 1111 then you will need to use some kind of hex editor to create the file or write a C or Visual Basic (or language of your choice) program to create the file. If you mean to send the characters '0' 'x' '0' 'f' then just use Notepad.
Under the Transfer menu you just pick Send Text File. Just because it says "text file" it doesn't mean it has to contain the alphabet. Hyperterminal will just step throught the file byte-by-byte and send each one. No error corrections. If you have monkeyed with the settings for your terminal and asked it to send extra line-feeds and such, you will need to turn those things off. _________________ Rob Young
The Screw-Up Fairy may just visit you but he has crashed on my couch for the last month! |
|
|
Mark
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 2838 Location: Atlanta, GA
|
Re: Alternative to Hyperterminal |
Posted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:29 pm |
|
|
Well I tried out this terminal and I give it the thumbs down. It wouldn't work with no handshaking. I got it to work a bit between 2 serial ports with RTS/CTS but with none selected and connected to my embedded device it just sits with an hour glass. In my opinion it is crashed and after 3 times in a row I am going to give it the thumbs down. |
|
|
Mark
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 2838 Location: Atlanta, GA
|
|
Posted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:41 pm |
|
|
Here's one that worked just fine. http://hp.vector.co.jp/authors/VA002416/teraterm.html
What I was looking for was just a simple terminal that supports the "\a" or bell command. It seems that Hyperterminal is a bit flaky in handling it (some machines it works and others it doesn't, probably version related). This one seems to work. |
|
|
Joshua Lai
Joined: 19 Jul 2004 Posts: 42 Location: Malaysia, PJ
|
|
Posted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 1:05 am |
|
|
I use hyperterminal to recieve data from PIC, when the data is within the white windows, it is ok.
When I send a lot of data to hyperterminal, the previous data moves up outside the white windows lines by lines. I copy the whole data into notepad and there are many errors.
Why the data is ok inside the white windows and crazy when move up? How to increase the hyperterminal buffer size? Maximum is only 500 lines. |
|
|
TIMT
Joined: 02 Sep 2005 Posts: 49 Location: Nottingham, UK
|
|
Posted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 2:35 am |
|
|
I had the same problem with hyperterminal - I could only receive a byte. I switched to using the Serial I/o software that comes with ccs. (Tools/Serial port monitor) this worked fine.
Tim _________________ Tim |
|
|
Mark
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 2838 Location: Atlanta, GA
|
|
Posted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 6:04 am |
|
|
That would be a bug in Hyperterminal. One engineer here claims that he fixed the problem by copying Win2000 version over onto his XP machine. |
|
|
rwyoung
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 563 Location: Lawrence, KS USA
|
|
Posted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 7:50 am |
|
|
Joshua Lai wrote: | I use hyperterminal to recieve data from PIC, when the data is within the white windows, it is ok.
When I send a lot of data to hyperterminal, the previous data moves up outside the white windows lines by lines. I copy the whole data into notepad and there are many errors.
Why the data is ok inside the white windows and crazy when move up? How to increase the hyperterminal buffer size? Maximum is only 500 lines. |
Use the "receive text file" command. This logs all incoming bytes to a file. Seems to work just fine, better than trying to cut-and-paste from the window. _________________ Rob Young
The Screw-Up Fairy may just visit you but he has crashed on my couch for the last month! |
|
|
Joshua Lai
Joined: 19 Jul 2004 Posts: 42 Location: Malaysia, PJ
|
|
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 12:02 am |
|
|
Oh ! Thanks a lot.
In windows XP, it is "Capture Text File". It work so good. |
|
|
|