CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Jump out from while on interrupt
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tester21
Guest







Jump out from while on interrupt
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 6:25 am     Reply with quote

Code:
sec=0;
while(sec < 15 && value !=0)
{
 printf(lcd_putc,"\f Timeout over ! First option);
 delay_ms(200);
}
printf(lcd_putc,"\fSecond option");function();


After 15 seconds you get displayed "second option" and this is ok.
What i want to do is to check if the button interrupt
( within this 15 second ) is triggered so i can ( before this 15 seconds timeout ) start with other function.
Instead, im looping in while and the value will never be "1" so i must allways wait till 15 seconds are out...

I must start function on two different ways (either thru timeout or button click, within this timeout)..

John
Ttelmah
Guest







PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 7:05 am     Reply with quote

Code:

sec=0;
while(sec < 15 && value !=0)
{
 printf(lcd_putc,"\f Timeout over ! First option);
 delay_ms(200);
 if (button()) break;
}
printf(lcd_putc,"\fSecond option");function();

Obviously you need a suitable test function (calld 'button' in the example), which returns 'true' when a button is hit, but this will prematurely exit the while, if the condition is met.

Best Wishes
DragonPIC



Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 118

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 10:01 am     Reply with quote

You must set a flag in interrupt (as long as the input you have is capable of requesting an interrupt.)

For example, if I have the button connected to port b pin 0 and have configured the pin for interrupt, I could make an interrupt function:

Code:
....
int flags;
#bit button_flag = flags.0

#INT_ETX  //external interupt port b pin 0 on 16F876A
void button_int(void)
{
 button_flag = 1
}
....
sec=0;
button_flag = 0;
while(sec < 15 && value !=0)
{
 printf(lcd_putc,"\f Timeout over ! First option);
 delay_ms(200);
 if(button_flag) break;

}
printf(lcd_putc,"\fSecond option");function();
....


Not sure if the interrupt is properly debounced for a button, so a delayed check may be necessary.

Code:
#BYTE port_b = 6
#BIT intr = port_b.0
....

for (i=1;i<100;i++)  //insert this in your interrupt before setting flag
{
 if(intr == 0) return;  //false alarm will return from interrupt without setting flag.
}


or

Code:
delay_us(25);
 if(intr == 0) return;  //false alarm will return from interrupt without setting flag.


should do and would assume a high to cause interrupt. If button is grounded to cause interrupt change to:

Code:
 if(intr) return;  //false alarm will return from interrupt without setting flag.


Port b would of coarse have to be initialized for interrupts for rising (button causes high) or falling (button causes low) edges.
_________________
-Matt
DragonPIC



Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 118

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 10:09 am     Reply with quote

http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=22738

Check this thread for precautions on using the interrupt method.
_________________
-Matt
Tester21
Guest







PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2005 4:44 am     Reply with quote

I have button (pull up) on connected on port A on A3 and chip is 16F877
On this port there is no external interrupt but i have to trigger it :-(

Wenn i test the program, nothing happens (it's the same as before ).
After timeout is over second option is triggered, but i can't break the timeout.

Code:
//------------------------------------------
#BYTE port_a = 3
#bit button_flag = flags.0
#bit intr = port_a.0
int flags;

#INT_EXT   
void button_int(void)
{
 button_flag = 1;
 delay_us(25);
 if(intr == 0) return;
}

sec=0;
button_flag = 0;
while(sec < 15 && value !=0)
{
 printf(lcd_putc,"\f Timeout over ! First option);
 delay_ms(200);
 if(button_flag) break;

}
printf(lcd_putc,"\fSecond option");function();


void main (void)
{
   
   //clear_interrupts(INT_EXT); 
   enable_interrupts(INT_EXT);
   enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);
}
//--------------------------------------------------

Port b would of coarse have to be initialized for interrupts
**
do i get this error becuse of the A3 pin or do i miss this initialisation part

John
Tester21
Guest







PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2005 4:44 am     Reply with quote

I have button (pull up) on connected on port A on A3 and chip is 16F877
On this port there is no external interrupt but i have to trigger it :-(

Wenn i test the program, nothing happens (it's the same as before ).
After timeout is over second option is triggered, but i can't break the timeout.

Code:
//------------------------------------------
#BYTE port_a = 3
#bit button_flag = flags.0
#bit intr = port_a.0
int flags;

#INT_EXT   
void button_int(void)
{
 button_flag = 1;
 delay_us(25);
 if(intr == 0) return;
}

sec=0;
button_flag = 0;
while(sec < 15 && value !=0)
{
 printf(lcd_putc,"\f Timeout over ! First option);
 delay_ms(200);
 if(button_flag) break;

}
printf(lcd_putc,"\fSecond option");function();


void main (void)
{
   
   //clear_interrupts(INT_EXT); 
   enable_interrupts(INT_EXT);
   enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);
}
//--------------------------------------------------

Port b would of coarse have to be initialized for interrupts
**
do i get this error becuse of the A3 pin or do i miss this initialisation part

John
Guest








PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 11:09 am     Reply with quote

#INT_EXT can only be used with an external interrupt (pin B0). If you have the button connected to A3, you need to use Ttelmah's method.


Code:
#BYTE port_a = 5
#bit intr = port_a.3
.....

sec=0;
while(sec < 15 && value !=0)
{
 printf(lcd_putc,"\f Timeout over ! First option);
 delay_ms(200);
 if (button()) break;
}
printf(lcd_putc,"\fSecond option");function();

....

short button(void)
{
 if(a3 == 1)
 {
   delay_us(20);
   if(a3 == 1);
     return(1);
 }
 return(0);
}


Would be the way to do it.
Guest








PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 11:28 am     Reply with quote

this post shows a nice way to debounce a button too.

http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=22109&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=15
Tester21
Guest







PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2005 4:27 am     Reply with quote

Ok. One small thing.. You have defined (a3==1). Is this right sintax or do i have to define some new variable to access intr... ?

John
Humberto



Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 1215
Location: Buenos Aires, La Reina del Plata

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2005 8:47 am     Reply with quote

Quote:

Ok. One small thing.. You have defined (a3==1). Is this right sintax or do i have to define some new variable to access intr... ?


No. he had defined
#bit intr = port_a.3

Then tryied to acces that pin using:
Code:

short button(void)
{
  if(a3 == 1)
   {
     delay_us(20);
     if(a3 == 1);
       return(1);
   }
  return(0);
}

which is wrong.

To access such pin:
Code:

short button(void)
{
 if(intr)
   {
    delay_us(20);
    if(intr)
      return(1);
   }
   return(0);
}


But if you expect that this code will debounce the switch contacts, 20us is not enough.
Depending of the switch you are using, it will still bouncing up to 50ms after toggled.
So if your application is not time sensitive, use a longer delay.

Code:

short button(void)
{
 if(intr)
   {
    delay_ms(50);
    if(intr)
       return(1);
    else
       return(0);
   }
}


You didnīt mention how do you connected the switch, but to run this code it is necesary a pull down
resistor connected between PIN_A3 and Gnd, then your switch connected between PIN_A3 and +5V.

Hope this help you,

Humberto
Tester21
Guest







PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2005 6:36 am     Reply with quote

Quote:
You didnīt mention how do you connected the switch


The first switch is pull up and the second is pull down.

Hardware connection from A3 to gnd:
1.) PIN A3
2.) Resistor ( 50 K )
3.) switch
4.) gnd

----------------------
I compile the program but there is no response on clicking the "A3" button in the timeout part.. Confused

John
Humberto



Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 1215
Location: Buenos Aires, La Reina del Plata

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2005 6:58 am     Reply with quote

Donīt understand your description, but this is a pull down. Wire this and before testing any code
-using a scope or a multimeter- whatīs going on with the level in PIN_A3 when you push the button.

Code:

             ______________ +5V
             |
             |
          _| °  Button
           | °
             |
             |_____________ PIN_A3
             |
             |
             \
             /   R 10K
             \
             /
             |
             |
             |_____________ Gnd   



Humberto
DragonPIC



Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 118

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2005 2:46 pm     Reply with quote

Thanks Humberto for the corrections.
_________________
-Matt
DragonPIC



Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 118

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2005 3:00 pm     Reply with quote

even better debounce would be:

Code:
short button(void)
{
   int cnt;

   while(intr)
   {
     delay_us(5); //
     cnt++;   
     if(cnt == 25)
        return(1);
   }
   return(0);
}

you should be able to detect a bounce by the time you return.
_________________
-Matt
Humberto



Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 1215
Location: Buenos Aires, La Reina del Plata

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2005 3:57 pm     Reply with quote

Hi DragonPIC,

Take in mind that the poster problem was that he canīt detect the pushbutton
action at all and I focused the help in the hardware and not in the best way to
debounce a switch contact.
If you want to know my opinion regarding code for debouncing, by far the best way is
using interrupts:

The level change impossed by the switch action is detected by any of the uC external
hardware interrupts, inside the interrupt clear a global counter and enable one timer,
wich every time it overflows increment the counter, after n counts bit test if the switch
had changed to confirm that the toggle was done, if yes just disable the timer interrupt.

You get a clean and efective debouncing technique without overhead nor wasting
time in delays while you have been running other code in the main.

Best wishes,

Humberto
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group