CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Question about fault control in 30F5015

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stoyanoff



Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 375

View user's profile Send private message

Question about fault control in 30F5015
PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 6:58 am     Reply with quote

Hi! I have a problem with 1 30F5015. I`m controlling IGBT bridge with it and I have a protection connected to FAULTA pin. So when I`m starting the bridge the big current consumption in the begging is disturbing the fault pin and activates the interrupt. In the INT_FAULTA I`m stopping the PWM outputs. So I need to make a simple software protection to avoid this ENP. BUT if I enter in this interrupt the fault control is stopping the pwm outputs immediately - Cycle-by-Cycle mode(30F5015 datasheet page 105). So could you give me an advice how to deal with this problem?
Thanks!
Mike Walne



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 1785
Location: Boston Spa UK

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 8:45 am     Reply with quote

Soft start.

Mike
stoyanoff



Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 375

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 9:53 am     Reply with quote

Yes! But before I start the bridge the filter caps are charged to voltage above work values. So on first pwm pulses I`m decreasing the duration the dv/dt is too big and it creates a powerful EMP. As far as I remember in the older version in 18F4431 the fault pin is waiting for few cycles and if the port is low again it triggers the interrupt.
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19339

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 11:17 am     Reply with quote

Generally a current limit fault, _wants_ to trigger if the current exceeds the safe level, without exception. You say you are 'decreasing the duration'. Is it the minimum it can be?. The normal practice would be to program the shortest pulse possible, and send this for a number of cycles before starting the PWM control.
If the fault is on 'per cycle', you will get a truncated pulse from the PWM, which will stop where the current limit exceeds, which is ideal for start up.
Fault doesn't delay on the 4431.

Best Wishes
stoyanoff



Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 375

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 12:07 pm     Reply with quote

Is there a way to trigger only the Fault interrupt
Code:

enable_interrupt(INT_FAULTA);

without triggering the output suppress interrupts
Code:

set_motor_unit(1,4,MPWM_ENABLE | MPWM_INDEPENDENT|MPWM_FAULTA_LI_HI,100,100);
???
Thanks!
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19339

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 12:41 pm     Reply with quote

These are not separate.
The fault interrupt, triggers the outputs to go to a safe condition.
No separate 'interrupt'.
You can turn off the switching to the safe condition in the PWM setup. and effectively use the fault input as a 'normal' interrupt, but then your driver risks overloading.

Best Wishes
stoyanoff



Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 375

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 4:34 am     Reply with quote

OK! I want to suppress my EMP disturbance by adding a small delay (1us) and checking again the fault input. If it`s low again -starting the protection. There is one detail - how can I check if the pwm counter is in active state or is inactive?
Thanks!
notbad



Joined: 10 Jan 2013
Posts: 68

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 4:04 pm     Reply with quote

are you having a problem with charging of capacitors?
or the current surge when starting the motor?
if you increase the duty cycle slowly from zero there should be no problem.
stoyanoff



Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 375

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 11:03 pm     Reply with quote

I've tried this - no success! I added duty cycle correction depending on the voltage on the bridge - no effect. So I need to know how can I check if the pwm pulse is in active state (1) or is in inactive state(0) till it's counting?
Thanks!
notbad



Joined: 10 Jan 2013
Posts: 68

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 3:22 am     Reply with quote

You can check if timer value is greater than ccpr.
But I think you're going in wrong direction.
Are you sure your circuitry for current threshold is correct?
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19339

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 3:30 am     Reply with quote

Agreed.

I'd actually suspect something really dangerous is going on (like both sides of the bridge switching on at once), and as such the fault input is saving things....

Best Wishes
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group