View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
mob1182
Joined: 03 Mar 2016 Posts: 28
|
Can't program >640 instructions to PIC18F47K40 w/ ICD-U64 |
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 3:09 pm |
|
|
Got another PIC18F47K40 programming problem.
CCS - 5.065
CCSLoad - software 5.035, firmware 3.19, hardware rev.3
I can't seem to program more than 640 instructions to this chip with CCSLoad and ICD-U64
Code with exactly 640 instructions
Code: |
#include <18F47K40.h>
#device ADC=10
#FUSES NOEXTOSC //External Oscillator not enabled
#FUSES NOMCLR //Master Clear pin used for I/O
#FUSES NOBROWNOUT //No brownout reset
#FUSES NOLVP //No low voltage prgming, B3(PIC16) or B5(PIC18) used for I/O
#FUSES NOWDT,NOPROTECT
#use delay(internal=4MHz)
#USE RS232(BAUD=9600, XMIT=PIN_C6, RCV=PIN_C7, STREAM = pc)
//========================================================================================================================
void main() {
while(1) {
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx11");
output_high(pin_a0);
}
}
|
Code with 641 instructions
Code: |
#include <18F47K40.h>
#device ADC=10
#FUSES NOEXTOSC //External Oscillator not enabled
#FUSES NOMCLR //Master Clear pin used for I/O
#FUSES NOBROWNOUT //No brownout reset
#FUSES NOLVP //No low voltage prgming, B3(PIC16) or B5(PIC18) used for I/O
#FUSES NOWDT,NOPROTECT
#use delay(internal=4MHz)
#USE RS232(BAUD=9600, XMIT=PIN_C6, RCV=PIN_C7, STREAM = pc)
//========================================================================================================================
void main() {
while(1) {
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx");
fprintf(pc, "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx1122");
output_high(pin_a0);
}
}
|
-I only added the "22"
I get a verification error if more than 640 instructions. Verification results say from address 000004F2 to 000004FF actual is FF(not programmed).
With 640 instruction pin A0 goes high. With 641 it does not. Confirming that its not getting programmed past 640 instructions.
I've tried multiple chips and same thing. Didn't check to see if its always 640 instruction on them all though, just that I do get a verification error on a large file. I also use this programmer on other PIC chips and it works fine.
I do have a workaround for now. Its an inconvenience but at least I can continue. If I load the same hex created by the CCS IDE into microchips IPE (Integrated Programming Environment)V3.50 and use the pickit programmer is works fine.
I don't see anywhere in this forum where anyone has used the PIC18F47K40. Is this because its a newer chip or some other reason?
Last edited by mob1182 on Sat Jan 21, 2017 6:55 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9216 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 3:33 pm |
|
|
Any chance you've got a 'demo' or 'student' version of the software ? |
|
|
mob1182
Joined: 03 Mar 2016 Posts: 28
|
|
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 3:44 pm |
|
|
Nope paid full price for the PCWH plus a maintenance plan. You think I should put a support ticket in? |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9216 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 5:00 pm |
|
|
hmm silly question
have you tried another PIC ? like a 16F84, 18F46k22, etc. ?
same program, just different PIC.....
Jay |
|
|
mob1182
Joined: 03 Mar 2016 Posts: 28
|
|
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 5:06 pm |
|
|
Yep I used the same program on a PIC18F4685 with no problems |
|
|
newguy
Joined: 24 Jun 2004 Posts: 1907
|
|
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 7:18 pm |
|
|
Try downgrading the programmer's FW from 3.19 to something earlier. I've been bitten, many times, by a CCS programmer FW upgrade. |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9216 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:39 am |
|
|
I'm thinking it has to be CCSLoad.
Since the compiled code works, not a compiler problem
Since the code runs(once in) not a 'newPIC' issue
What's left is CCSLoad.
Interesting number 640 though. I recal ,decades ago, having an issue with '640', though what it is escapes me now.....
I'd email CCS about it ASAP....
Jay |
|
|
mob1182
Joined: 03 Mar 2016 Posts: 28
|
|
Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:52 am |
|
|
Thanks everyone! I sent an email to CCS and will let you know what they say. |
|
|
NAR
Joined: 01 Dec 2016 Posts: 17 Location: IL, USA
|
|
Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 5:02 pm |
|
|
@mob1182. Can you update the solution to this specific issue you mentioned last month.
I see you've been also having issues with I2C, CCP on later posts.
I've been dealing with CCS support for another member of the K40 family. Seems like the entire K40 family needs TLC. Apparently they are releasing a compiler update and CCSload firmware as well after the weekend. Hope that solve the tons of issues i am having with 18F66K40. Just saw your posts and i am guessing as you were able to move forward that they solved the verification error only for 48K40 last month. |
|
|
mob1182
Joined: 03 Mar 2016 Posts: 28
|
|
Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 5:51 pm |
|
|
Hey NAR. I sent CCS an email about this but never heard anything back regarding this issue.
I also have a Pickit 3 so my solution was to download and use the IPE from microchip, not the IDE. Although if I'm remembering correctly I believe the IPE and IDE are in one download package. I use CCS to compile the hex and upload it to the IPE and program with the pickit.
I'm sorry to hear you are also having problems but it's also comforting knowing its not just me. Looking forward to the update from CCS after the weekend! |
|
|
NAR
Joined: 01 Dec 2016 Posts: 17 Location: IL, USA
|
|
Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 6:15 pm |
|
|
Thanks for the quick reply. Makes sense to use the IPE. I only have the ICD-U80 at the moment. Been wanting to even try the code in MPLAB IDE just to check but if the problem in the programmer then guessing it would be the same.
Timer Interrupts sometimes stop working after including new (unrelated) code and re-compiling/loading. I think they will release the debugger for the chip after the weekend also. A new issue that i just isolated; my interrupts dont fire if i use a Receive buffer for UART in the #use statement!! Still yet to test I2C and CCP which are needed but hoping this new update will resolve everything. |
|
|
mob1182
Joined: 03 Mar 2016 Posts: 28
|
|
Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 6:25 pm |
|
|
Interesting. I wonder if this has anything to do with the access ram and banked ram thing PCM was talking about.
Also, the errata about TBLRD Ttelmah found is also a concern. In this case I wonder if CCS will even fix a bug that's not really their fault.
It seems all the K series had the TBLRD issue with earliest revs
Errata link for your chip...
http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/80000714B.pdf
I can get the Master mode for I2C to work fine. So working with EEPROMS is no prob. And I decided to use rs485 instead of Master to multiple I2C slave pics. Went to a pic18F67k40 and had the same issue with the CCP, and same solution |
|
|
NAR
Joined: 01 Dec 2016 Posts: 17 Location: IL, USA
|
|
Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 6:42 pm |
|
|
Will have to check the Rev. This is a batch of circuits that was just fabricated, unless the PCB house used older stock! |
|
|
asmboy
Joined: 20 Nov 2007 Posts: 2128 Location: albany ny
|
|
Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 6:48 pm |
|
|
There is a reason i use socketed 40 and 28 pin parts-
where board size and I/O pins is not an issue... |
|
|
mob1182
Joined: 03 Mar 2016 Posts: 28
|
|
Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 6:51 pm |
|
|
They are fairly new chips. I think they came out June of 2016 so its possible. I just ordered a few from digi-key this week and they all came in at rev A2 |
|
|
|