|
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Momboz
Joined: 03 Jun 2009 Posts: 29
|
2 x I2C interfaces on PIC 18F27K40 |
Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 1:50 pm |
|
|
I would like to use the 2 I2C interfaces on the PIC 18F27K40 at the same time and I have difficulties to make this running.
I have setup the I2C interfaces like this:
Code: | #use i2c(Master,Slow,sda=PIN_B2,scl=PIN_B1,stream=I2C_1)
#use i2c(Master,Slow,sda=PIN_C4,scl=PIN_C3,stream=I2C_2) |
But only the interface on C port works properly. The one on B port doesn't react.
Of course I didn't make any changes to the default pins allocations, i.e. no change in the PPS registers.
Any advice or idea? |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:12 pm |
|
|
You have named the streams the opposite of the way they are defined
in the 18F27K40 datasheet. But a stream name is just a name. So that
shouldn't make any difference.
I made a test program with your #use i2c() lines and I noticed both
generated software i2c code in the .LST file. Then I added the following
PPS statements above the #use i2c() lines. Then it generated code for
hardware i2c (for both of them). I didn't test it. But at least it's a step
in the right direction. This is with vs. 5.066.
Code: | #PIN_SELECT SCL1IN = PIN_C3
#PIN_SELECT SCL1OUT = PIN_C3
#PIN_SELECT SDA1IN = PIN_C4
#PIN_SELECT SDA1OUT = PIN_C4
#PIN_SELECT SCL2IN = PIN_B1
#PIN_SELECT SCL2OUT = PIN_B1
#PIN_SELECT SDA2IN = PIN_B2
#PIN_SELECT SDA2OUT = PIN_B2 |
If you need more help, post your compiler version. |
|
|
Momboz
Joined: 03 Jun 2009 Posts: 29
|
|
Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 5:29 am |
|
|
Yes, You're right I named the streams the opposite way they are defined in the 18F27K40. That was for investigation and, as you said, this has no impact on my program.
I am using compiler version 5.066, the latest.
However some extracts from the .LST file is misleading to me.
Genrated code
#PIN_SELECT SCL1IN = PIN_C3
#PIN_SELECT SCL1OUT = PIN_C3
#PIN_SELECT SDA1IN = PIN_C4
#PIN_SELECT SDA1OUT = PIN_C4
#use i2c(Master,Slow,sda=PIN_C4,scl=PIN_C3,stream=I2C_1)
Code: | 00370: BCF F96.7
00372: MOVLB E
00374: BCF xCD.0
00376: MOVFF 2B,F92
0037A: MOVLW 02
0037C: BTFSC F96.7
0037E: BRA 038A
00380: BTFSS xCD.0
00382: BRA 0380
00384: MOVLW 00
00386: BTFSC F97.6
00388: MOVLW 01
0038A: MOVWF 01
0038C: MOVLB 0
0038E: RETURN 0
00390: BCF F96.6
00392: BSF F97.3
00394: BTFSC F97.3
00396: BRA 0394
00398: BTFSC 00.0
0039A: BCF F97.5
0039C: BTFSS 00.0
0039E: BSF F97.5
003A0: BSF F97.4
003A2: BTFSC F97.4
003A4: BRA 03A2
003A6: MOVFF F92,01
003AA: GOTO 03DC |
and generated code for
#PIN_SELECT SCL2IN = PIN_B1
#PIN_SELECT SCL2OUT = PIN_B1
#PIN_SELECT SDA2IN = PIN_B2
#PIN_SELECT SDA2OUT = PIN_B2
#use i2c(Master,Slow,sda=PIN_B2,scl=PIN_B1,stream=I2C_1)
Code: | 00370: MOVLB E
00372: BCF x96.7
00374: BCF xCD.2
00376: MOVFF 2B,E92
0037A: MOVLW 02
0037C: BTFSC x96.7
0037E: BRA 038A
00380: BTFSS xCD.2
00382: BRA 0380
00384: MOVLW 00
00386: BTFSC x97.6
00388: MOVLW 01
0038A: MOVWF 01
0038C: MOVLB 0
0038E: RETURN 0
00390: MOVLB E
00392: BCF x96.6
00394: BSF x97.3
00396: BTFSC x97.3
00398: BRA 0396
0039A: BTFSC 00.0
0039C: BCF x97.5
0039E: BTFSS 00.0
003A0: BSF x97.5
003A2: BSF x97.4
003A4: BTFSC x97.4
003A6: BRA 03A4
003A8: MOVFF E92,01
003AC: MOVLB 0
003AE: GOTO 03E8 |
i2c for C port and B port have configuration registers F96h and E96h and the generated codes seem (at least to me) not to be consistent.
The first one works fine, the other doesn't.
Any view on that?
PS: I am using the same stream name I2C_1 for both configuration just to avoid my program at each change. |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19480
|
|
Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 10:32 am |
|
|
Both lots of code are functionally identical. The first talks to 0xF96, and the second to 0xE96.
You can directly address a register as 0xF96, or can set the bank to F, and talk to x96. It's switching between these two ways of working. Shouldn't make any difference, and probably reflects that the PIR register (which both have to talk to - bit 0, and bit 2 of 0xECD), is in bank E, so there is a difference in the bank switching needed.
Also you do realise that the interrupt number involved would change as well, if you use this?. |
|
|
Momboz
Joined: 03 Jun 2009 Posts: 29
|
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 6:17 am |
|
|
I haven't been using interrupt routines. |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|