CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Does anyone know how to send command to Maxstream RF module?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Izzy



Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 106

View user's profile Send private message

Does anyone know how to send command to Maxstream RF module?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 4:45 am     Reply with quote

Hello,
I was wondering if anyone here knows how to send Binary command to the MAXstream Xtend9 through PIC.

I tried with:

1. Change RT settings to 1

2. Turn CMD pin high

3. Send '6' ('6' is 0x36 in hex, which is the binary command to get the value of reveived signal strength)

4. Then poll of 2 byte data using Kbhit

5. Turn CMD pin low.


But this doesnot work.
treitmey



Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1094
Location: Appleton,WI USA

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 8:05 am     Reply with quote

Just call the maxstream people. Or do a web chat.


They are SUPER helpfull. They have allways gotten me
running in 15-20min.

lower left button support chat
http://www.maxstream.net/support/

I have used these in pairs a bunch. but only using
simple AT-command set. NOT binary. Crying or Very sad
Izzy



Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 106

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 4:53 am     Reply with quote

So did you used At commadn Through the PIC?

How did you do it? I coulnt make it work when I tried.

Can to tell me how?
treitmey



Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1094
Location: Appleton,WI USA

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 7:19 am     Reply with quote

No not from the PIC.
from the PC using there program XCTU.

Download that
http://www.maxstream.net/support/downloads.php

then if you can tap into the serial, http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/utilities/portmon.mspx
you could watch and see how they do it.

I was told it just used AT commands.

If you can't, perhaps I can find some free time. let me know.

Start by calling them, and/or using xctu.


Last edited by treitmey on Fri Jun 22, 2007 7:51 am; edited 3 times in total
treitmey



Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1094
Location: Appleton,WI USA

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 7:47 am     Reply with quote

I just remembered something VERY IMPORTANT.

the way you are able to send bin data without it being interpreted as
the AT commands, is that they require as fixed "guard" time before and
after the commands. I ran xctu and it shows it as 1000, ie I think that
is 1000mS or 1 sec.
The first thing xctu did was send "+++" and I think its waiting for a OK
Since I don't have the module right now,... that is all the farther I get.
rnielsen



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 852
Location: Utah

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 8:21 am     Reply with quote

Their modules act like a regular computer modem. There are the standard AT commands and then they also have some extended AT commands to set extra registers. The +++ string will put the modem into Command mode. The modem should echo with an OK. This is where you can enter new values into the various registers. If you download the manual it should show you the ones that are available.

The modem also has a timeout feature. Once in Command mode, if an AT command has not been entered within a specified time, I believe one second is default, it will return to data mode. You can send AT commands, with a PIC, simply with a printf() statement.

Ronald
IzzYprad
Guest







PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:37 am     Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply folks.

I will try using AT command as you guys said.

But I need to use Binary command because AT command takes time. I need to get the RSSI value after every few (say 50) milli second.
So it would be very nice if I can use binary.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group