View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
LaTech Guest
|
simple question about floating pins |
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 11:18 am |
|
|
i am using a pic for a school project. The pic I
m using is an overkill. I have about 8 pins not used. The code works fine when I run it, but I recall someone here saying I should never leave the pins floating.
So I should use a 10k pull down resistor and pull all the unused pins to ground?
Thanks |
|
|
SherpaDoug
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 1640 Location: Cape Cod Mass USA
|
|
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 12:06 pm |
|
|
That will certainly work. Often people have a fixed PCB with no room for resistors. Then I tell then to make the pins outputs.
The reason not to leave pins open is at least twofold:
1) If the pin decides to sit halfway between 0 and 1 it can cause the input buffer to draw lots of current or oscillate, which consumes power, generates heat, and if oscillating, generates electrical noise.
2) Floating pins are more susceptable to static damage. This is likely only to damage the pin involved, but may also hurt other circuits on the chip. _________________ The search for better is endless. Instead simply find very good and get the job done. |
|
|
Mark
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 2838 Location: Atlanta, GA
|
|
|
LaTech Guest
|
|
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 12:35 pm |
|
|
Yep that answered the question, I did a search before i posted but the term 'floating' retrieved alot of number problems not pin problems.
Thanks again! |
|
|
guest2 Guest
|
RE: |
Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 6:26 am |
|
|
Hi,
Maybe you should configure them as inputs instead, if you connect the output to ground inadvertently then you might short the +5 V line.
thanks
arun |
|
|
Mark
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 2838 Location: Atlanta, GA
|
Re: RE: |
Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 8:41 am |
|
|
guest2 wrote: | Hi,
Maybe you should configure them as inputs instead, if you connect the output to ground inadvertently then you might short the +5 V line.
thanks
arun |
Now that is just plain silly What if you inadvertently connected a pin you wanted to be an output to ground |
|
|
dyeatman
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 1934 Location: Norman, OK
|
Pullups/Pulldowns |
Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 9:03 am |
|
|
FWIW, I agree with Mark.
As a matter of practice I NEVER EVER connect any I/O pins (even ones normally A/D) directly to +V or ground... If something happens, regardless of how inadvertantly (even a compiler error), to configure the pins incorrectly you destroy the chip.
I always use pullups or pulldowns in SIL resistor packages to minimize the room required. In real tight situations, being as small as they are, I have even soldered them directly to the pin connections on the bottom of the board so they don't require real estate. |
|
|
|