CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

50 Hz software PWM for servos

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
anestho



Joined: 27 Dec 2006
Posts: 28

View user's profile Send private message

50 Hz software PWM for servos
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 7:25 pm     Reply with quote

PCMProgrammer posted this code a while ago.


Code:
#include <16F877.H>
#fuses XT, NOWDT, NOPROTECT, BROWNOUT, PUT, NOLVP
#use delay(clock = 4000000)

#define PWM_PIN  PIN_B1

#define LOOPCNT 39

int8 width;

//-------------------------------
#INT_RTCC
void tick_interrupt(void);

//====================================
main()
{
width = 10;

setup_counters(RTCC_INTERNAL, RTCC_DIV_1);
enable_interrupts(INT_RTCC);
enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);
 
while(1);
}

//====================================
#INT_RTCC
void tick_interrupt(void)
{
static int8 loop = LOOPCNT;
static int8 pulse;

if(--loop == 0)
  {
   loop = LOOPCNT;
   pulse = width;
  }

if(pulse)
  {
   output_high(PWM_PIN);
   pulse--;
  }
else
  {
   output_low(PWM_PIN);
  }

}


I realize the above code is for 100 Hz, but it can be changed to 50 Hz by increasing clock speed to 8 Mhz from 4 Mhz (or making LOOPCNT = 39/2)

At 8 Mhz, the RTCC would then run at 0.5 us / tick and with 1:2 prescaling would be 1 us/tick x 256 ticks for the RTCC rollover x 78 = 19968 us or about 20 ms period.

A servo requires a 5% to 10% duty cycle at 50Hz or 20 ms. That means that the servo responds to 1 ms (5% duty) to 2ms (10% duty).

I may be missing something, but it seems that the resolution of the above code is very low (with the above changes). With width = 4 (5% duty) to width = 8 (10% duty). Is there a better way to increase the resolution to say 8 bit (0-255) to account for the 5% to 10% duty cycle without using delays to form the period?

I can preload timer0 with -32 to get 32 us x 625 = 20,000 us period, but even this only leaves 31 step resolution.

I am using a pic 12F683 at 8 Mhz internal osc.
anestho



Joined: 27 Dec 2006
Posts: 28

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 7:34 pm     Reply with quote

I am using timer1 for something else, so it seems I can't use the CCP compare method of generating the signal.
inservi



Joined: 13 May 2007
Posts: 128

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:14 am     Reply with quote

Hello,

you can use timer 2 with this setup :
setup_timer_2(T2_DIV_BY_1,7,1);

So you have 4 uSec resolution or 250 step by ms.
change :
#use delay(clock = 4000000) by #use delay(clock = 8000000)
#define LOOPCNT 5000
change #INT_RTCC by #int_TIMER2
change enable_interrupts(INT_RTCC); by enable_interrupts(INT_TIMER2);

change int8 width; by int16 width;
width = between 251 (for 1ms) and 501 (for 2 ms)

change static int8 loop = LOOPCNT; by static int16 loop = LOOPCNT;
change static int8 pulse; by static int16 pulse;

I hope that can help you.

I have not tested but i think that you can optimize the "tick_interrupt" function.
Code:

//====================================
#int_TIMER2
void tick_interrupt(void)
{
static int16 loop = LOOPCNT;
static int16 pulse;

  if(--loop == 0)  {
    loop = LOOPCNT;
    pulse = width;
    output_high(PWM_PIN);
  }

  if(pulse) {
    if (--pulse == 0) output_low(PWM_PIN);
  }
}

So the output_high(PWM_PIN); and output_low(PWM_PIN); are executing only when it is necessary.

It is one very special moment for me. It is the first time that I can propose an improvement for the always excellent code of PCMProgrammer.

dro.

here is the (not tested code)
Code:
#include <16F877>
#fuses XT, NOWDT, NOPROTECT, BROWNOUT, PUT, NOLVP
#use delay(clock = 8000000)

#define PWM_PIN  PIN_B1

#define LOOPCNT 5000

int16 width;

//-------------------------------
#int_TIMER2
void tick_interrupt(void);

//====================================
main()
{
width = 377; // for 1.5ms)

setup_timer_2(T2_DIV_BY_1,7,1);
enable_interrupts(INT_TIMER2);
enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);
 
while(1);
}

//====================================
#int_TIMER2
void tick_interrupt(void) {
 static int16 loop = LOOPCNT;
 static int16 pulse;

  if(--loop == 0)  {
    loop = LOOPCNT;
    pulse = width;
    output_high(PWM_PIN);
  }

  if(pulse) {
    if (--pulse == 0) output_low(PWM_PIN);
  }
}

_________________
in médio virtus
Guest








PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 12:12 pm     Reply with quote

Thank you Very Happy I'm just concerned that 4 us per interrupt may be to short. Does it not take say 40 instructions to get in and get out of the interrupt. 1 instruction = 4 clock cycles = 0.5 us x 4 = 2 us .. I could not get interrupts to work less than say 32 us per interrupt.

Have you tried interrupts with 4 us?
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 12:20 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:
Does it not take say 40 instructions to get in and get out of the interrupt

It sure does.
inservi



Joined: 13 May 2007
Posts: 128

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 12:23 pm     Reply with quote

Hello,
I have not tested but your right !
I just take an example without calculate limits. You need to give some precision about your goal.

What resolution do you need ?
What is the maximum clock you can use ?

but i think that the idea to use the "PCM programmer"'s code with some litle changes is good.

dro.
_________________
in médio virtus
Guest








PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:34 am     Reply with quote

I would like 8 bit resolution with an 8Mhz clock (internal). I am using timer1 to count the length of the RC pulses from the pulse train. I could use another timer, but I would have to /16 to get it into the 0-255 range, since timer0 and 2 are both 8 bit.
anestho



Joined: 27 Dec 2006
Posts: 28

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 11:16 am     Reply with quote

I thought about it in another way. I am planning on using 2 interrupts. Timer2 would be set to rollover every 20 ms. In the interrupt, I will load timer 0 with a value 127-255 and turn on pin 5.

Timer 0 interrupt will be prescaled 1:16 which at 8 Mhz is 8 us per tick.
in the interrupt, I will turn pin 5 off.
A loading a value of 127 would take (127 x 8)~ 1ms and a value of 0 would take (255 x 8) ~ 2 ms

Does this sound reasonable?
inservi



Joined: 13 May 2007
Posts: 128

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 10:03 am     Reply with quote

Hello,

That look to be a good idea!

dro.
_________________
in médio virtus
windz



Joined: 19 Aug 2007
Posts: 7

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 9:58 pm     Reply with quote

-PIC16F877a
-controlling Hitec HS-81MG RC servo motor
-CCS V4.049

Hi all, From the original code by PCM PROGRAMMER, i would like to know

1)How do you configure the code to be able to change the PULSE PERIOD and PULSE WIDTH ?? What does LOOPCNT refers to ? I've read the CCSC.pdf, but i can't find it.

2)My purpose is to drive a RC servo, with 1ms, 1.5ms, and 2ms position.

Code:
#include <16F877.H>
#fuses XT, NOWDT, NOPROTECT, BROWNOUT, PUT, NOLVP
#use delay(clock = 20000000)

#define PWM_PIN  PIN_B1

#define LOOPCNT 39

int8 width;

//-------------------------------
#INT_RTCC
void tick_interrupt(void);

//====================================
main()
{
width = 10;

setup_counters(RTCC_INTERNAL, RTCC_DIV_2);
enable_interrupts(INT_RTCC);
enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);
 
while(1);
}

//====================================
#INT_RTCC
void tick_interrupt(void)
{
static int8 loop = LOOPCNT;
static int8 pulse; 

if(--loop == 0)
  {
   loop = LOOPCNT;
   pulse = width;
  }

if(pulse)
  {
   output_high(PWM_PIN);
   pulse--;
  }
else
  {
   output_low(PWM_PIN);
  }

}


This is what i get from oscilloscope



and the readings:




I have done a simple driver to run the servo motor, but i think using interrupt might be a better solutions, so i am learning how to use interrupt to drive the servo motor. Can anyone out there help me pls ?

for different position, i just change the delay. It's not a good program right? Trying to learn interrupt and use PIC PWM to control the servo, any helps would be very much appreciated.

Code:
#use delay(clock = 20000000)

#define PWM1_PIN   PIN_B1


//-----------servo at 1ms--------------------------
int8 i;

void servo1ms(){

for(i=0; i<30; i++){            //loops vary on application needs
output_high(PWM1_PIN);     //position at 1ms
delay_ms(1);

output_low(PWM1_PIN);
delay_ms(19);

delay_ms(5);
 
   }
}

PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:18 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:
What does LOOPCNT refer to ?

See this thread:
http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=30175&highlight=loopcnt
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group