CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Optimization possible?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
thb



Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Location: Germany

View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger

Optimization possible?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 6:12 pm     Reply with quote

Hi,

I wonder if it is possible to optimize this code. I'm not really having trouble but I think it neither looks very elegant nor very fast.

Code:

int data=0;
int bit=0;
...
...
...
#EXT_INT
void extint_function()
{
if (input(PIN_D1)==1)
   {
   bit_set(data,bit);
   }
else
   {
   bit_clear(data,bit);
   }
bit++;
}

Some way to get rid of the "if"?

Thanks!

Thomas
SherpaDoug



Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1640
Location: Cape Cod Mass USA

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 8:04 pm     Reply with quote

Are you looking for the Output_bit() function?
_________________
The search for better is endless. Instead simply find very good and get the job done.
ckielstra



Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 3680
Location: The Netherlands

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 2:10 am     Reply with quote

The bit_clear() and bit_set() functions are not very efficient when called with a variable parameter compared to the situation where you call these functions with a constant (then just a single assembly instruction).

Here is an optimized version using a bit mask.
Code:
int8 data, bit_mask;

#INT_EXT
void extint_function()
{
  if (input(PIN_D1)==1)
  {
    data |= bit_mask;
  }
  else
  {
    data &= bit_mask;
  }
  bit_mask <<= 1;    // Will overflow after 8 calls. If not desired replace with rotate_left();
}

void main()
{
  bit_mask=0x01;
  enable_interrupts(INT_EXT);
 
  while(1) ;
}



An additional optimization would be to make sure data is initialized to zero before starting the data acquisition, than you can leave out the bit_clear part.

A more efficient option is to shift in the acquired data. However this gives a different behavior which I don't know if is acceptable (the bits in data are reversed and bits are moving around until you have finished 8 samples).
Code:
#INT_EXT
void extint_function()
{
  shift_left(&data, sizeof(data), input(PIN_D1) );
}
kevcon



Joined: 21 Feb 2007
Posts: 142
Location: Michigan, USA

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:32 am     Reply with quote

You could add the line below to your code; though it only eliminates one instruction every little bit helps.

Code:

#pragma USE FAST_IO( D )


Also bit is a reserved word, even though the program will compile you should avoid using reserved words as variable names.
rnielsen



Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 852
Location: Utah

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:29 am     Reply with quote

I don't believe there's any way to get around using the 'if()' statement. You're trying to test if a condition exists. There is, however, a way to make the if() statement a bit shorter.

Code:
.................... if(input(PIN_A0) == 1)
00A5:  BSF    03.5
00A6:  BSF    05.0
00A7:  MOVLW  00
00A8:  BCF    03.5
00A9:  BTFSC  05.0
00AA:  MOVLW  01
00AB:  SUBLW  01
00AC:  BTFSC  03.2
00AD:  GOTO   0AE
.................... ;
....................
.................... if(input(PIN_A0))
00AE:  BSF    03.5
00AF:  BSF    05.0
00B0:  BCF    03.5
00B1:  BTFSS  05.0
00B2:  GOTO   0B3
.................... ;


Notice when the '== 1' is used, the compiler inserts four extra lines. The '== 1' is not needed. To test if the input is low simply use:

Code:
if(!input(PIN_A0))


It's not much but it makes things a little smaller.

Ronald
Ttelmah
Guest







PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 10:35 am     Reply with quote

Yes. It is quite worth understanding what is happening here. If you ask 'is this value 1', the compiler has to perform the actual arithmetic of subtracting '1' to see. However if you ask 'is this non zero', the compiler can simply use the value of the zero flag, set when the pin is read. Using the construct:
if(input(PIN_A0) != 0)

Gives exactly the same saving. While the other 'zero' related test:
if(input(PIN_A0) == 0)

Also gives the same advantage working the other way (as does the logic expression rnielson gives).
Hence the key is making the tests 'zero relative', rather than 'value relative'.

Best Wishes
thb5
Guest







Thanks
PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:17 pm     Reply with quote

Thanks for all the comments!

This gives me a good inside how to optimize.

Thomas
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group