CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

16F88 RAM Problems

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
davekelly



Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 53
Location: Berkshire, England

View user's profile Send private message

16F88 RAM Problems
PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:20 am     Reply with quote

I am having a problem with the 2 different versions of CCS PCM 4.011 and 3.249

I have just purchased the PCM V4 command line compiler, having encountered some serious bugs with my Bytecraft compiler which I have used for years.

I ported my project over fine using version 4.011, which compiles with the following memory usage

ROM used: 1528 words (40%)
Largest free fragment is 1792
RAM used: 135 (38%) at main() level
162 (45%) worst case
Stack: 2 locations

Reading through the forums, I was put off a little by the warnings about v4 being production stable yet, so I decided to install and compile with V3. However with no changes to the source code, I end up running out of RAM. I use a few int16 arrays, which I reduced the size of to get it to compile, and I get the following memory stats:

ROM used: 1406 words (37%)
Largest free fragment is 1792
RAM used: 133 (76%) at main() level
160 (92%) worst case
Stack: 2 locations

This seems to indicate that the info for the amount of RAM available is incorrect for the v3.249 version. Is there something else that needs to be changed?

I have both versions installed, with different paths.

I am using MPLAB 7.42 as the IDE and to launch the compiler.

My device settings are as follows:

Code:

#include <16F88.h>
#device ADC=10
#device ICD=TRUE           // Microchip ICD2


Thanks
Ttelmah
Guest







PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:23 am     Reply with quote

#device *=16

This is the default in V4, but in V3, you have to set it manually. Without this, the extra code to allow bank switching of the RAM pages is not generated, giving smaller and faster code, but limiting you to the RAM in the first bank.

Best Wishes
davekelly



Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 53
Location: Berkshire, England

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:25 am     Reply with quote

Thankyou.

I had already tried this earlier, but had a space between the = and 16, and got an error.

The CHM manual which installed is the one for V4 so I didn't look it up.

It works correctly now, thanks.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group