CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

PIC18LF452 programming woes - ICSP
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
barkerben



Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 22

View user's profile Send private message

PIC18LF452 programming woes - ICSP
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:10 am     Reply with quote

Hi,

This has been asked before, but the answers were not conclusive...

I have a PIC18LF452 on a PCB that I'm programming via ICSP.
It runs off 3.3v, but is completely isolated during ICSP programming and powered via the programmer.

I can program, verify, erase, get chip info etc, erase, fine.

However, when I actually try to run the thing, nothing happens -the PIC seems not to be running. As a test, I am using a very simple debug script:

Code:

#include <18F452>
#fuses HS,NOWDT,NOPUT,NOPROTECT,NOLVP
#use delay(clock=20000000)
#define LED  PIN_A5

void main() {

while (TRUE) {
     output_high(LED);
     delay_ms(500);
     output_low(LED);
     delay_us(500);


}

}

And my shcematic (EAGLE format) is at :

www.bbarker.co.uk/GPS8.sch

Does anyone have any ideas at all?

Cheers,

Ben


Last edited by barkerben on Fri Jul 07, 2006 5:40 am; edited 1 time in total
Ttelmah
Guest







PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 5:14 am     Reply with quote

Try adding 'SETUP_ADC_PORTS(NO_ANALOG);' at the start of main.
On some compiler versions/chips, the analog ports default to enabled. A5, is an analog pin, so this might cause problems.
Well done in posting a _simple_ program. However it'll look a lot nicer, if you use the 'code' buttons in future.

Best Wishes
Guest








PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 5:38 am     Reply with quote

I'll try that this evening when I get home, and let you know - thanks. I also tried the exact same program but using pin B0 instead of A5 with no better results however. I know B0 is an interrupt pin, but is there any reason that shouldn't have worked?

Cheers,

Ben
Guest








PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 6:24 am     Reply with quote

...what seems strange is that I can, apparently, program the thing. Iassume that I wouldn't be able to upload code, verify it, etc, if the programmer couldn't talk to the PIC. Hmmm....
Humberto



Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 1215
Location: Buenos Aires, La Reina del Plata

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:02 am     Reply with quote

Running the 18LF452 with 3.3V at @20Mhz simultaneously it is close to the boundary spec.

You have two choices:
1) Increase the 3.3V
2) Use a lower frequency xtal.


Humberto


Last edited by Humberto on Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:14 am; edited 1 time in total
Charlie U



Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 183
Location: Somewhere under water in the Great Lakes

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:13 am     Reply with quote

Humberto, I have rev B of the data sheet and in figure 22-2 there is a graph of voltage vs. clock frequency. At the bottom of the figure is a formula for the maximum clock frequency at a given voltage. Using this formula, 25MHz is the max clock at 3.3V. There may be a later data sheet that changes this, or an errata that I have missed.

Also, I would recommend changing NOPUT to PUT to enable the power up timer. This is needed to allow the oscillator to stabilize before you try to run the processor. I have no idea if this could cause a "lockup", but I always use it with crystals.
Humberto



Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 1215
Location: Buenos Aires, La Reina del Plata

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:22 am     Reply with quote

Charlie U, you are right.
My advice was because once I had the same problem (18LF452) and I solved it using
another lower frequency crystal (16Mhz) so my conclusion was not run the LF series
so close to the average boundaries spec.
I´m agree with you regarding the PUT. Also I would add:
#FUSES BROWNOUT
#FUSES BORV27

I know that by default the NOBROWNOUT is setted by I preffer to be explicit.

Regards,

Humberto


Last edited by Humberto on Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:34 am; edited 1 time in total
Guest








PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:33 am     Reply with quote

I will give the XTAL idea a go and see what happens. Having said that, on my prototype board, I aran a 18F452 (not the L version) and 3.3v and 20Mhz with no problem, which according to the data sheet shouldn't work, but did :-p

Ben
Guest








PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:48 am     Reply with quote

Hmm... none of those suggestions had an effect (including changing from 20 Mhz to 10)

What I can't work out is how I can program it, but not run it...I would have thought the two went together.

The only possible problem I can see is the jumper that is moved between programming mode and run mode to isolate the pic, but there is very little to go wrong there...

Ben
rwyoung



Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 563
Location: Lawrence, KS USA

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 12:20 pm     Reply with quote

Have you looked with an oscilloscope, post programming, to see if your oscillator is running?
_________________
Rob Young
The Screw-Up Fairy may just visit you but he has crashed on my couch for the last month!
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 12:29 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:
It runs off 3.3v, but is completely isolated during ICSP programming and powered via the programmer.


Did you remove the isolation after programming ?
Do you have a 10K resistor going from the MCLR pin to +3.3v ?
Check the voltage on the MCLR pin to verify that the PIC isn't being
held in reset.

Also, there are two programming modes: Debugger and Standalone.
You didn't say what IDE you're using, but if it's MPLAB, there are
separate menus for each of those modes. In the menu bar at the
top of the main window, there are separate menus for "Debugger"
and "Programmer". For standalone mode, you need to use the
"Programmer" menu.
Guest








PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 12:46 pm     Reply with quote

I havent checked the xtal - that would be a good idea. I don't have access to a scope here, but might get a chance later.

I have definately removed the isolation after programming, and checked the voltages on the important pins as well as I can. The MCLR pin is tied to 3.3v through a 22k resistor. I will try to recheck them all.

The PIC is in a TQFP 44 pin package, which makes checking pins tricky...

I'm using a IDE from Quasar electronics, although I beleive it was originally written by Kitrus.com. It has worked very well so far using the ZIF socket - I have never tried using it with ICSP. I have a feeling it is not compatible with MPLB. However, it has no option for configuring ICSP mode that I can see, other than selecting it. So it could be an IDe problem, but it is certainly working to some extent - it recognises the PIC, and notices if it is removed...
Guest








PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 1:38 pm     Reply with quote

Ok... I have checked all of the pins, and when running all voltages are where they should be. I havent checked the xtal due to lack of scope :-)

The only obvious answer is that I am correctly programming it, but programming it with garbage - that would seem compatible with the programmer seeing the PIC and verifying the code, but still failing would it not?

Or perhaps the PIC tself was in some way damaged during soldering...
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 1:43 pm     Reply with quote

I don't know. You're using an unknown programmer and IDE.
If you were using CCS or MPLAB, we could easily help. You need
to provide links to the websites for the programmer and IDE.
barkerben



Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 22

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 2:23 pm     Reply with quote

I realise I am asking for trouble with the programmer I'm using :-)

The website of the device is:

http://www.quasarelectronics.com/3128.htm


I am using CCS compiler version 3.231 to create the hex files, and the software proveded with the above programmer to upload it. It could be the hardware that is at fault, but I would rather not upgrade without knowing. I may be able to borrow someones ICD2 to try uploading the code...

Cheers,

Ben
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group