|
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
nzjrs Guest
|
ICD-U, Function of RB3 (Advanced Debugging) |
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 2:07 am |
|
|
Hey,
I have just recently purchased a ICD-U unit, and i am wondering what the purpose of the connection to RB3 of the target micro is. The ICD mentions its for 'Advanced Debugging', but then doesnt explan what this is.
If i do not connect the advanced debuggin option, what functionality will i lose?
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 144515979 |
|
|
Douglas Kennedy
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 755 Location: Florida
|
Re: ICD-U, Function of RB3 (Advanced Debugging) |
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:56 am |
|
|
:=Hey,
:=
:=I have just recently purchased a ICD-U unit, and i am wondering what the purpose of the connection to RB3 of the target micro is. The ICD mentions its for 'Advanced Debugging', but then doesnt explan what this is.
:=
:=If i do not connect the advanced debuggin option, what functionality will i lose?
RB3 is used for the monitor window.In the past many of us have hooked up a rs232 connection to a pc and debugged by using printf statements in our code that we would remove in the final version.
With Rb3 you can use #use rs232(DEBUGGGER) and the printf and getc is displayed in a monitor window that is part of the debugger. This is a very nice feature
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 144515987 |
|
|
nzjrs Guest
|
Re: ICD-U, Function of RB3 (Advanced Debugging) |
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:11 am |
|
|
:=:=Hey,
:=:=
:=:=I have just recently purchased a ICD-U unit, and i am wondering what the purpose of the connection to RB3 of the target micro is. The ICD mentions its for 'Advanced Debugging', but then doesnt explan what this is.
:=:=
:=:=If i do not connect the advanced debuggin option, what functionality will i lose?
:=RB3 is used for the monitor window.In the past many of us have hooked up a rs232 connection to a pc and debugged by using printf statements in our code that we would remove in the final version.
:=With Rb3 you can use #use rs232(DEBUGGGER) and the printf and getc is displayed in a monitor window that is part of the debugger. This is a very nice feature
Thanks for the prompt reply,
What would you do if you wanted to use to also printf to a normal hardware UART, is the debugger stream assigned a stream identifier?
i.e.
fprintf(DEBUGGER, "bla bla......) //prints to debug
fprintf(UART2, "bla bla......) //prints to hardware UART previously defined as UART2
is this possible, or does this directive route all printf's to debug?
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 144515990 |
|
|
Douglas Kennedy
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 755 Location: Florida
|
Re: ICD-U, Function of RB3 (Advanced Debugging) |
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:56 am |
|
|
:=:=:=Hey,
:=:=:=
:=:=:=I have just recently purchased a ICD-U unit, and i am wondering what the purpose of the connection to RB3 of the target micro is. The ICD mentions its for 'Advanced Debugging', but then doesnt explan what this is.
:=:=:=
:=:=:=If i do not connect the advanced debuggin option, what functionality will i lose?
:=:=RB3 is used for the monitor window.In the past many of us have hooked up a rs232 connection to a pc and debugged by using printf statements in our code that we would remove in the final version.
:=:=With Rb3 you can use #use rs232(DEBUGGGER) and the printf and getc is displayed in a monitor window that is part of the debugger. This is a very nice feature
:=
:=Thanks for the prompt reply,
:=What would you do if you wanted to use to also printf to a normal hardware UART, is the debugger stream assigned a stream identifier?
:=i.e.
:=fprintf(DEBUGGER, "bla bla......) //prints to debug
:=fprintf(UART2, "bla bla......) //prints to hardware UART previously defined as UART2
:=
:=is this possible, or does this directive route all printf's to debug?
:=
Yes it should work just like a stream and other streams should also work at the same time. A bug prevents it from working with other streams at least in 3.165. The DEBUGGER stream doesn't work when another stream is present. Now debugging with other streams present is always more of a challenge since a debug break can upset the timing.
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 144516000 |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|