CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Power Control PWM Module

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
georgefe



Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 4

View user's profile Send private message

Power Control PWM Module
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 8:51 pm     Reply with quote

I am having a really hard time programming the Power Control PWM Module. I think I have a problem with the registers I am setting up. Can anyone help me?

Here is the code I am running.
Code:

TRISB=0; //make output
   PTCON0=0b00001000;/*
          ;||||||||+>PTMOD0   MODE SELECT
         ;|||||||+->PTMOD1
         ;||||||+-->PTCKPS0   PRE-SCALER
         ;|||||+--->PTCKPS1
         ;||||+---->PTOPS0   POST-SCALEER
         ;|||+----->PTOPS1
         ;||+------>PTOPS2
         ;|+------->PTOPS3
         */
   //This sets postscale to 1:1, prescale to 1:16, and free running mode
   PWMCON0=0b01000000;/*
           ;||||||||+>PMOD0   OUTPUT PAIR MODE BITS
          ;|||||||+->PMOD1
          ;||||||+-->PMOD2
          ;|||||+--->PMOD3
          ;||||+---->PWMEN0   PWM MODULE ENABLE BITS
          ;|||+----->PWMEN1
          ;||+------>PWMEN2
          ;|+------->N/A
          */
   //This sets PWM0 and PWM1, PWM2 and PWM3, PWM4 and PWM5 as linked. PWM6 and 7 are not on this chip
   // for PMOD, this is all PWM signals enabled
   PWMCON1=0b00000001;/*
           ;||||||||+>OSYNC   PWM OUTPUT OVERRIDE SYNCH BIT
          ;|||||||+->UDIS   PWM UPDATE DISABLE BIT
          ;||||||+-->N/A
          ;|||||+--->SEVDIR   PWM SPECIAL EVENT TRIGGER OUTPUT POSTSCALE SELECT BITS
          ;||||+---->SEVOPS0
          ;|||+----->SEVOPS1
          ;||+------>SEVOPS2
          ;|+------->SEVOPS3
          */
   OVDCOND=0b00111111;/*
           ;||||||||+>POVD0   Set for no override
          ;|||||||+->POVD1
          ;||||||+-->POVD2
          ;|||||+--->POVD3
          ;||||+---->POVD4
          ;|||+----->POVD5
          ;||+------>POVD6
          ;|+------->POVD7
          */
   OVDCONS=0b00000000;
   /*        ;||||||||+>POUT0   Set for no override
          ;|||||||+->POUT1
          ;||||||+-->POUT2
          ;|||||+--->POUT3
          ;||||+---->POUT4
          ;|||+----->POUT5
          ;||+------>POUT6
          ;|+------->POUT7
          */
   FLTCONFIG=0b00101010;
   /*          ;||||||||+>FLTAEN
            ;|||||||+->FLTAMOD
            ;||||||+-->FLTAS
            ;|||||+--->FLTCON
            ;||||+---->FLTBEN
            ;|||+----->FLTBMOD
            ;||+------>FLBTS
            ;|+------->BRFEN
          */
   DTCON=0;   //no dead band timer
   PTMRH = 0x00;
   PTMRL =0xff;
   PTPERL = 0xe1;   //set the period to 1249 which with the prescaler equals 100hz
   PTPERH = 0x04;
   PDC0L=0xFF;
   PDC0H=0x04;
   PDC1L=0xFF;
   PDC1H=0x04;
   PDC2L=0xFF;
   PDC2H=0x04;
   PTCON1=0b10000000;
/*          ;||||||||+>N/A
         ;|||||||+->N/A
         ;||||||+-->N/A
         ;|||||+--->N/A
         ;||||+---->N/A
         ;|||+----->N/A
         ;||+------>PTDIR   PWM TIME BASE COUNT DIRECTION STATUS BIT
         ;|+------->PTEN      PWM TIME BASE TIMER ENABLE BIT
         */
   while(1)
   {}


Any suggestions?

Thanks for any help!

George
georgefe



Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 4

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 9:44 pm     Reply with quote

Oh, I forgot to mention. I am using a PIC18F2331. I am trying to control 2 h-bridge type circuits that take complimentary PWM signals in. So basically I want to control two of the three PWM pairs on the board. I want the third one going out as well so I can see that it is working on my O-scope. I am looking for a frequency of about 100 Mhz and a duty rate of 0-99% but that is really not relevant right now. If I could just get some sort of PWM signal to show up on the scope, I would be really really happy! I am running the internal clock speed of 8 Mhz.
georgefe



Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 4

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 11:15 am     Reply with quote

I gave a few more stabs at it and then after I upgraded my PCHW I noticed that their is now a library for it. However, I still cannot get it to output. Here is the code I am running:

Code:
long int period = 2048;
   setup_oscillator(OSC_8MHZ|OSC_INTRC);
   setup_power_pwm_pins(PWM_BOTH_ON,PWM_BOTH_ON,PWM_BOTH_ON,PWM_BOTH_ON);
      //PPWM channels 0 and 1 are both on and always opposite values
   setup_power_pwm(PWM_CLOCK_DIV_4|PWM_FREE_RUN,1,0,period,0,1,0);
      //add dead time for reactive loads
   while(true)
   {
      //set_power_pwm0_duty(adc_val * ((period>>8)+1));   //max ADC value is 1023
      set_power_pwm0_duty(4000);
      set_power_pwm2_duty(4000);
      set_power_pwm4_duty(4000);
   }


Any ideas?
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 11:49 am     Reply with quote

Look at the CCS example file: EX_POWER_PWM.C

It's in this folder:
c:\Program Files\PICC\Examples
georgefe



Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 4

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 12:43 pm     Reply with quote

Yeah I copied that exact program and just simplified it a little bit to just output a set PWM signal. However I am still getting nothing :( I am beginning to wonder whether my pic might be damaged. It passes a verification test from the compiler and I can set I/O pins in and out.
Storic



Joined: 03 Dec 2005
Posts: 182
Location: Australia SA

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 8:07 pm     Reply with quote

Hav you check your Fuses, I had simular problems (on another code) where nothing was working. I thought it was the micro, it turned out to be my Fuses,
#FUSES INTRC_IO //Internal RC Osc, no CLKOUT
my internal OSC was not set so nothing was working

ANdrew
_________________
What has been learnt if you make the same mistake? Wink
Fro_Guy
Guest







PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 7:43 am     Reply with quote

Also make sure that you are setting your control lines right on the H-bridge. Good luck!
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group