View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
iso9001
Joined: 02 Dec 2003 Posts: 262
|
Changed from 16F to 18F, now need to change monitor pin |
Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 4:16 pm |
|
|
I know the answer is probably easy, but I didn't find anything in the search.
I changed from 16F87X parts to 18F2680 and now the debug monitor does not work. ICD40U working great for read target and programs.
My setup,
Code: |
#include <18F2680.h>
#fuses HS,NOLVP,NOWDT,NOPROTECT, PUT, NOBROWNOUT, DEBUG
#use delay(clock=20000000)
#use rs232(DEBUGGER)
|
I already changed the monitor pin on the board from B3 to B5. So the obvious is out.
Kinda confused here,
EDIT: I have confirmed it runs 100%, but still does not display anything on the monitor. If I switch everything back to 16F it works again.
Last edited by iso9001 on Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:35 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
|
iso9001
Joined: 02 Dec 2003 Posts: 262
|
|
Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 6:02 pm |
|
|
ACK!
I added a jumper from B5 to B3 and ran it again now it works!?
I thought that 18F series used B5 for the monitor and 16F used B3 ? Right now I have both hooked up and its working great, I'll try JUST hooking up B3 but I have the feeling its going to work.
Anyone ? |
|
|
sonicdeejay
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 112
|
|
Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 10:19 pm |
|
|
bro,,,
you yourself already a guru in PIC C...
still need to ask??
tak kare...
sonic |
|
|
iso9001
Joined: 02 Dec 2003 Posts: 262
|
|
Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 11:15 pm |
|
|
Guru ???? HAHA I'm really not a very smart boy so...... yes, i still need to ask.
I seriously can't figure out why its using B3 and not B5 like it should. |
|
|
iso9001
Joined: 02 Dec 2003 Posts: 262
|
|
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 10:59 am |
|
|
Hmmmm...... Just checked the data on the pin out for ICD.
I figured that it always used PGM for the monitor/adv debugging, but apparently it ALWAYS uses B3. Well, that explains that....
I guess now I need to figure out how to change it so that the Monitor Pin works on B5. I'm guessing this is defined in the #use RS232(DEBUGGER) but I think that defined inside of the compiler no ?
Arg, I need B3 for IO and B5 for monitor!!!
edit: nevermind, I read the help file Modifiy the Use Debugger to specify pin |
|
|
|