CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

2 analog inputs

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
crushneck



Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 29

View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger

2 analog inputs
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 2:25 am     Reply with quote

Is it possible to get two analog input from 1 PIC? Im using RA0 and RA1 for my PIC18F452. If its possible, what must i change to my source codes?
rberek



Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 207
Location: Ottawa, Canada

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 7:14 am     Reply with quote

You use the set_adc_channel() command to select the input you wish to sample.
_________________
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits...
Humberto



Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 1215
Location: Buenos Aires, La Reina del Plata

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 7:37 am     Reply with quote

Opening the 18F452.H file in the Devices folder, you have the constant definitions used
to select the different analog setup input configuration:

// Constants used in SETUP_ADC_PORTS() are:
#define NO_ANALOGS 7 // None
#define ALL_ANALOG 0 // A0 A1 A2 A3 A5 E0 E1 E2
#define AN0_AN1_AN2_AN4_AN5_AN6_AN7_VSS_VREF 1 // A0 A1 A2 A5 E0 E1 E2 VRefh=A3
#define AN0_AN1_AN2_AN3_AN4 2 // A0 A1 A2 A3 A5
#define AN0_AN1_AN2_AN4_VSS_VREF 3 // A0 A1 A2 A5 VRefh=A3
#define AN0_AN1_AN3 4 // A0 A1 A3

#define AN0_AN1_VSS_VREF 5 // A0 A1 VRefh=A3
#define AN0_AN1_AN4_AN5_AN6_AN7_VREF_VREF 0x08 // A0 A1 A5 E0 E1 E2 VRefh=A3 VRefl=A2
#define AN0_AN1_AN2_AN3_AN4_AN5 0x09 // A0 A1 A2 A3 A5 E0
#define AN0_AN1_AN2_AN4_AN5_VSS_VREF 0x0A // A0 A1 A2 A5 E0 VRefh=A3
#define AN0_AN1_AN4_AN5_VREF_VREF 0x0B // A0 A1 A5 E0 VRefh=A3 VRefl=A2
#define AN0_AN1_AN4_VREF_VREF 0x0C // A0 A1 A5 VRefh=A3 VRefl=A2
#define AN0_AN1_VREF_VREF 0x0D // A0 A1 VRefh=A3 VRefl=A2
#define AN0 0x0E // A0
#define AN0_VREF_VREF 0x0F // A0 VRefh=A3 VRefl=A2
#define ANALOG_RA3_REF 0x1 //!old only provided for compatibility
#define A_ANALOG 0x2 //!old only provided for compatibility
#define A_ANALOG_RA3_REF 0x3 //!old only provided for compatibility
#define RA0_RA1_RA3_ANALOG 0x4 //!old only provided for compatibility
#define RA0_RA1_ANALOG_RA3_REF 0x5 //!old only provided for compatibility
#define ANALOG_RA3_RA2_REF 0x8 //!old only provided for compatibility
#define ANALOG_NOT_RE1_RE2 0x9 //!old only provided for compatibility
#define ANALOG_NOT_RE1_RE2_REF_RA3 0xA //!old only provided for compatibility
#define ANALOG_NOT_RE1_RE2_REF_RA3_RA2 0xB //!old only provided for compatibility
#define A_ANALOG_RA3_RA2_REF 0xC //!old only provided for compatibility
#define RA0_RA1_ANALOG_RA3_RA2_REF 0xD //!old only provided for compatibility
#define RA0_ANALOG 0xE //!old only provided for compatibility
#define RA0_ANALOG_RA3_RA2_REF 0xF //!old only provided for compatibility


You will need to select the BOLD option:
#define AN0_AN1_VSS_VREF 5 // A0 A1 VRefh=A3

SETUP_ADC_PORTS(AN0_AN1_VSS_VREF);

Define A0 and A1 as analog inputs with A3 (VRefh) tied to a voltage reference equal
to the maximum expected input voltage.
Read the datasheet for details.


Humberto
LUKS
Guest







PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 10:00 am     Reply with quote

Hi! I have a similar problem with the PIC 18F458, I want to measure 2 independent signals, here is the code
Code:

#include <18F458.h>
#device adc=10
void main()
{
   long ADC_VALUE_0;
   long ADC_VALUE_1;
   setup_adc_ports(AN0_AN1_VSS_VREF);
   setup_adc(ADC_CLOCK_DIV_8);
   setup_comparator(NC_NC_NC_NC);
   setup_vref(FALSE);
   disable_interrupts(GLOBAL);
   setup_low_volt_detect(FALSE);

   set_tris_a (0x07);
   set_tris_e (0x00);
 
   while(1)
      {
      set_adc_channel(0);
      ADC_VALUE_0 = Read_ADC();
      if(ADC_VALUE_0 >= 512)
      {
      output_high(PIN_E1);
      }
      else
         {
         output_low(PIN_E1);
         }
      set_adc_channel(1);
      ADC_VALUE_1 = Read_ADC();
      if(ADC_VALUE_1 >= 256)
      {
      output_high(PIN_E2);
      }
      else
         {
         output_low(PIN_E2);
         }
      }


at the end if I set a Vref=5v, I get an output high on E1=2.5v and E2=1.2v but i only have A0 or A1 conected to the source.
What should I do to get E1 high as a result of A0>=2.5v and E2=high as a result of A1>=1.2v
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 12:44 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:
#include <18F458.h>
#device adc=10
void main()
{

That's not a complete program. Post the #fuses statement and the
#use delay() statement.

Quote:
setup_adc_ports(AN0_AN1_VSS_VREF);

Don't use Vref initially. Use the internal Vdd as the Vref. It's easier.
Change to this, as shown in bold:
Quote:
setup_adc_ports(AN0_AN1_AN3);


Quote:
set_adc_channel(0);
ADC_VALUE_0 = Read_ADC();

set_adc_channel(1);
ADC_VALUE_1 = Read_ADC();

You need a delay after you change the A/D channel. This is in
the 18F458 data sheet. Add the lines shown in bold below:
Quote:

set_adc_channel(0);
delay_us(20);
ADC_VALUE_0 = Read_ADC();

set_adc_channel(1);
delay_us(20);
ADC_VALUE_1 = Read_ADC();
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group