CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Keypad does not work if LCD is not connected

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kushb



Joined: 21 Sep 2005
Posts: 7

View user's profile Send private message

Keypad does not work if LCD is not connected
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 10:36 am     Reply with quote

Hi,

I am using the ACE kit of CCS. My circuit involves displaying digits on PC screen using keypad. I have been able to do it succesfully. The only problem is that keypad does not function if a LCD display is not connected at port D. The moment LCD display is disconnected from port D the keypad stops responsing. Can anyone explain me why is this happening and what could be the possible solution.

Thanks
Mark



Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 2838
Location: Atlanta, GA

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 10:42 am     Reply with quote

Are you still trying to initialize the LCD?

Code:
      while ( bit_test(lcd_read_byte(),7) ) ;

This line can cause the program to hang if there isn't an LCD.
Guest








Reply: Mark
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 10:50 am     Reply with quote

Mark,

No I am not initializing LCD.
Mark



Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 2838
Location: Atlanta, GA

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 11:42 am     Reply with quote

Is the keypad on port D as well?
Are there pullups on the keypad lines?
kushb



Joined: 21 Sep 2005
Posts: 7

View user's profile Send private message

Reply - Mark
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 4:17 am     Reply with quote

Yeah the keypad is on port D.
By pullup do you mean that I should connect the data lines of port D with a pull up resistor??
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:58 pm     Reply with quote

Yes, put the pull-up resistors on the keypad row pins.
http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=24443
Guest








PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 11:42 am     Reply with quote

i had the same problem before this ACE kit board uses pull up resistors only on port B , if you want to use the keypad on port D u should put the LCD with it too , cuase it acts as a pull ups for PORT D

if u noticed in the KBD.c it says something like this connect pull up to the specfic port or LCD


hope this helps


thanks
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group