|
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
bengunn
Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 2 Location: Emsworth, UK
|
Problem with fuses to matching #fuses command on PIC16F873A |
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 3:28 am |
|
|
I have recently started using PCM on a PIC16F873A project and are having problems getting the fuses to be set to what we require.
The complier version is CCS PCM C Compiler, Version 3.228, 29617
Our header file has
Code: |
#device ICD=TRUE // set ICD
#fuses XT, WDT, PUT, DEBUG, BROWNOUT, LVP, NOCPD // fuse settings
#use delay (clock = 4000000, RESTART_WDT) // set clock speed and kick watchdog during delays
|
And this is included AFTER the standard 16F873A.h which has the #device Chip command.
However, the fuses come out as
Configuration Fuses:
Word 1: 3731 XT NOWDT PUT DEBUG NOPROTECT NOBROWNOUT NOLVP NOCPD NOWRT
I have tried commenting out the #device ICD=TRUE line and changing DEBUG to NODEBUG but still get the NOBROWNOUT and NOWDT results.
What is going on here? Am I being stupid and missing something obvious? _________________ Many thanks,
Richard |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
|
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 3:55 am |
|
|
The code below worked fine if I commented out the ICD line.
I used PCM vs. 3.228. After you compile, MPLAB asks if you
want to update the .LST file window. Are you telling it "yes" ?
You should. Otherwise, you won't see the new fuse settings.
Code: | Configuration Fuses:
Word 1: 3775 XT WDT PUT DEBUG NOPROTECT BROWNOUT NOLVP NOCPD NOWRT |
Also, the ICD is not a low voltage programmer. You should be using
the "NOLVP" fuse, as shown below.
Code: | #include <16F873A.H>
//#device ICD=TRUE
#fuses XT, WDT, PUT, DEBUG, BROWNOUT, NOLVP, NOCPD
#use delay (clock = 4000000, RESTART_WDT)
//====================================
void main()
{
while(1);
} |
|
|
|
bengunn
Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 2 Location: Emsworth, UK
|
|
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 7:44 am |
|
|
Ok, now I am really confused. I tried your code which worked fine, I then ported a simplified version of my code onto it and still Ok. In the end I renamed files and projects and it all worked Ok. The only thing that I can think of is that something got corrupted in one of the MPLAB or compiler generated files and that changing the project name and deleting all of the old project files got rid of it. My code is now exactly as before (apart from NOLVP istead of LVP) but it now works fine.
I had updated the LST file view BTW but it would be easily done to miss that one.
Oh well, many thanks for your help, as it certainly pointed me in the right direction and confirmed that I was not being totally stupid. Thanks for the LVP tip as well, as I had not noticed that one. _________________ Many thanks,
Richard |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|