View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ja771
Joined: 23 Mar 2005 Posts: 12
|
18LF's not programming while 18F's are... |
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 6:59 pm |
|
|
Hi all,
I've run into a weird behaviour using the ICD-2 programmer, wherein the 18F series chips seem to program fine, but the 18LF chips don't.
I realise this is more likely a programmer issue - but I've been through the rounds with Microchip on this, to no avail.
Can anyone suggest anything? I'm using CCS compilers, through the ICD2, through their universal programming module. The following compiles, and works on the 18F, but not on the 18LF:
#include <18F4320.h>
#USE delay (clock=20000000)
main(){
while(1)
{
}
}
And I get the following error message in MPLABs v7.0:
MPLAB ICD 2 Ready
Programming Target...
...Erasing Part
...Programming Program Memory (0x0 - 0x2F)
Verifying...
...Program Memory
ICD0161: Verify failed (MemType = Program, Address = 0x0, Expected Val = 0xEF02, Val Read = 0xFFFF)
ICD0275: Programming failed.
MPLAB ICD 2 Ready
Is there some portion of the compiler I need to specify, or some further file I need to direct MPLABs to to compile the 18LF series? Any thoughts?
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks,
JA |
|
|
Mark
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 2838 Location: Atlanta, GA
|
|
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 7:33 pm |
|
|
Make sure that you connect all the Vdd and Vss with the jumper wires. |
|
|
ja771
Joined: 23 Mar 2005 Posts: 12
|
yep... all connected |
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 7:40 pm |
|
|
still nothing.
there's 5V on both sides during programming - i checked.
j |
|
|
Mark
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 2838 Location: Atlanta, GA
|
|
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:50 pm |
|
|
Try adding the external power supply to the ICD2. |
|
|
ja771
Joined: 23 Mar 2005 Posts: 12
|
all done too... |
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 9:16 pm |
|
|
yes. i did that.
weird huh?
j |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
|
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 11:25 pm |
|
|
Quote: | through their universal programming module |
That would be this gadget, as shown in these two websites:
http://www.programmation.fr/FR/plusdinfo.php?idprod=439
This one shows jumper wires:
http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/Market_Communication/toolsaug.pdf
Quote: | Make sure that you connect all the Vdd and Vss with the jumper wires. |
Quote: | there's 5V on both sides during programming - i checked. |
That's not precisely what Mark asked.
In the photos in the websites above, I don't see any mechanism
for connecting the VDD pins together (11 and 32), or for connecting
the VSS pins together (12 and 31). I just see 6 or 7 jumper wires
coming over to two 20x1 headers.
Are the VDD and VSS pin pairs connected together by traces ?
Can you check that with an ohmmeter ?
-------
If that doesn't help, then read what this guy has done, where he gets
progressively better results (though not perfect), and he ends up
putting 100 nF capacitors on each VDD pin (to GND).
http://forum.microchip.com/tm.asp?m=50386&mpage=1 |
|
|
ja771
Joined: 23 Mar 2005 Posts: 12
|
yes all the VDD's and VCC are connected on the UPM |
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 12:54 am |
|
|
i think that picture you have in that pdf link to is old... my universal programming module has more jumpers - two for the VCC and two for the VDD. it's the red one. these are connected at the J1 header to each other, yes.
i'm not sure how the other thread is supposed to relate? the pins on my chips are clean, and i'm using DIP chips...
thanks though.
damnit. i still can't program the 18LF!
j |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
|
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 12:59 am |
|
|
I think he solders the 100 nF capacitors to the UPM board -- probably
on the back side. (Between each VDD pin and GND) |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
|
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 1:21 am |
|
|
One additional thing -- Try erasing the chip before you program it.
Then do a Blank check on it, to make sure it's erased. |
|
|
ja771
Joined: 23 Mar 2005 Posts: 12
|
thanks again... |
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 1:35 am |
|
|
but i've tried that a few times...
oddly the erase and verify work - but no program.
again - weird. hopefully Microchip or the official CCS people will come back with something good tomorrow...
thanks,
j |
|
|
Mark
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 2838 Location: Atlanta, GA
|
|
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 6:53 am |
|
|
Has nothing to do with CCS and I don't think they could be of help. What is the exact part number of the chip that you are trying to program? Were you ever able to program this chip and maybe now trying to reprogram it? How many chips have you tried? |
|
|
ja771
Joined: 23 Mar 2005 Posts: 12
|
chips upon chips |
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 8:06 am |
|
|
well, it does have 'something' to do with CCS - i'm using their compiler, which i thought might have some kind of flash address issue with the 18LF's.
i've tried 452, 4220, 4320, 4331. in all cases, the 18F's program fine, but the 18LF's don't.
j |
|
|
Mark
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 2838 Location: Atlanta, GA
|
Re: chips upon chips |
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 8:24 am |
|
|
ja771 wrote: | well, it does have 'something' to do with CCS - i'm using their compiler, which i thought might have some kind of flash address issue with the 18LF's.
i've tried 452, 4220, 4320, 4331. in all cases, the 18F's program fine, but the 18LF's don't.
j |
It has nothing to do with CCS!! It is a compiler. The output of a compiler is a hex file. This is what the Microchip tools use to program. The tools will then verify the code and thats where the error is! The hex file can be total crap! And not do anything at all but it will still program and verify! So like I said, it has nothing to do with CCS. |
|
|
valemike Guest
|
|
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 11:52 am |
|
|
Are you sure you are programming the chip in "Program" mode, and not in "Debugger" mode?
Reason why I ask is because the ICD-2 will program those 18FXXX chips in both Debugger and Program mode, but you cannot use the "Debugger" mode on some of the 4-digit suffix chips (18Fxxxx). You should be able to program them though. I'm just not sure if you were trying to program the 4320 in debugger mode or program in in programming mode. |
|
|
ja771
Joined: 23 Mar 2005 Posts: 12
|
programming mode |
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 11:58 am |
|
|
heh thanks...
i actually didn't know that you couldn't debug those 18FXXXX chips...
but i am using the programmer only. i haven't gotten far enough to even bother with the debugger on this project. also - i can't program the 18LF485's i have either. but i CAN program the 18F495's.
still talking to microchip...
j |
|
|
|