CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

ADC giving me wrong readings when switching channels

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
iso9001



Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 262

View user's profile Send private message

ADC giving me wrong readings when switching channels
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 4:48 pm     Reply with quote

I dont quiet understand it.

But I'm still having problems when switching channels... Using 3 chans, 2 are fine, and 1 is pretty eratic. Here is some sample like code:

Code:

 setup_adc(ADC_CLOCK_DIV_32);
 setup_adc_ports(AN0_AN1_AN3);

...

#INT_TIMER1
void isr_adc2() {
  set_adc_channel(2);
  delay_us(80);
  value = read_adc();
}


 set_adc_channel(3);
 delay_us(80);
 value = read_adc();
 {
   ...
 }

set_adc_channel(1);
 delay_us(80);
 value = read_adc();
 {
   ...
 }




Notice I use DIV_32 because when using Internal the readings are a erratic on all channels and not just 1.

I tried increasing the delay after switching chans to 200us, no change.

Its not noisy, I can see its prefect with a scope.

My code is shown pretty rough, but you can get the jist of it.

16F872 | 10MHz

Code:
#include <16F872.h>
#device ADC=10
#fuses HS,LVP,WDT,NOPROTECT, PUT, NOBROWNOUT
#use delay(clock=10000000)


Anyone have any ideas ???
iso9001



Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 262

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 2:21 pm     Reply with quote

No one ?

... I think one of my signals is right around 10k, but might be closer to 15k... which should still work I'de just need to give it a little more time then the recommended 12Tads which I'm already using 80us...

Perhaps ?
ckielstra



Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 3680
Location: The Netherlands

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 4:56 pm     Reply with quote

You didn't mention your CCS version and your program is not complete!
How did you declare the variable 'value'?

You say 2 channels are working fine, but one is erratic. Which one?

You are configuring AN0_AN1_AN3, but in your code you are using 1,2 and 3. Is this channel 2 the channel working erratic?
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:02 pm     Reply with quote

Also in this thread, you didn't really answer a lot of questions that
I and Bluetooth raised.
http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=21756
I had a question about the impedance of the voltage source that's
driving A/D channel 1. ie., What exactly is driving that pin, and
what is the size of the external series resistor, if any, and what is
the internal series resistance of the voltage source ?

Bluetooth had questions about what are your data types for the
variables "dummy" and "dummy_read", etc.

You need to answer these questions.
iso9001



Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 262

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:33 pm     Reply with quote

value is a long / int16

CCS: 2.315

You're right that should be 0 1 and 3, i summerized the code wrong. I cant post the whole thing, but its really nothing special, no crazy things going on there.

With the erratic pin (Chan 0) I am measuring a voltage divider with an unknown pullup and a max resistance of 8k to ground (other end of the divider)

PCM Progammer: Um.... Yea, Thats not me.
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:42 pm     Reply with quote

Sorry. Just sounded like a very similar problem.
iso9001



Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 262

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:51 pm     Reply with quote

Yea, I read that one too. Makes me think there is somthing similar with his problem.

But I cant figure out what.
ckielstra



Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 3680
Location: The Netherlands

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 3:31 am     Reply with quote

Quote:
With the erratic pin (Chan 0) I am measuring a voltage divider with an unknown pullup and a max resistance of 8k to ground (other end of the divider)
Very likely in a voltage divider the unknown pullup resistor is equal to several times larger than the pulldown resistor. This means your input impedance is very likely larger than the recommended 10k maximum. Your acquisition time will be 30us or larger.

It could be an anti-aliasing problem. What is the frequency of the signal you are trying to meassure? Without knowing the exact hardware details, with this input impedance you can forget anything above 15kHz.
iso9001



Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 262

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 3:46 pm     Reply with quote

Or several times smaller ? Smile

Either way, i'm using 80us, so I dont think it should be that.

Its a DC signal from a switch. I guess the freq could be however fast someone could press it. But this whole erratic problem happends when the switch is using its 'idle' resistor (no button pressed)
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 4:15 pm     Reply with quote

Suggestion:

Temporarily remove the switch device and install a push-button
switch with a 1K pullup. Manually push the button and release
it to simulate your other switch. See if the problem goes away.

Or,

Insert a single-supply rail-to-rail opamp in voltage-follower configuration
between your switch and the PIC. This will buffer the switch signal
and provide low-impedance to the PIC's A/D input. See if this cures
the problem.
ckielstra



Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 3680
Location: The Netherlands

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 4:34 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:
Or several times smaller ?
Yes, possible. You tell me, it's your circuit.... Smile

Anyway, if you are just sampling a switch in the open position, you should get stable readings.

Quote:
CCS: 2.315
Do you mean v3.215?
I don't have that version, so can you compile the code below and post the list file? I want to have a close look at the assembly code for the setup_adc_ports function. To make the version below complete, add your #fuses and '#use delay' lines. Please copy these lines from your original source with copy/paste, don't type them manually (I have another idea about a possible error...).
Code:
#include <16F872.h>
// Add your #fuses and '#use delay' lines here

void main()
{
  int16 value;

  setup_adc(ADC_CLOCK_DIV_32);
  setup_adc_ports(AN0_AN1_AN3);

  set_adc_channel(0);
  delay_us(80);
  value = read_adc();

  set_adc_channel(1);
  set_adc_channel(3);
}
iso9001



Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 262

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2005 7:23 pm     Reply with quote

I cant see the pullup resistor as its inside another system.

Quote:
Anyway, if you are just sampling a switch in the open position, you should get stable readings.

Yea, thats the part thats confusing me. If all 3 signals were jumping around like crazy I'de almost expect a problem.

Here is that code you wanted me to compile. Oh, but it seems this was 3.212, my mistake.

Quote:
Insert a single-supply rail-to-rail opamp in voltage-follower configuration between your switch and the PIC. This will buffer the switch signal and provide low-impedance to the PIC's A/D input. See if this cures
the problem.

I like that idea. I'll try that, although I beleive that my chan 2 signal is just as 'weak' as my first channel. But that one reads very stable.


Code:

0000:  MOVLW  00
0001:  MOVWF  0A
0002:  GOTO   004
0003:  NOP
....................  #include <16F872.h>
....................  //////// Standard Header file for the PIC16F872 device ////////////////
.................... #device PIC16F872
.................... #list
....................
.................... #device ADC=10
.................... #fuses HS,LVP,WDT,NOPROTECT, PUT, NOBROWNOUT
.................... #use delay(clock=10000000)
....................
.................... void main()
.................... {
0004:  CLRF   04
0005:  MOVLW  1F
0006:  ANDWF  03,F
0007:  BSF    03.5
0008:  BSF    1F.0
0009:  BSF    1F.1
000A:  BSF    1F.2
000B:  BCF    1F.3
....................   int16 value;
....................
....................   setup_adc(ADC_CLOCK_DIV_32);
000C:  BCF    03.5
000D:  BCF    1F.6
000E:  BSF    1F.7
000F:  BSF    03.5
0010:  BSF    1F.7
0011:  BCF    03.5
0012:  BSF    1F.0
....................   setup_adc_ports(AN0_AN1_AN3);
0013:  BSF    03.5
0014:  BCF    1F.0
0015:  BCF    1F.1
0016:  BSF    1F.2
0017:  BCF    1F.3
....................
....................   set_adc_channel(0);
0018:  MOVLW  00
0019:  BCF    03.5
001A:  MOVWF  21
001B:  MOVF   1F,W
001C:  ANDLW  C7
001D:  IORWF  21,W
001E:  MOVWF  1F
....................   delay_us(80);
001F:  MOVLW  42
0020:  MOVWF  20
0021:  DECFSZ 20,F
0022:  GOTO   021
0023:  NOP
....................   value = read_adc();
0024:  BSF    1F.2
0025:  BTFSC  1F.2
0026:  GOTO   025
0027:  BSF    03.5
0028:  MOVF   1E,W
0029:  BCF    03.5
002A:  MOVWF  26
002B:  MOVF   1E,W
002C:  MOVWF  27
....................
....................   set_adc_channel(1);
002D:  MOVLW  08
002E:  MOVWF  21
002F:  MOVF   1F,W
0030:  ANDLW  C7
0031:  IORWF  21,W
0032:  MOVWF  1F
....................   set_adc_channel(3);
0033:  MOVLW  18
0034:  MOVWF  21
0035:  MOVF   1F,W
0036:  ANDLW  C7
0037:  IORWF  21,W
0038:  MOVWF  1F
.................... }
....................
0039:  SLEEP


Also, Iwas goofing around with the code and found this, i'm sure this has helped with 95% of the problem:

Code:
 
set_adc_channel(0);
delay_us(80);
read_adc(ADC_START_ONLY);

set_adc_channel(0);
delay_us(80);
value = read_adc();


I bet I could lower the Tadc, and I'm not sure why this works, but it does.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group