CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Pic18F452, delay_ms() stops code executing.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Arclite



Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Posts: 16
Location: UK

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

Pic18F452, delay_ms() stops code executing.
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 7:13 pm     Reply with quote

Hi guys,

I have a simple problem, the code i have fails to run past the delay function and i would like to know why and how to get around it.

CCS compiler 3.200
MPLAB 6.30
I am using a 4Mhz Resonator ZTT type with built in caps, and can see 4Mhz on Osc2

Code:
Quote:

Proj1.H file>
#include <18F452.h>
#device adc=8
#use delay(clock=4000000)
#fuses NOWDT,HS, NOPROTECT, NOOSCSEN, BROWNOUT, NOPUT, STVREN, NODEBUG, NOLVP, NOWRT, NOWRTD, NOWRTB, NOWRTC, NOCPD, NOCPB, NOEBTR, NOEBTRB

#use rs232(baud=9600,parity=N,xmit=PIN_C6,rcv=PIN_C7,bits=9)
#use rs232(baud=9600,parity=N,xmit=PIN_C6,rcv=PIN_C7,bits=9)

Quote:

Proj1.C file>
#include <Proj01.h>

#include <ctype.h>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <string.h>

// Defines


// Variables

// Procedures
//===================================
// Interrupts
#INT_TIMER0
Timer0_isr()
{

}

#INT_RDA
RDA_isr()
{

}

void SetupMCU()
{

setup_adc_ports(NO_ANALOGS);
setup_adc(ADC_OFF);
setup_psp(PSP_DISABLED);
setup_spi(FALSE);
setup_wdt(WDT_OFF);

setup_timer_0(RTCC_INTERNAL|RTCC_DIV_8);
setup_timer_1(T1_INTERNAL|T1_DIV_BY_1);
setup_timer_2(T2_DIV_BY_1,0,1);
setup_timer_3(T3_DISABLED|T3_DIV_BY_1);
setup_ccp1(CCP_OFF);
setup_ccp2(CCP_OFF);

disable_interrupts(INT_TIMER0); //<< don't need these yet
disable_interrupts(INT_RDA);
disable_interrupts(GLOBAL);


}


// Main routine
void main()
{

SetupMCU();


do{
output_high(PIN_E0);
// delay_ms(1000);
output_high(PIN_E1);
delay_ms(1000); // << stuck here, why?
output_high(PIN_E2);
// delay_ms(1000);

output_low(PIN_E0);
// delay_ms(1000);
output_low(PIN_E1);
// delay_ms(1000);
output_low(PIN_E2);
// delay_ms(1000);
}while(TRUE);



}

It is just a simple staged LED flasher program that should work, no black magic or rocket science added yet. So what is the problem with it?

Regards.
Mark



Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 2838
Location: Atlanta, GA

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 8:05 pm     Reply with quote

Where is your #fuse statement?

Check your config bits. The wdt is probably enabled causing it to reset;

This
Code:
setup_wdt(WDT_OFF);
does not turn off the WDT if it is enabled.
Guest








PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:18 am     Reply with quote

Hi,
It is in the Header file with the '#use RS232' statements.

Regards
Mark



Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 2838
Location: Atlanta, GA

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:45 am     Reply with quote

Well it would help for us to see it!!
dyeatman



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 1924
Location: Norman, OK

View user's profile Send private message

Comment out the Delay statements when using SIM
PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 10:13 am     Reply with quote

If you are using the MPLAB simulator this is normal. What you are seeing the the Delay routine looping as it should. The simulator does not run at full speed so the delays take a VERY long time.....

While using the Simulator you have to comment out the delays. Put them back in for the final text with the hardware.

To make it easier I set a SIM flag in my code and put conditionals around the delay statements....
Guest








PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 10:54 am     Reply with quote

Hi Mark,
If you look at the 1st msg at the top of this post, it is in the 1st quote box.

Dyeatman,
I am burning the chip with code to run it, not using the simulator.
I appreciate that issue with the delays and i do exactly that (comment them out during the simulation).
Arclite



Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Posts: 16
Location: UK

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 10:57 am     Reply with quote

Just to mention the last two Guest posts are mine.
I appears that the server had logged me out twice.
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 11:47 am     Reply with quote

In your original post, you refer to your include file as: Proj1.H

But in your program, it is called '01'.
#include <Proj01.h>

Do you have two separate include files, called Proj1.H and Proj01.h ?
Perhaps one of them enables the watchdog, and the other does not ?
-------

You have two #use rs232() statements:

#use rs232(baud=9600,parity=N,xmit=PIN_C6,rcv=PIN_C7,bits=9)
#use rs232(baud=9600,parity=N,xmit=PIN_C6,rcv=PIN_C7,bits=9)

It's clear that this code is all just typed in. It's not a verbatim test
program. So this makes it difficult to know what's real.

-----

You need to make a short test program that shows the problem,
and then use Ctrl-C and Ctrl-V to copy it into a post. That way,
we can examine the exact code that's causing the problem.

The test program should be one program, and the only include file
in it, should be the CCS .H file for the PIC. Put all compiler directives
such as #fuses, etc., at the top of the file.
Arclite



Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Posts: 16
Location: UK

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

This is code with comments removed
PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 12:03 pm     Reply with quote

Hi
The code has had all of the comments removed as they are all app related, and removed for clarity.

The remaining code does exactly the same thing, and as for the name Proj1.H etc, that is a typo error when i copied the code from the machine i'm working on. Besides, my reference statement "Proj1.H file> " wouldn't compile.

The two RS232 statements are for different devices i have, one i will define with the pins listed, the other i'm to define.

In all, if you were to execute the two files naming them 'Proj01.h' & 'Proj01.c', the same problem should manifest itself again.
Arclite



Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Posts: 16
Location: UK

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

Problem solved!!!!
PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 1:22 pm     Reply with quote

I think i have cracked it.

I think it is something to do with the port settings in the CCSC project wizard, i may have overlooked them, and it lets some pins work and not others prior to the use of delay_ms().

It is somethink i take for granted since moving from assembler to CCSC.

It is a reproducable fault, so problem solved.

Thanks all for your input.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group