CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

SPBRG not programming with #use rs232 for F874

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jventerprises



Joined: 01 Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Location: Boston

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

SPBRG not programming with #use rs232 for F874
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 11:52 pm     Reply with quote

hi everyone,

i am trying to use the UART on an F874. everything seems to work except the SPBRG doesn't get programmed! (i have the same code working on a F877a)

the relevant bits from my header file are:

#include <16F874.h>

#device ICD=TRUE
#device adc=10
#use delay(clock=4000000)
#fuses NOWDT,XT, PUT, NOPROTECT, NOLVP, NOCPD, NOWRT, BROWNOUT, DEBUG
#use rs232(baud=4800,parity=N,xmit=PIN_C6,rcv=PIN_C7,bits=8)


i have to add the following line in main() for things to work:

SPBRG = 12;

and this in the include:

#byte SPBRG = 0x99


the 874 is operating at 4mhz, so this should give me 4800 baud. I have the same code (really!) for an 877a running at 20mhz and the SPBRG programs just fine. when i include the two lines above everything runs error free (for hours at least, that is as long as i have run the BER)

anybody seen this before? my compiler is 3.187. I checked the bug list, but didn't see anything that sounded like this.

thanks.
_________________
Jon
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 1:29 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:

I am trying to use the UART on an F874. everything seems to
work except the SPBRG doesn't get programmed! (I have the
same code working on a F877a). My compiler is 3.187


I installed PCM vs. 3.187 and tested your program on a 16F877
without the "SPBRG = 12" statement, and it worked OK.
The 16F874 is the same thing as a F877, except it has less ROM
and RAM. So the test should be valid. I commented out the ICD
stuff because I'm not using it on my demo board.

I got this output from my demo board:
Quote:
Hello World

Code:
#include <16F874.h>
//#device ICD=TRUE
#device adc=10
#use delay(clock=4000000)
#fuses NOWDT,XT, PUT, NOPROTECT, NOLVP, NOCPD, NOWRT, BROWNOUT   //, DEBUG
#use rs232(baud=4800,parity=N,xmit=PIN_C6,rcv=PIN_C7,bits=8)
#byte SPBRG = 0x99

main()
{
// Comment out this line for the test.
// SPBRG = 12;

printf("Hello World\n\r");

while(1);
}


Version 3.187 does program the SPBRG register properly.
Here is the startup code inserted by the compiler, from the .LST file.
Note that the compiler is moving 12 (0x0C) into the SPBRG register
at 0x99. (A switch to Bank 1 turns the "0x19" into 0x99 for the MOVWF)

Code:
0000                00293 .................... main() 
0000                00294 .................... { 
0016 0184       00295 CLRF   04
0017 301F       00296 MOVLW  1F
0018 0583       00297 ANDWF  03,F
0019 3006       00298 MOVLW  06
001A 1683       00299 BSF    03.5  // Go to Bank 1
001B 009F       00300 MOVWF  1F
001C 300C       00301 MOVLW  0C    // Load 0x0C into the W register
001D 0099       00302 MOVWF  19    // Move W into the SPBRG register
001E 3022       00303 MOVLW  22
001F 0098       00304 MOVWF  18
0020 3090       00305 MOVLW  90
0021 1283       00306 BCF    03.5
0022 0098       00307 MOVWF  18


The code above does the same thing as your manual code:
Code:
0000                00309 .................... SPBRG = 12;   
0023 300C       00310 MOVLW  0C    // Load 0x0c into the W register
0024 1683       00311 BSF    03.5  // Go to Bank 1
0025 0099       00312 MOVWF  19    // Move W into the SPBRG register


You should look at your .LST file to see if it has the same startup
code as shown above. If it doesn't, then you may not really be using
vs. 3.187. Or, maybe you should re-install the compiler.
jventerprises



Joined: 01 Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Location: Boston

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

my code shows something funny..
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:43 pm     Reply with quote

hi!

well here is my list code for the init stuff

.................... void main()
.................... {
*
05DA: CLRF 30
05DB: MOVLW 59
05DC: MOVWF 2F
05DD: MOVLW 14
05DE: MOVWF 59
05DF: MOVLW 71
05E0: MOVWF 5A
05E1: MOVLW 00
05E2: MOVWF 5B
05E3: MOVLW 0B
05E4: MOVWF 71
05E5: MOVLW A0
05E6: MOVWF 72
05E7: MOVLW 00
05E8: MOVWF 73
05E9: MOVLW 45
05EA: BSF 03.5
05EB: MOVWF 20
05EC: MOVLW F1
05ED: MOVWF 21
05EE: MOVLW 00
05EF: MOVWF 22
05F0: MOVLW 0B
05F1: MOVWF 71
05F2: MOVLW 00
05F3: MOVWF 72
05F4: MOVWF 73
05F5: CLRF 04
05F6: MOVLW 1F
05F7: ANDWF 03,F
05F8: MOVLW 06
05F9: MOVWF 1F
05FA: MOVLW 0C
05FB: MOVWF 19
05FC: MOVLW 22
05FD: MOVWF 18
05FE: MOVLW 90
05FF: BCF 03.5
0600: MOVWF 18
.................... int1 M433_RX_IN; // a message has come in the 433 and is in the buffer
....................
.................... // SPBRG = 12;
.................... setup_adc_ports(RA0_RA1_RA3_ANALOG);


these two lines should do it...
05FA: MOVLW 0C
05FB: MOVWF 19

but they dont because the bank bit for bank1 was cleared by
05F6: MOVLW 1F
05F7: ANDWF 03,F

and i am missing your line that sets back to bank!

!!

therefore address 0x19 is updated, not 0x99. my init functions look like

int1 M433_RX_IN; // a message has come in the 433 and is in the buffer

// SPBRG = 12;
setup_adc_ports(RA0_RA1_RA3_ANALOG);
setup_adc(ADC_CLOCK_DIV_8);
setup_psp(PSP_DISABLED);
setup_spi(SPI_MASTER|SPI_H_TO_L|SPI_CLK_DIV_16);
setup_counters(RTCC_INTERNAL,RTCC_DIV_1);
setup_timer_1(T1_DISABLED);
setup_timer_2(T2_DIV_BY_4,125,4);
enable_interrupts(INT_TIMER2);

output_high(SPI_CS);

// make sure the XCVR is idle
XCVR_433_control(TRANSMIT_IDLE);
XCVR_433_control(RECEIVE_ACTIVE);

// allocate memory for buffer and clear
TXRX_buffer = malloc(60);
memset(TXRX_buffer, 0, 60);
.
.
.

here is the relevant part of my header file

#include <16F874.h>

#device ICD=TRUE
#device adc=10
#use delay(clock=4000000)
#fuses NOWDT,XT, PUT, NOPROTECT, NOLVP, NOCPD, NOWRT, BROWNOUT, DEBUG
#use rs232(baud=4800,parity=N,xmit=PIN_C6,rcv=PIN_C7,bits=8)

#include "STDLIBM.h"

#byte SPBRG = 0x99



something funny is going on.
_________________
Jon
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 4:16 pm     Reply with quote

Post a test program that causes that output.
The problem is apparently caused by some #use statement
or #device statement that affects the startup code.

Post a test program that is small, but shows the problem.
jventerprises



Joined: 01 Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Location: Boston

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

sure...
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:09 pm     Reply with quote

but it might not be until friday. thanks for your help!
_________________
Jon
jventerprises



Joined: 01 Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Location: Boston

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

its #include "STDLIBM.h" thats doing it
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:51 pm     Reply with quote

it seems to be the inclusion of STDLIBM.h that does it. here are the stripped files.

sprofiler.c::

#include "sprofiler.h"

#int_TIMER2
TIMER2_isr()
{

}


/************************************/

/************************************/

void main()
{
// SPBRG = 12;
setup_adc_ports(RA0_RA1_RA3_ANALOG);
setup_adc(ADC_CLOCK_DIV_8);
setup_psp(PSP_DISABLED);
setup_spi(SPI_MASTER|SPI_H_TO_L|SPI_CLK_DIV_16);
setup_counters(RTCC_INTERNAL,RTCC_DIV_1);
setup_timer_1(T1_DISABLED);
setup_timer_2(T2_DIV_BY_4,125,4);
enable_interrupts(INT_TIMER2);

}

and sprofiler.h::

#include <16F874.h>

#device ICD=TRUE
#device adc=10
#use delay(clock=4000000)
#fuses NOWDT,XT, PUT, NOPROTECT, NOLVP, NOCPD, NOWRT, BROWNOUT, DEBUG
#use rs232(baud=4800,parity=N,xmit=PIN_C6,rcv=PIN_C7,bits=8)


#include "STDLIBM.h"


if you build without the STDLIBM.H include, everything is ok. if you build with it, you get the bank fault as before....


maybe the include is in the wrong place?
_________________
Jon
jventerprises



Joined: 01 Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Location: Boston

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

its #include "STDLIBM.h" thats doing it
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 10:05 pm     Reply with quote

its #include "STDLIBM.h" thats doing it
Posted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 6:51 pm

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i posted this again since i posted it right before thanksgiving and people were busy. i really would like to get this fixed....



it seems to be the inclusion of STDLIBM.h that does it. here are the stripped files.

sprofiler.c::

#include "sprofiler.h"

#int_TIMER2
TIMER2_isr()
{

}


/************************************/

/************************************/

void main()
{
// SPBRG = 12;
setup_adc_ports(RA0_RA1_RA3_ANALOG);
setup_adc(ADC_CLOCK_DIV_8);
setup_psp(PSP_DISABLED);
setup_spi(SPI_MASTER|SPI_H_TO_L|SPI_CLK_DIV_16);
setup_counters(RTCC_INTERNAL,RTCC_DIV_1);
setup_timer_1(T1_DISABLED);
setup_timer_2(T2_DIV_BY_4,125,4);
enable_interrupts(INT_TIMER2);

}

and sprofiler.h::

#include <16F874.h>

#device ICD=TRUE
#device adc=10
#use delay(clock=4000000)
#fuses NOWDT,XT, PUT, NOPROTECT, NOLVP, NOCPD, NOWRT, BROWNOUT, DEBUG
#use rs232(baud=4800,parity=N,xmit=PIN_C6,rcv=PIN_C7,bits=8)


#include "STDLIBM.h"


if you build without the STDLIBM.H include, everything is ok. if you build with it, you get the bank fault as before....


maybe the include is in the wrong place?
_________________
Jon
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 2:36 am     Reply with quote

The problem is caused by this line, in stdlibm.h:

#USE DYNAMIC_MEMORY

That line causes the compiler to put in startup code for malloc, etc.

Apparently the compiler does not realize that it has cleared
the bank select bits when it puts in these two lines:

MOVLW 1F
ANDWF STATUS,F

So it doesn't re-select Bank 1, as it should.

There may well be some trick that can cause the compiler
to do it correctly. I didn't find one in the little time that
I played with it. Even so, you'd still have to document it
if you did find one. The best solution may be to do what
you're doing. Set the SPBRG manually, and document why
you did it.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group