View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
spilz
Joined: 30 Jan 2012 Posts: 219
|
[solved] PIC18F66J94 and Vcap/Vddcore connected to Vcc ? |
Posted: Fri May 22, 2020 1:00 am |
|
|
Hello
I’m still working on a new device for me : PIC18F66J94
And I have some issue : sometimes it doesn’t start properly and I have to turn on and off power two or three times before it start normally.
Configuration : quartz 16MHz
Code: | #include <18F66J94.h>
#device ADC=16
#use delay(clock=64MHz,crystal=16MHz,USB_FULL) |
My issue maybe come from Vcap/Vddcore :
On the datasheet It’s written p38 chapter 2.4 :
Quote: | The VCAP pin must not be connected to VDD and must use a capacitor of 10 μF connected to ground. The type can be ceramic or tantalum. |
So I connected a 10uF between Vcap and ground.
But when I don’t connect Vcap to 3.3v, pic is not detected by Pickit3 to be programmed, if I connect Vcap to 3.3v, I can load the program and seems to work...
Where am I wrong ??
Do you have other idea for this no stable start ?
Thanks for your help
Last edited by spilz on Fri May 22, 2020 3:50 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19504
|
|
Posted: Fri May 22, 2020 1:17 am |
|
|
Chips with the VddCore pin, need a 'piggyback' board to be programmed
with programmers like the PicKit3.
You need a board that holds the PIC, has the capacitor to VddCore, and
then has an ICSP header to connect to the PICKit3, and generates the
3.3v to feed the chip (2v to 3.6v max).
Look at figure 2.1 in the data sheet. Minimum connections.
The capacitor on Vddcore, needs to be very close to the chip, and a low
ESR type. The datasheet will tell you the recommended types. X5R or X7R.
Vddcore runs at 2.5v max (1.8v) fed from a regulator inside the chip. If you
connected the core to 3.3v, then you risk damaging the chip.
Some chips have the option to run off a low voltage like 2v, and disable
the internal regulator. This one doesn't. |
|
|
spilz
Joined: 30 Jan 2012 Posts: 219
|
|
Posted: Fri May 22, 2020 2:14 am |
|
|
Thanks for your very quick reply
I checked again, I did the minimum connections as in 2.1
I set a 10uF tantium low ESR at 8mm (can not be closer as it’s a generic pcb for TQFP before design the futur PCB)
I understand for Vcap on 3.3V to program it
But I just test it again :
Vcap connected to 3.3V -> pic run normally
Vcap not connected to 3.3V -> pic doesn’t seem to start ... |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19504
|
|
Posted: Fri May 22, 2020 2:37 am |
|
|
You have got the ENVREG pin connected to Vdd?.
This is _required_....
No, I don't think yours has this pin, so the regulator should be permanently
enabled. It almost sounds as if you may have destroyed the regulator... |
|
|
spilz
Joined: 30 Jan 2012 Posts: 219
|
|
Posted: Fri May 22, 2020 2:44 am |
|
|
I’m maybe dumb but I don’t find this pin ...
/MCLR is connected to Vcc with 2 resistors and a cap as shown in 2.1 |
|
|
spilz
Joined: 30 Jan 2012 Posts: 219
|
|
Posted: Fri May 22, 2020 2:47 am |
|
|
How can it be destroy if it should be connected to 3.3v to be programmed ?
It shouldn’t be 3.3v « tolèrent » ? |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19504
|
|
Posted: Fri May 22, 2020 2:53 am |
|
|
Vddcore doesn't attach to anything except the capacitor. It is most definately
not 3.3v tolerant. 'Absolute maximum' rating is 2.5v. |
|
|
spilz
Joined: 30 Jan 2012 Posts: 219
|
|
Posted: Fri May 22, 2020 2:55 am |
|
|
But it should be connected to 3.3V to load the program through pickit, no ? |
|
|
spilz
Joined: 30 Jan 2012 Posts: 219
|
|
Posted: Fri May 22, 2020 3:22 am |
|
|
I soldered a new PIC
I disconnected 3.3v from Vcap
-> pic is not seen by pickit2
:( |
|
|
spilz
Joined: 30 Jan 2012 Posts: 219
|
|
Posted: Fri May 22, 2020 3:49 am |
|
|
Ok I think I found my mistake. I didn’t connect AVDD to 3.3V.
It seems to work now.
Thanks for your help.
Regards |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19504
|
|
Posted: Fri May 22, 2020 4:07 am |
|
|
Yes. The note next to the minimum connection diagram, says:
Quote: |
Note: The AVDD and AVSS pins must always be
connected, regardless of whether any of
the analog modules are being used.
|
|
|
|
|