View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
alan
Joined: 12 Nov 2012 Posts: 357 Location: South Africa
|
Fuses wrong when loading in ccsload |
Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2015 5:47 am |
|
|
Goodday.
Compiler 5.025
CCSLOAD 5.021/5.017/5.005
When I load the following program in CCSLoad the configuration bits are wrong. Also if I change them the checksum does not change. Looking at the LST file everything OK. If I change something in the program the checksum does change, so I am sure I am loading the correct HEX file.
Using MPLABX and ICD3 to program, everything works OK.
Using CCSLoad to program I actually brick the PIC. After programming I get a squarewave signal (as if you are programming)on the PGC/PGD pins and not even MPLABX want anything to do with the PIC. This only happens with U64.
Only happens with dsPIC33EPGM306, when using 8 bit Pic's everything OK.
Any ideas
Code: |
#include <33EP128GM604.h>
#FUSES NOWDT //No Watch Dog Timer
#FUSES NOJTAG //JTAG disabled
#FUSES T5G_IS_T5G //Timer 5 Gate is driven by the T5G input
#FUSES NOALTI2C1 //I2C1 mapped to SDA1/SCL1 pins
#FUSES NOALTI2C2 //I2C2 mapped to SDA2/SCL2 pins
#FUSES WDTWIN_25% //Watchdog Window is 25% of WDT period
#FUSES NOPLLWAIT //Clock switch will not wait for the PLL lock signal
#FUSES NOWINDIS //Watch Dog Timer in Window mode
#FUSES OSCIO //OSC2 is general purpose output
#FUSES IOL1WAY //Allows only one reconfiguration of peripheral pins
#FUSES NOCKSNOFSM //Clock Switching is disabled, fail Safe clock monitor is disabled
//#FUSES NOPWMLOCK //PWM register may be written without key sequence
#FUSES NOIESO //Internal External Switch Over mode disabled
#FUSES NOWRT //Program memory not write protected
#FUSES NOPROTECT //Code not protected from reading
#FUSES NODEBUG
#use delay(internal=60000000)
void main()
{
while(TRUE)
{
//TODO: User Code
output_low(PIN_B0);
}
}
|
Regards |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19482
|
|
Posted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 2:11 am |
|
|
MPLABX
Critical that you change the project settings from 'DEBUG' to 'RELEASE'.
If not, MPLAB, will override several of the fuses to make them compatible with debugging..... |
|
|
alan
Joined: 12 Nov 2012 Posts: 357 Location: South Africa
|
|
Posted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 3:00 am |
|
|
Thanks Ttelmah.
Maybe I wasn't too clear. It works 100% with MPLABX and ICD3, but brick the PIC with CCS and ICD-U64 and I mean brick, have to replace the PIC.
Regards |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19482
|
|
Posted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 4:25 am |
|
|
I still repeat the point....
If you are generating the Hex file in MPLAB, it'll be generated by default for DEBUG mode.
If you then program this into a PIC with an external programmer, this will not run.
It would however run in MPLAB, with the debugger connected. |
|
|
alan
Joined: 12 Nov 2012 Posts: 357 Location: South Africa
|
|
Posted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 4:54 am |
|
|
I built in CCS then load in CCSLoad.
If I use the CCS plugin in MPLABX to build, and look at the configuration bits they are correct and when programmed board works.
You have put me onto something else though. Looks like the problem lies with CCSLoad as I used the file produced by MPLABX and it does not read the fuses correctly.
I tried all 5.xx versions of CCSload and they all do the same.
Regards |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19482
|
|
Posted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 6:47 am |
|
|
Okay. That makes sense. I've got a fault in with CCS at present on CCSLoad. You need to report yours. |
|
|
alan
Joined: 12 Nov 2012 Posts: 357 Location: South Africa
|
|
Posted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 7:04 am |
|
|
Thanks Ttelmah, will do.
The sad thing is all did work, got a computer crash, re-install Windoze8 and voila nothing works as previous.
Regards |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19482
|
|
Posted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 8:04 am |
|
|
Had you been keeping CCSLoad 'up to date'?. If not I'd guess newer version has introduced problem. I've had a couple recently were releases have stopped individual chips programming right, but fixed other problems. It'll be interesting to hear what they say (they were quick with my faults). |
|
|
newguy
Joined: 24 Jun 2004 Posts: 1907
|
|
Posted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 8:47 am |
|
|
I've had issues with ccsload and a load-n-go. Similar story, except ccsload found a new set of FW for the load-n-go, which I updated. The update ended up "bricking" the dsPIC I use in most of our products....in front of customers. Fortunately, rolling back the FW on the load-n-go and reprogramming the dsPIC fixed everything.
Since then I've found that the newer versions of the load-n-go FW don't seem to support (or "play nice") with old HW revs of the load-n-go. CCS is aware of the issue but given the response I've thus far received (which is nil), I'm assuming they're not going to fix it. |
|
|
|