CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

ADC test code
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
irmanao



Joined: 08 Apr 2015
Posts: 77

View user's profile Send private message

ADC test code
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 7:23 am     Reply with quote

(dspic33e usb starter kit)

I wanted to do a test for adc with the following code



Code:
#include <33EP512MU810.h>
#use delay(clock=8000000)
#byte PORTD=0xF81
#byte PORTE=0xF83

void init_all (void);
long ad;

void main()
{
init_all();
output_high(PIN_D0);
delay_ms(2000);
output_low(PIN_D0);

while(TRUE)
{
   ad=read_adc();
   if (ad>200)
{
   
   output_high(PIN_D1);
   delay_ms(500);
   output_low(PIN_D1);
   }
   }
}
void init_all(void){
set_tris_e(0xff);
set_tris_d(0x00);
setup_adc_ports( sAN30 | VSS_VDD );
setup_adc ( ADC_CLOCK_INTERNAL );
set_adc_channel ( 0 );
}



I connect AN30 to 0-2V but the led on D1 doesn't turn on.
(I'm new to programming)
Any suggestions?
thanks


Last edited by irmanao on Mon Jul 13, 2015 5:08 pm; edited 1 time in total
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19338

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 7:51 am     Reply with quote

It wouldn't....

AN30, requires set_adc_channel(30).

The channel number is the multiplexer input pin to use. Just because you are only enabling AN30, the multiplexer still has connections for 0 to 29....

Don't get confused by the internal ADC selection channels. These are distinct from the multiplexer selection, which set_adc_channel controls. By default the CCS code, runs the ADC in one channel mode. The set_adc_channel code, sets the CH0SA bits, selecting which actual ADC input is to be read.
irmanao



Joined: 08 Apr 2015
Posts: 77

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 9:11 am     Reply with quote

thanks for the reply.
Now D1 stays on WITHOUT even feeding it analog voltage when
Code:
if (ad>400){

   
   output_high(PIN_D1);
delay_ms(1000);
output_low(PIN_D1);

 } 



but stays off when i change the code
Code:
if (ad<400){

   
   output_high(PIN_D1);
delay_ms(1000);
output_low(PIN_D1);

 } 





what am i doing wrong?
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19338

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 12:21 pm     Reply with quote

Not feeding it an analog voltage does not mean it is at 0.
It'll float, and could read almost anything.

However also add #device adc=12 (just above the clock setting). As it stands you are not telling the compiler how to configure the ADC result, and it may well be left justifying the result.
705150



Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Posts: 14

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 12:45 pm     Reply with quote

You need to provide some time off, turn on led, wait 500, turn off led, wait again 500, the led does turn off but is turned back on too fast for you to notice it was off.
_________________
if it doesn't work, don't force it, try a bigger hammer...
irmanao



Joined: 08 Apr 2015
Posts: 77

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2015 5:50 am     Reply with quote

I added #device adc=12 but the only thing that changed was that the led was flashing either way (<400,>400). When i connected the voltage there was no difference.

Code:
if (ad>400){

   
   output_high(PIN_D1);
delay_ms(1000);
output_low(PIN_D1);

 } 

delay_ms(50);
}}   


Last edited by irmanao on Fri Jul 10, 2015 5:33 am; edited 1 time in total
guy



Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 291

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 1:59 am     Reply with quote

You're in the right track....
Change to Debug mode, put a breakpoint after the line ad=read_adc(); and run the code in Debug mode. When the program execution stops in the breakpoint, move the cursor over the variable ad to show its value. That way you know if the problem is in the A/D conversion or in the if/flash logic.
A few things to consider: the 12-bit A/D can sometimes give a slightly negative result for voltages around 0 volts. If the variable ad is defined as long (instead of signed int16) may get a value of about 65535.
Your threshold (400) is approximately 1/10 of the total 12-bit range (0..4095) so it will represent a voltage of 0.1Vdd (0.33V for 3.3V supply).
irmanao



Joined: 08 Apr 2015
Posts: 77

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 5:32 am     Reply with quote

The values i get are all under 2000. The led also flashes when i put
if (ad<2000)
However when i connect voltage nothing changes.(voltage goes to AN30(pin4) and VSS (pin 15))
what am i doing wrong?
- thanks for the help-
guy



Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 291

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 6:16 am     Reply with quote

I looked at the data sheet, errata, USB starter kit... Haven't found anything yet.
Can you repost your current code? (after the changes)
BTW, get rid of the set_tris statements. The CCS compiler takes care of this automatically when you write output_high(PIN_D1) and the default power-up for I/O pins is input.
Code:
set_tris_e(0xff);

will cause PIN_E8, PIN_E9 to become outputs (probably not what you wanted. These are 16-bit registers).
irmanao



Joined: 08 Apr 2015
Posts: 77

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 6:23 am     Reply with quote

Code:
#include <33EP512MU810.h>
#device adc=12;
#use delay(clock=8000000)
#byte PORTD=0xF81
#byte PORTE =0xF83

void init_all (void);
int16 ad;

             
void main() {
init_all();
output_high(PIN_D0);
delay_ms(2000);
output_low(PIN_D0);

while(TRUE){
   ad=read_adc();

   if (ad>2000){

   
   output_high(PIN_D1);
delay_ms(1000);
output_low(PIN_D1);

 } 

delay_ms(50);
}}   
 

void init_all(void){


setup_adc_ports( sAN30 | VSS_VDD );
setup_adc ( ADC_CLOCK_INTERNAL );
set_adc_channel ( 30 );

}
guy



Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 291

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 6:32 am     Reply with quote

it's a minor thing but try to delete the ; (semicolon) from the line #device adc=12;
Otherwise to me the code looks ok. Maybe re-check that you're connecting to the right pin (pin 4 of the dsPIC, not the PIC24 which is also on the board) etc.
It could also be a bug in the compiler etc. which requires to check all the setup of the registers. Let's see if someone else has any ideas...
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19338

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 1:26 pm     Reply with quote

Also, try with ADC=10.

This chip has the ADC configurable for 10bit or 12bit operation. It's possible there is a problem with the 12bit code, so try in 10bit mode.
irmanao



Joined: 08 Apr 2015
Posts: 77

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 5:12 pm     Reply with quote

I already did. Same results..
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9163
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 6:18 pm     Reply with quote

I'd go back to basics..
remove the 'test condition/LED portion and

...cut code to just read the ADC and then send the result to a PC terminal program say at a 1Hz rate. Using a pot on the ADC input you should see the result on the PC.

Do whatever you need to get this step working 100% then add your 'test and turn on LED' section of code.


Jay
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 6:39 pm     Reply with quote

I wonder if you are doing something that you are not showing us.
Because these are not the correct addresses for these ports:
Quote:
#include <33EP512MU810.h>
#device adc=12;
#use delay(clock=8000000)
#byte PORTD=0xF81
#byte PORTE =0xF83


Also, your program has no #fuses, which is suspicious.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group