CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

read and write configuration memory

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
oxo



Joined: 13 Nov 2012
Posts: 219
Location: France

View user's profile Send private message

read and write configuration memory
PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 7:38 am     Reply with quote

PIC18F26K80
CCS 5.020

I'm working on a bootloader, and it's all ok, except I have a problem with the config memory.

I have fuses defined:-

Code:
#fuses NODEBUG                  //Disable Debug mode for use with ICD
#fuses WDT                    //Use Watch Dog Timer
#fuses WDT512                   //Watch Dog Timer uses 1:512 Postscale
#fuses PUT                      //Power Up Timer
#fuses BROWNOUT                 //No brownout reset
#fuses BORV30                  //brownout reset voltage at 4.2V
#fuses NOMCLR                   //Master Clear pin used for I/O
#fuses NOXINST                  //Extended set extension and Indexed Addressing mode disabled (Legacy mode)
#fuses IESO                     //Internal External Switch Over mode enabled
#fuses STVREN                   //Stack full/underflow will cause reset
#fuses FCMEN                    //Fail-safe clock monitor enabled
#fuses NOWRT                    //Program memory not write protected
#fuses NOWRTD                   //Data EEPROM not write protected
#fuses NOCPD                    //Data EEPROM not code protected
#fuses PROTECT                  //Code protected from reads
#fuses NOCPB                    //Boot block not code protected
#fuses NOEBTR                   //Memory not protected from table reads
#fuses HSH                       // External oscillator
#use   delay(crystal= 16M, clock=64M)       
#fuses CANB                      // CAN on RB2/RB3


I read the config memory into a buffer..

Code:
#define CONFIG_LEN 14
unsigned int8 buffer[CONFIG_LEN];

read_configuration_memory(&buffer, CONFIG_LEN);


But when I examine the buffer, it does not have the correct values for the fuses selected.

[0] 0x15
[1] 0x52
[2] 0x69
[3] 0x34
.. etc

the values should be :
[0] 0x15
[1] 0xD2
[2] 0x66
[3] 0x27

Anybody got an idea? I am baffled..
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9164
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 8:08 am     Reply with quote

OK, I don't use that PIC or bootloaders but general comments..

You should post the settings in English in a table, the hexcodes mean nothing except they aren't the same. It's important to know WHICH setting are not correct.

The fuses have to be the same for both your program AND the bootloader. My 'gut feeling' is that the bootloader settings are changing the program settings.Or perhaps MPLAB , or the programmer?



hth
jay
asmboy



Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 2128
Location: albany ny

View user's profile Send private message AIM Address

PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 8:26 am     Reply with quote

Code:

#fuses BROWNOUT                 //No brownout reset
#fuses BORV30                  //brownout reset voltage at 4.2V

#fuses HSH                       // External oscillator
#use   delay(crystal= 16M, clock=64M)       


what you coded needs scrutiny.

you say NO but the fuse says YES
you say 4.2v but the fuse says 3v

and lastly is, if you want the fuses to be set in one place - you might call for a 4x PLL in the fuses instead of the the #use delay
but have never set the PLL fuses

are you expecting the compiler to do that?

i prefer to set the fuses directly.

what happens when you explicitly code the fuses you want - NOT using any boot loader nonsense ??
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19346

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 9:01 am     Reply with quote

I've just tried and they read correctly for me.

15 D2 66 27 00 09 91 00 00 C0 0F E0 0F 40

You get 15 52, if ICD is selected. I'd guess you are compiling through MPLAB, and this is overriding the 'NODEBUG' fuse and setting the chip for DEBUG mode.
oxo



Joined: 13 Nov 2012
Posts: 219
Location: France

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 9:28 am     Reply with quote

Ttelmah wrote:
I've just tried and they read correctly for me.

15 D2 66 27 00 09 91 00 00 C0 0F E0 0F 40

You get 15 52, if ICD is selected. I'd guess you are compiling through MPLAB, and this is overriding the 'NODEBUG' fuse and setting the chip for DEBUG mode.


Ah...

Yes. I'm running in debug - that's how I can see what the values are.

Thanks.
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9164
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:59 am     Reply with quote

You do not have to be in 'debug' mode to see the bits.

In MPLAB,
1) read the device,
2) select 'configure',
3) select 'configuration bits'

This gives you the 'real world' configuration of 'fuses' or configuration words unlike the erroneous 'debug' values.

hth
jay
oxo



Joined: 13 Nov 2012
Posts: 219
Location: France

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 1:20 am     Reply with quote

I dont use MPlab. I only use CCS IDE and ICD-U64
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19346

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:34 am     Reply with quote

Imagine you haven't got any debugger.

You write a hex file to the chip, and (provided code protection is not enabled), you can then read this back. You can look at the contents of the configuration fuses from the programmer code, and see what the chip would genuinely have in it. To look at what you would see in the 'real world', this is the way to work. You don't need to be in debug mode to see what is in the chip.

If instead you work in 'debug' mode, things alter. There are quite a few things that deliberately have to be changed to work in debug mode. For example, the debugger can't handle the watchdog, so this is explicitly disabled when debug is selected. Generally there is a list of what is changed when debug is selected with the debugger code, or in the Microchip notes. So by selecting ICD or debug, you change what it actually written to the chip. I immediately recognised the changes in the first word, to be those that are made when debug is selected...

Debugging is great for working out how program flow actually runs etc., but when dealing with things like the configuration fuses, you need to be aware of the changes.

The 'point' about MPLAB, is that it will always force the compiler to debug mode, unless you explicitly change it to release mode. Hence it is a common reason for people to 'accidentally' be in debug mode without realising it. However in your case, you are doing the forcing by selecting debug mode, which you don't need.....
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group