View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
SubhamayS
Joined: 07 Mar 2012 Posts: 34 Location: jalpaiguri, India
|
LCD driver for Interfacing JHD 162A with PIC16F877A |
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:25 am |
|
|
Can anyone please provide me the compatible driver for interfacing LCD JHD162A with PIC16F877A.
I have tried several times with the regular LCD.c driver, but the lcd is showing only 'black box'. The connections seem to be ok. I think its the initialization problem. or is it a compatibility issue !
Please HELP !
Thanks in advance. |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19510
|
|
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:33 am |
|
|
It's dead standard.
It'll run off lcd.c, if the connections are right.
Things to try:
Triple check the connections. Remember the bias voltage needs to be connected as well
Remember also that it is D4 to D7 on the LCD that have to connect to the PIC (not D0 to D3). Also remember the ground needs to be connected.
Make sure you add a delay before calling LCD_INIT. Many of these clone LCD's do not start to power up, till the supply gets up to perhaps 4.5v. The PIC starts at a much lower voltage, so can start too quickly for the display.
Also, look at:
<http://www.edaboard.com/thread293536.html>
Others have commented on a high tendency to faulty units with these....
Best Wishes |
|
|
SubhamayS
Joined: 07 Mar 2012 Posts: 34 Location: jalpaiguri, India
|
what about D0 to D3 on the LCD ?? |
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:37 am |
|
|
Thanks a lot for the reply.
Ttelmah wrote: | Remember also that it is D4 to D7 on the LCD that have to connect to the PIC (not D0 to D3). Also remember the ground needs to be connected. |
I have connected D4 to D7 on the LCD to RB4 to RB7 (as mentioned in LCD.C driver). Now what should I do with D0 to D3 on the LCD ?? do you mean I must connect these to the ground ?? |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19510
|
|
Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 12:04 pm |
|
|
No.
I mean that the ground of the LCD also needs to be connected to the same ground as the PIC. It is surprising how many people forget that these must also connect together. What do you have on the bias voltage pin?.
Best Wishes |
|
|
SubhamayS
Joined: 07 Mar 2012 Posts: 34 Location: jalpaiguri, India
|
|
Posted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 1:58 am |
|
|
Ttelmah wrote: | What do you have on the bias voltage pin? |
I have connected the ground of the LCD to the same ground as the PIC and connected the bias pin on LCD to +5V supply through 1k resistor. |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19510
|
|
Posted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 3:01 am |
|
|
That is not right for the bias.
Normally it needs to be close to 0v.
The data sheet for this series, show it connected to _ground_ via a resistor.
Would explain the display being fully black....
Best Wishes |
|
|
SubhamayS
Joined: 07 Mar 2012 Posts: 34 Location: jalpaiguri, India
|
Problem solved :) |
Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 9:32 am |
|
|
Ttelmah wrote: | That is not right for the bias. |
Finally it's working... there was a problem in biasing.. rectified it & I used the 'lcd_flex' driver..
Thanks a lot @Ttelmah.. |
|
|
|