CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Change of uart

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
picprogrammer



Joined: 10 Sep 2003
Posts: 35

View user's profile Send private message

Change of uart
PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2013 7:27 am     Reply with quote

My project uses UART1 with a command line interface. Now I want to use multiple pcb on a RS485 bus on UART2. The idea is to select 1 print on the RS485 bus and talk only to that one.

Is it possible to switch UART stream? The manual call if printf is used, the last #use RS232.. is active. Is this possible in the code? I have a lot of printf in my program so it would take a lot of code to fprintf for the 2 separate.
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19366

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2013 8:14 am     Reply with quote

Encapsulate....

replace 'printf', with:

printf(my_putc, what you want to print);

You can do a simple 'search and replace' for the "printf(", and replace this with "printf(my_putc", throughout the code.

Then just create a function 'my_putc', like:

Code:

int1 use_first_stream=TRUE;

void my_putc(int8 chr)
{
   if (use_first_stream)
       fputc(STREAM1,chr);
   else
       fputc(STREAM2,chr);
}


This way there is just one pair of fputc calls, with a single flag 'deciding' what stream is to be used, and you can just change 'use_first_stream' to TRUE/FALSE, to select the stream to be used.

The printf functions, instead of all calling putc, will just call the new 'decider' (my_putc) function.

Quick/easy to do, and adds the least possible code.

Best Wishes
picprogrammer



Joined: 10 Sep 2003
Posts: 35

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2013 8:56 am     Reply with quote

Yes, but like that I have to double all +/-50 printf's with a lot of float printing. The code will increase a lot.

It would be handy if STREAM1 was a variable!

Sorry, did'nt read you measage. Thanks will try!
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19366

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2013 9:31 am     Reply with quote

No you don't. You are missing the point...
Code:

//Two #use RS232's here, setting up the streams STREAM1, and STREAM2
int1 use_first_stream=TRUE;

void my_putc(int8 chr)
{
   if (use_first_stream)
       fputc(STREAM1,chr);
   else
       fputc(STREAM2,chr);
}

void main(void)
{
   float value=12345.2;
   int16 valuei=234;
   do
   {
       printf(my_putc, "Something complex %f, %ld\n\r",value,valuei);
       use_first_stream~=1;
       value+=1;
       valuei+=1;
   }
   while (TRUE);
}


This will alternately print to STREAM1, then STREAM2, from the single printf as the 'use_first_stream' value changes.
Exactly what you want.

Best Wishes
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group