CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

USE parameter value is out of range "1"

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jrmymllr



Joined: 08 Oct 2012
Posts: 4

View user's profile Send private message

USE parameter value is out of range "1"
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 1:33 pm     Reply with quote

When using this line:

#USE RS232(STREAM = RS485, BAUD = 2400, XMIT = PIN_C6, RCV = PIN_C7, PARITY = N, BITS = 8, DISABLE_INTS, ENABLE = PIN_A5)

I get this error:

*** Error 100 "C:\Users\...\rs485.h" Line 4(5,122): USE parameter value is out of range "1"

If I delete ENABLE = PIN_A5, it compiles. If I try any other pin for ENABLE, it still fails in the same way. If I move the ENABLE statement anywhere else within the USE, it still fails. If I delete other parameters but leave ENABLE, it still fails.

In other words, it's the ENABLE it doesn't like. What am I doing wrong? I'm using V4.135 on a 18F8527.


Last edited by jrmymllr on Mon Oct 08, 2012 1:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 1:46 pm     Reply with quote

Always post your full PIC part number.

Preferably post a very short test program so we can try to compile it
ourselves and see if we get the same problem.
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19359

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 2:25 pm     Reply with quote

Remove the extra spaces.
#USE RS232 goes wrong in odd ways if you have spaces between the values and their names.

#USE RS232(STREAM=RS485, BAUD=2400, XMIT=PIN_C6, RCV=PIN_C7, PARITY=N, BITS=8, DISABLE_INTS, ENABLE=PIN_A5)

This has been mentioned before here.

Seems not to happen, till a certain number of statements is reached.

Best Wishes
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 2:33 pm     Reply with quote

You edited your post to add the PIC, but you still didn't post a test
program. So, I made one, but it works:
Quote:

CCS PCH C Compiler, Version 4.135, xxxxx 08-Oct-12 13:31

0 Errors, 1 Warnings.
Build Successful.
Loaded C:\Program Files\PICC\Projects\PCH_Test\PCH_Test.cof.
BUILD SUCCEEDED: Mon Oct 08 13:31:04 2012


Test program:
Code:

#include <18F8527.h>
#fuses INTRC_IO,NOWDT,PUT,BROWNOUT,NOLVP
#use delay(clock=4M)

#USE RS232(STREAM = RS485, BAUD = 2400, XMIT = PIN_C6, RCV = PIN_C7, PARITY = N, BITS = 8, DISABLE_INTS, ENABLE = PIN_A5)

#include "rs485.c"

//======================================
void main(void)
{

while(1);
}


The spaces in the #use rs232 parameters didn't cause a problem for my test.
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19359

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 3:15 pm     Reply with quote

I stuck it onto a larger program, and it did, giving a syntax error a few hundred lines later. Removed the spaces and it functioned correctly. I think it causes a sort of 'translater overflow' in the compiler, which happens at an indeterminate point according to what other statements are present.

Best Wishes
jrmymllr



Joined: 08 Oct 2012
Posts: 4

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 7:40 am     Reply with quote

I was hopeful, but the suggestions didn't fix it. I tried the line in a new project, with the bare minimum to compile and it worked. Still doesn't work though in the place I really need it...
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19359

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 9:17 am     Reply with quote

Probably suggests this is not the problem line, but one some distance above it.

CCS has a little 'habit', when it meets syntax errors, of ploughing on, attempting to interpret things, till eventually something goes so badly wrong that it gives up. Hence errors are often reported several lines _after_ the actual fault.

Best Wishes
jrmymllr



Joined: 08 Oct 2012
Posts: 4

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:47 am     Reply with quote

Ttelmah wrote:
Probably suggests this is not the problem line, but one some distance above it.

CCS has a little 'habit', when it meets syntax errors, of ploughing on, attempting to interpret things, till eventually something goes so badly wrong that it gives up. Hence errors are often reported several lines _after_ the actual fault.

Best Wishes


I got it. I ended up calling CCS, and the guy asked a few questions and finally recommended I email him the code. Then he asked if I had ENABLE defined anywhere else. That was it. I #define'ed ENABLE as 1.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group