CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

lost int_rda interrupt

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
redicon



Joined: 26 Feb 2012
Posts: 8

View user's profile Send private message

lost int_rda interrupt
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 5:56 pm     Reply with quote

Can the int_rda be lost?
I mean:
My program has got 2 interrupts, rs232 and Timer1.

I've got a looping code that executes:
Code:

disable_interrupts(INT_TIMER1);      
output_a(row-1);
delay_us(1200);
output_a(EMPTY);
enable_interrupts(INT_TIMER1);

Is it possible that when I re-enable Timer1 interrupts if there is both Timer1 and rda interrupt flag, the Timer1 isr will be executed and the rda interrupt is lost?

Please tell me yes.
asmallri



Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 1634
Location: Perth, Australia

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website

Re: lost int_rda interrupt
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:02 pm     Reply with quote

redicon wrote:
Can the int_rda be lost?
I mean:
My program has got 2 interrupts, rs232 and Timer1.

I've got a looping code that executes:
Code:
      disable_interrupts(INT_TIMER1);      
        output_a(row-1);
      delay_us(1200);
      output_a(EMPTY);
      enable_interrupts(INT_TIMER1);


Is it possible that when I re-enable Timer1 interrupts if there is both Timer1 and rda interrupt flag, the Timer1 isr will be executed and the rda interrupt is lost?

Please tell me yes..


Are you doing anything silly like using delays in your interrupt handler? If so then this will result in interrupts being disabled in the mainline calls to delay_us and therefore it would be reasonable to assume you can miss RDA interrupts at high baud rates.

delay_us() should generally NOT be used in interrupt handlers
_________________
Regards, Andrew

http://www.brushelectronics.com/software
Home of Ethernet, SD card and Encrypted Serial Bootloaders for PICs!!


Last edited by asmallri on Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9170
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:03 pm     Reply with quote

no, I won't say yes..

We need to see a complete but small program that we can compile. Also the PIC type and compiler version.

You can't 'lose' the interrupt, you have to read it first(done in the ISR).

Without seeing your whole program is is impossible to decide what is wrong.
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:56 pm     Reply with quote

You could "lose an int_rda interrupt" if you don't use a receive fifo buffer,
and if you fail to check for incoming characters often enough.

You can largely eliminate this problem by using a buffer, as shown in the
CCS Ex_sisr.c example file. When chars come in, the interrupt occurs
and the chars are put into a circular buffer. Then you don't have to
check so often. If the buffer is large (512 bytes), then depending on
your incoming character rate, maybe you only need to check the
buffer every few hundred milliseconds. Your program can be doing
something else for a long time and if you don't check the buffer it
doesn't matter, because the chars are saved in the buffer during that
time. You can read them when you finished doing other things in your
program. Here is the example file:
Quote:

c:\program files\picc\examples\ex_sisr.c
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19360

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:30 am     Reply with quote

and, the key thing that nobody has said so far, there _must_ be 'ERRORS' in you #use RS232.

Key to understand, is that the hardware UART has just _under_ two characters of buffering. If at any time the code does not service INT_RDA, and data is arriving continuously, for a period that exceeds this, the UART _will_ flag an ERROR, and _will_ go into a hung state, if ERRORS is not set, _or_ you have your own error handling code in the interrupt. You _must_ have one or the other. If not, from this point on, the receive part of the UART will stop working.

Best Wishes
RF_Developer



Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 839

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:52 am     Reply with quote

Delays are going to mess with interrupts. Precisely how depends on a number of things.

Delays in critical sections, i.e. while interrrupts are turned off, are very bad news. If interrupts are going to work smoothly, critical sections must be as short as possible: no delays.

To avoid "missing" interrupts you must be able to service them as quickly as possible. So ciritcal sections must be short, and delays should be avoided, or at the very least made interruptable (but that implies buffering of incoming and probably out going data, which should probably be the norm anyway).

RF Developer
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group