CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

What resolution is required

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hayee



Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Posts: 252

View user's profile Send private message

What resolution is required
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:20 am     Reply with quote

Hi,
I am planning to read 3-phase voltage and current in a microcontroller and calculate its power. Is 10-bit resolution is enough to read the parameters and calculate power ? Can I calculate percentage error (when using 10-bit adc as compared to 12-bit adc) ?

Thanks
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19363

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 3:02 am     Reply with quote

Seriously, 10bit is _more_ than enough. Few voltmeters even get close to this when measuring AC....
However, you need more data than the voltage and current. You need also the phase relationship between these to actually calculate 'power'. Power is only the product of voltage and current, when feeding a load which has a power factor of '1'. Into any other load there will be a phase difference between the signals, and power will change.

Best Wishes
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9171
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 6:30 am     Reply with quote

Also signal conditioning, how 'clean' the readings are, is more important that ADC bits.
It's far better to have 8 'clean' bits than 10 or 12 'dirty' bits of data !
Capturing 12 bits of data when 3 or 4 are spikes,glitches,etc. defeats the purpose of a high bit ADC.
You don't say what frequency this 3 phase power is. 50Hz,60Hz, 400Hz,20KHz but that will be a huge factor in designing the correct signal conditioning section of your project.There's no math you can do inside the PIC to compensate for 'bad' raw ADC data.
SherpaDoug



Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1640
Location: Cape Cod Mass USA

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 6:58 am     Reply with quote

Consider that 10 bits gives you 1 part in 1024. That is slightly better than 0.1% Unless you take great care with the rest of your system you will likely have other errors much bigger than 0.1%.
_________________
The search for better is endless. Instead simply find very good and get the job done.
Battery David



Joined: 01 Feb 2010
Posts: 25

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 7:56 am     Reply with quote

Following up on SherpaDoug's comment, if you are using 1% resistors to divide down a higher voltage, 10-bits is now more accurate than your voltage.

After I figured that out I started using 0.1% resistors for scaling.
Mike Walne



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 1785
Location: Boston Spa UK

View user's profile Send private message

Current sensing
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 4:39 pm     Reply with quote

Is your three phase supply star or delta connected?

How are you proposing to measure current?

Quote:

Can I calculate percentage error (when using 10-bit adc as compared to 12-bit adc) ?


Percentage error in which value?

Mike
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group