|
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
hugo_br
Joined: 01 Aug 2011 Posts: 26 Location: BRAZIL
|
Problem with Serial(RS232) in PIC24HJ128GP204! |
Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2011 4:25 pm |
|
|
Good evening everyone.
I'm having problems with the RS232 in PIC24HJ128GP204.
I can not get anything, much less so to send the serial of the PIC.
Below is a piece of source code.
I appreciate if you could give a help in some way.
Code: |
#fuses hs, ec, nooscio, wrtb, nobss, norbs, nowdt, wposts1, wpres128, windis, noput, icsp1, alti2c, nojtag, nodebug, wrtss, nosss, norss, protect, nocksfsm, noiol1way, noieso
#use delay(clock=32000000, RESTART_WDT)
#pin_select U1TX = PIN_B10
#pin_select U1RX = PIN_C9
#use rs232(UART1,baud=115200,bits=8,parity=N,stop=1,stream=rs)
void main()
{
setup_adc_ports (sAN0 | sAN1 | VSS_VDD);
setup_adc (ADC_CLOCK_DIV_64);
set_tris_a(0x7ff);
set_tris_b(0x9203);
set_tris_c(0x2c0);
enable_interrupts(INTR_GLOBAL);
loop:
while(TRUE)
{
if (!input(S1))
{
printf("Start\r\n");
or
fprintf(rs,"Start\r\n");
PIC does not transmit anything!
}
|
.
.
.
.
. |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9226 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2011 4:50 pm |
|
|
While I don't use that PIC some quick comments...
Always add 'errors' to the use rs232(options...)...
Never use set_tris()..... functions,let the compiler do it automatically for you.There's no need to manually code them and if you get 1 bit wrong...your program will fail...
you may have a wrong fuse selected,check each one,maybe compare to known working code ?
you have interrupts enabled but NO ISRs ! major mistake !! Either disable ALL ISRs or create ISR routines.
hopefully this may help you |
|
|
hugo_br
Joined: 01 Aug 2011 Posts: 26 Location: BRAZIL
|
|
Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 8:52 am |
|
|
I managed to run the serial communication with speeds up to 4800 but if I put values above this speed RS232 sends wrong characters.
I changed the line of fuses and TRIS to work at these speeds and disable interrupts as suggested by temtronic.
I do not know if there's something there, but I will be replacing the 32MHz oscillator with a 40MHz, does that help anything?
I keep waiting for the help everyone.
Good day anda thanks! |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9226 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 11:26 am |
|
|
Ok..first I'd add a delay in 'main' to space out the printing. right now it's a continous stream of data to, I assume, a PC with some kind of RS232 monitoring program.
Do you have a MAX232 type chip (I'll assume yes, as you say it works < 4800 baud).
Is the PC side a real rs232 comport or a USB dongle ?
Confirm the PC program will run at >4800 baud using a 'loopback' connector.
Proper wiring ( good ground) betwwen the two computers ?
Running out of straws to pull !! |
|
|
hugo_br
Joined: 01 Aug 2011 Posts: 26 Location: BRAZIL
|
|
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 8:50 am |
|
|
I would like to thank everyone's help.
Problem solved!
Gotta run to 115200 with no problems.
I got it hitting the fuses and routines in the program.
On another board I will work a maximum in 2400, is a hardware limitation.
I isolate the line of communication with photo coupler so that the speed was affected. to maintain good communication went down to 1200, so the line is stable.
Now I need to do a routine to receive complete sentences with the PIC and not just a character. Does anyone have any suggestions for how to start?
Once again I thank everyone's attention.
Hugo. |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|