View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
kdlee
Joined: 13 Jan 2011 Posts: 10
|
Still out of ROM after changing to larger PIC |
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 7:10 pm |
|
|
I was out of ROM space using the 18F24K22 so I switched to the 18F25K22, which should have double the program space. When I compile, it complains that it is out of ROM space that is exactly the same as when I was using the smaller chip.
Here is the print out regardless of which device is selected:
Out of ROM, A segment or the program is too large MAIN
Seg 000C6-01CBE, 02A4 left, need 0368
Seg 00000-00002, 0000 left, need 0368
Seg 00004-00006, 0004 left, need 0368
Seg 00008-000C4, 0000 left, need 0368
I changed the device via the MPLAB IDE. I would think the message should change when changing the device. BTW, I'm using the CCS C compiler, ver 4.112.
Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Kevin |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19515
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 3:33 am |
|
|
The message won't change. It is a case of the 'lump' of code you have being too large to fit in the _bank_ of the chip. You need to split your code up. Use subroutines, rather than having too much stuff in one piece (typically main - it is in your case), and declare the routines as 'separate'.
A search here will find lots of examples....
Best Wishes |
|
|
kdlee
Joined: 13 Jan 2011 Posts: 10
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:25 pm |
|
|
Hmmm, are you sure? All the remaining segments are full. Shouldn't something show there is more space?
When I comment out code to get it to fit in the smaller PIC and then switch to the larger PIC, the amount of ROM space used is the same. Shouldn't the used ROM space get cut in half when going to a PIC with double the program space? |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:37 pm |
|
|
Run this program in MPLAB simulator with "UART1" enabled for output.
See what the compiler thinks is the ROM size for each type of PIC:
Code: |
#include <18F24K22.h>
#fuses INTRC_IO,NOWDT
#use delay(clock=4000000)
#use rs232(baud=9600, xmit=PIN_C6, rcv=PIN_C7, ERRORS)
//======================================
void main(void)
{
printf("ROM size = %lu \n\r" getenv("PROGRAM_MEMORY"));
while(1);
}
|
How to use "UART1" in MPLAB simulator to display printf() output in MPLAB:
http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=23408&start=1 |
|
|
kdlee
Joined: 13 Jan 2011 Posts: 10
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:14 pm |
|
|
I ran both and got the same answer:
ROM size = 7360
Does this mean the device database in my compiler version is incorrect? |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:24 pm |
|
|
I installed vs. 4.112 and ran it for the 18F24K22, and the 18F25K22
and I got this:
Code: | ROM size = 16384
ROM size = 32768
|
Maybe you need to re-install the compiler.
You don't have some kind of demo or student version, do you ? |
|
|
kdlee
Joined: 13 Jan 2011 Posts: 10
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:36 pm |
|
|
I have a full version of the compiler. I vaguely remember having some weirdness when I first installed the compiler, but I didn't pay much attention to it since I thought it was working.
I'll reinstall my compiler. Thanks! |
|
|
kdlee
Joined: 13 Jan 2011 Posts: 10
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 3:10 pm |
|
|
I just installed 4.116 and it is doing the same thing. Any ideas on what to do now? Thanks! |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 3:23 pm |
|
|
I just ran it for the 18F24K22 in vs. 4.116 and got this:
Are you doing these exact steps ?
1. Install vs. 4.116.
2. Make a test project if you don't already have one.
3. Copy and paste the exact program that I posted into MPLAB,
into the source file associated with the test project.
4. In the MPLAB Configure / Select Device menu, set it for 18F24K22.
5. In the MPLAB Debugger / Select Tool menu, set it for MPLAB SIM.
6. In the MPLAB Debugger / Settings / UART1 IO menu, select the
tickboxes for "Enable UART1 IO" and "Window".
7. Compile the program.
8. Press the "Run" arrow on the MPLAB menu bar (or go to the Debugger
menu and select "Run").
It should display the correct number. |
|
|
kdlee
Joined: 13 Jan 2011 Posts: 10
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 3:27 pm |
|
|
I did everything as you listed.
I just tried to install the compiler into a new directory in case there were some leftover files from the previous compiler installation and when I ran it, I got the same old answer. I'm at a loss now. Any idea where this limit is coming from? I would think it is from the device database. Could I be pointing at a corrupted device database somewhere? |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 3:38 pm |
|
|
Search for multiple installations of the compiler and get rid of all them
except for one. |
|
|
kdlee
Joined: 13 Jan 2011 Posts: 10
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:06 pm |
|
|
I found an extra version of the compiler under Microchip\ThirdParty\PICC and removed that. No change.
I removed all compilers installed on the machine and then reinstalled from scratch. No change.
Argh... |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 5:09 pm |
|
|
What's your version of MPLAB ?
Also, if you have the full IDE version of the compiler, start up the
Device Editor and look at the ROM size for the 18F24K22 in it. |
|
|
kdlee
Joined: 13 Jan 2011 Posts: 10
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 6:07 pm |
|
|
MPLAB version is 8.56.
I tried running the device editor, but nothing happens when I click on the icon. Not sure what else to try. Thanks! |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 6:14 pm |
|
|
I don't have the full CCS IDE, so I can't help you any more on it,
but I have to wonder if you have a Demo version or some other
limited version, or something else. If stuff doesn't work, you
don't have the full working IDE compiler. |
|
|
|