View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Rod Ladwig Guest
|
Serial no. |
Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2003 7:19 am |
|
|
How can one program a range of PIC devices with there own unique address without haveing to recompile the code each time? Can the Warp 13 programmer do it?
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 11201 |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
Re: Serial no. |
Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2003 8:01 pm |
|
|
:=How can one program a range of PIC devices with there own unique address without haveing to recompile the code each time? Can the Warp 13 programmer do it?
--------------------------------------------------
I think this has to be done by the program
that controls the PIC programmer.
If this feature is not available in a commercial
product (PicStart-Plus, Warp13a, etc.), then you
could use one of the many "build-it-yourself"
programmers. Get the source code for the control
program, and modify it to add the serial number feature.
Or, see this:
Here's a web page for one of those programmers:
<a href="http://www.rotgradpsi.de/mc/picprog/picproge.html" TARGET="_blank">http://www.rotgradpsi.de/mc/picprog/picproge.html</a>
This page explains how to program serial numbers:
<a href="http://www.rotgradpsi.de/mc/etc/serial.html" TARGET="_blank">http://www.rotgradpsi.de/mc/etc/serial.html</a>
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 11216 |
|
|
Richard Slater
Joined: 08 Sep 2003 Posts: 12 Location: Cambridge, UK
|
Re: Serial no. |
Posted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 3:14 am |
|
|
:=How can one program a range of PIC devices with there own unique address without haveing to recompile the code each time? Can the Warp 13 programmer do it?
Hi there!
I have done this using a serial line command which loads a serial number to the PIC, I devised the code so that after the 'Send Serial Number' function had been called for the first time, a flag was set and the function cannot be called again. This way you do not have to re-compile, and there is no danger of over-writing the number (as long as your code does not allow any other functions to access it!!).
Hope this is usefull
Richard
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 11222 |
|
|
mcafzap
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 46 Location: Manchester, UK
|
Re: Serial no. |
Posted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 3:24 am |
|
|
As PCM programmer has already pointed out, you can use one of the commercial programmers. One such which includes this ability is obtainable from FED in the UK. It requires you to allocate space within your code using 'retlw 00' for each number.
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 11223 |
|
|
|