CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

pic12F675 pwm square wave is not so square

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pic2



Joined: 04 Nov 2009
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

pic12F675 pwm square wave is not so square
PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 4:49 pm     Reply with quote

Hello,
I wrote this program up to generate a pwm but the square wave is not so square when I view it on a scope from Pin_a1. What is it is the transition from on to off and off to on are not a square signal. They have a curve like a capacitor charge and discharge behaviors. Has anybody seen anything like this? My code is below. My compiler is PCWH V.3.249.

Thanks.
Code:

#include <12F675.h>
#device ADC=10
#fuses INTRC_IO,NOWDT,PUT,BROWNOUT,MCLR,PROTECT


//*********************** main routines *************

#use delay(clock=4000000)
void main()
{

   long value;
   long setpoint28=1024;      // 28V from control input
   long setpoint26=960;       // 26V
   long setpoint25=923;       // 25V
   long setpoint24=886;       // 24V
   long setpoint23=849;       // 23V
   long setpoint22=812;       // 22V
   long setpoint21=775;       // 21V
   long setpoint20=739;       // 20V
   long setpoint19=702;       // 19V
   long setpoint18=665;       // 18V
   long setpoint17=628;       // 17V
   long setpoint16=591;       // 16V
   long setpoint15=554;       // 15V
   long setpoint14=517;       // 14V
   long setpoint13=480;       // 13V
   long setpoint12=443;       // 12V
   long setpoint11=406;       // 11V
   long setpoint10=369;       // 10V
   long setpoint9=332;        // 9V
   long setpoint8=295;        // 8V
   long setpoint7=259;        // 7V
   long setpoint6=219;        // 6V (was 221)
   long setpoint5=185;        // 5V

   setup_adc_ports(sAN0|VSS_VDD); // set port AN0 pin 7 to analog input
   setup_adc(ADC_CLOCK_DIV_8);

  while(1)
   {
      set_adc_channel(0);
      delay_us(10);
      value=read_adc();

      if (value<=setpoint6)                       // 0%
         output_low(pin_a1);

      if (value>setpoint24)                       // 70% of 5.2ms period
         {  output_toggle(pin_a1);
            delay_us(3640);
            output_toggle(pin_a1);
            delay_us(1560);
         }
   }
}
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 5:05 pm     Reply with quote

1. Describe the external circuit that is connected to Pin A1.

2. What oscilloscope are you using to measure the signal ?

3. Have you tested the scope on another signal, to be certain that
the problem is not in the scope ?
pic2



Joined: 04 Nov 2009
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 6:22 pm     Reply with quote

PCM programmer wrote:
1. Describe the external circuit that is connected to Pin A1.

pin A1 connected a pwm input pin on the LED driver p/n NUD4001 that drives series of 4 LEDs.

wrote:

2. What oscilloscope are you using to measure the signal ?

I used Tektronic TDS3032B.

wrote:

3. Have you tested the scope on another signal, to be certain that
the problem is not in the scope ?


Yes, I tested it with another similar program written in ASM and it looked very sharp and square at ON and OFF transitions of the square wave on the same scope & same PCB. I only swapped out the PIC.
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 6:48 pm     Reply with quote

Why are you using output_toggle ? That requires reading the pin.
Why not just use output_high() and output_low(), as shown below:
Quote:

if (value>setpoint24) // 70% of 5.2ms period
{
output_high(pin_a1);
delay_us(3640);
output_low(pin_a1);
delay_us(1560);
}
}
pic2



Joined: 04 Nov 2009
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 7:06 pm     Reply with quote

In my prior version of the posted codes, I did use output_high(pin_a1) & output_low(pin_a1) but it was the same. Could it be different if I use timer 0, or timer 1 for the delay? The reason I say so is that I do not know how to use timer0 or timer0 for delay with PIC12F675. I am fairly new to pic.

By the way, thank you very much for responding to my post PCM programmer.
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 7:11 pm     Reply with quote

Disconnect the NUD4001 chip from the PIC, and look at the PIC pin
with your oscilloscope. Does the signal now look good ?
pic2



Joined: 04 Nov 2009
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 7:18 pm     Reply with quote

I'll do that and let you know tomorrow. Thanks.
pic2



Joined: 04 Nov 2009
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 8:08 pm     Reply with quote

Hello PCM Programmer,

I just revised the code, ran it with standalone PIC without any other circuitry or pcb, and measured the signal right off pin A1. Please look at the image below to see the curve I'm talking about.

This is the revised code:
Code:

if (value>setpoint24)                           // 70% of 5.2ms period
         {  output_high(pin_a1);
            delay_us(3640);
            output_low(pin_a1);
            delay_us(1560);
         }


mutthunaveen



Joined: 08 Apr 2009
Posts: 100
Location: Chennai, India

View user's profile Send private message

what u r using to plot this
PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:52 pm     Reply with quote

hi...... sorry for asking now I mean here Crying or Very sad

Please tell me that how and what software u r using to plot such type of graphs..... please bro. I am using the PC oscilloscope based on microphone input.

Please tell me the software name and hardware diagram u r using.

If u feel hard to reply this please send it to this mail ID "mutthunaveen@gmail.com"

please bro...... Arrow
dyeatman



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 1924
Location: Norman, OK

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 7:18 am     Reply with quote

Pic2,
That graph looks like an uncalibrated scope probe or capacitance on the PIC pin to me. High frequency rolloff like that is characteristic of scope probe capacitance issues.

Try connecting it to your calibration point and verify it is perfectly square to determine if the probe(s) are to blame.

If the probes are good I can't imagine any possible way that code can cause something like that so I think it would be hardware related (chip or circuit).
_________________
Google and Forum Search are some of your best tools!!!!
pic2



Joined: 04 Nov 2009
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:42 am     Reply with quote

dyeatman,

Thanks bros. I switched to another scope and it looks nice and neat. I checked the scope with not so square signal at the probe comp. port and it did show the same "not so square" behavior as well.

see below,



Thanks everybody for replying to my message.

mutthu,

I used tektronic scope and capture the plot right off the scope with floppy disk! It is not pc base.
bkamen



Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Posts: 1611
Location: Central Illinois, USA

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 3:17 pm     Reply with quote

Ahhh yes, always watch those uncalibrated probes!

You should be able to adjust them back to square.

All my HP/Agilent probes come with a screwdriver to tweak the probe's trimmer caps.

If you haven't checked into it yet, you might want to.
_________________
Dazed and confused? I don't think so. Just "plain lost" will do. :D
dyeatman



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 1924
Location: Norman, OK

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 4:26 pm     Reply with quote

bkamen is absolutely correct. There is a trimmer on each probe.
Connect the probe to the calibration point and adjust the trimmer to
eliminate the rolloff in the square wave.
_________________
Google and Forum Search are some of your best tools!!!!
Guest








PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 6:21 pm     Reply with quote

It was the probe issue. Thanks for the tips guys. I'll do it.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group