CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Interrupts disabled warning. Why ?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ashrau



Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

Interrupts disabled warning. Why ?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:54 am     Reply with quote

Hi. I wrote the following code to use a signal from a 1-axis compass. I'm using interrupts to sample the compass signal upon a Lo-Hi edge of a clock signal (also from the compass). Here is the code:

Code:

/*
PIN A1: Right indicator
PIN A2: Left indicator
PIN A0: Compass signal for A/D sampling
PIN B0: Clock signal from compass for triggering interrupt on Lo-Hi edge
Port C: For displaying A/D conversion values
*/

#include <18F2525.h>
#device adc=8
#include<stdio.h>
#include<stdlib.h>
#fuses NOWDT,INTRC_IO, NOPUT, NOMCLR, BROWNOUT, LVP, NOCPD, NOWRT, NODEBUG
#use delay(clock=4000000)

int target, heading;   //target stores initial heading

#INT_EXT                   //external interrupt
compass_clock_isr() {

   delay_ms(5);            //to provide for rise time of signal pulse
   heading = read_adc();   //current heading
   delay_us(100);
   output_c(heading);      // ***!!!*** for debugging
   delay_ms(3000);         // ***!!!*** for debugging

     if((abs(target-heading)>5)&&(target>heading)){   //see [1] below
         output_low(PIN_A2);
         output_high(PIN_A1);
         //will replace pin toggles with PWM routines
         }
     else if ((abs(target-heading)>5)&&(target<heading)){
         output_low(PIN_A1);
         output_high(PIN_A2);
         //will replace pin toggles with PWM routines
         }
     else {
         output_low(PIN_A1);
         output_low(PIN_A2);
         //will replace pin toggles with PWM routines
         }

     clear_interrupt(INT_EXT);
}

void main (void){

   delay_ms(5000);   // ***!!!*** for debugging

   set_tris_b(0x01);   //set PIN_B0 as input for use with external interrupt

   //Setup ADC
   setup_adc_ports(AN0);
   setup_adc(ADC_CLOCK_INTERNAL);
   set_adc_channel(0);

   delay_us(100);   // ***!!!*** reduce later

   target = read_adc();   //acquire initial reading

   output_c(target);
   delay_ms(5000);   // ***!!!*** for debugging

   //Enable external interrupt
   ext_int_edge(L_TO_H);      //interrupt routine called on Lo-Hi edge
   enable_interrupts(INT_EXT);
   clear_interrupt(INT_EXT);
   enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);

   while(TRUE);   //leaves this loop only for interrupt calls
}//end main

/*
[1]   Difference of 5 b/w target and heading sometimes caused turning signals due to minor fluctuations while adc conversions. Need to increase to something like 8 or 10 to make it to stop responding to noise
*/


When i compile this code, it gives me the following warning messages:


>>> Warning 208 "external_interrupt_v2.c" Line 19(1,18): Function not void and does not return a value compass_clock_isr
>>> Warning 216 "external_interrupt_v2.c" Line 78(0,1): Interrupts disabled during call to prevent re-entrancy: (@delay_ms1)
Memory usage: ROM=1% RAM=1% - 1%
0 Errors, 2 Warnings.


When i tested the PIC, it seemed to be working as expected.

a) Why does the warning message say that the interrupts have been disabled? How can I fix this?
b) If the interrupts have been disabled, how does my PIC seem to be working fine?

I will really appreciate some quick help on this, as I have a university project deadline approaching soon. Thanks a lot in advance! Smile
_________________
ashrau
Sydney



Joined: 13 Feb 2009
Posts: 71

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:24 am     Reply with quote

a) To prevent re-entrancy, ie interrupting inside a delay_ms call, then calling it again.
b) Because they are reenabled after.

I think this is the same problem http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=38151&sid=665ebe727180790ce0da9aa7aab14fd7
Sydney



Joined: 13 Feb 2009
Posts: 71

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:27 am     Reply with quote

I dont think those delays in the isr are really necessary are they?
dyeatman



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 1924
Location: Norman, OK

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:52 pm     Reply with quote

It is best to never use delays inside of an ISR....
ashrau



Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 1:51 am     Reply with quote

Thanks for the replies. I guess it makes sense to not have delays inside an isr. But the 5 ms delay I have, because right after the LO-HI edge of the clock signal, there is a 5 ms rise time in the output signal that I want to sample. How do I incorporate that delay time, if not in the isr ? Would it work if I disabled the external interrupt as soon as I entered the isr and enabled it again while exiting the isr ?

The program I made works, but is kind of fishy. I'm assuming its something to do with how the isr has delays in it. I'm using another program that came with the compiler called EX_PULSE.C. It essentially uses the while(input(PIN_B0)) and while(!input(PIN_B0)) approach to finding the HI-LO and LO-HI edges of a pulse on the clock signal. That program seems to be working a lot better than my external interrupt approach. But using external interrupts seems to be a more refined and sophisticated approach to this problem. What would you guys suggest?

Thanks A LOT, again. Smile
_________________
ashrau
ashrau



Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 1:55 am     Reply with quote

P.S. the 5000 ms and 3000 ms delays I had in the code were for debugging, so that I have enough time to read the adc conversion values that are output on port_c. I intend on removing them in my final implementation, but I do need the 5 ms delay. The 100 us delay, i just put it there to allow for the adc to stabalize after conversion, just in case. I'm not really sure if i need that there or not.
_________________
ashrau
Sydney



Joined: 13 Feb 2009
Posts: 71

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:10 am     Reply with quote

ashrau wrote:
Would it work if I disabled the external interrupt as soon as I entered the isr and enabled it again while exiting the isr ?


The compiler does this automagically, the problem being the interrupt wont get serviced while you are running a delay in the main loop, the quick dirty fix is in the link I posted, see:

Code:
#use delay(clock=4000000)
void main(void)
Sydney



Joined: 13 Feb 2009
Posts: 71

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:19 am     Reply with quote

ashrau wrote:
The 100 us delay, i just put it there to allow for the adc to stabalize after conversion, just in case. I'm not really sure if i need that there or not.


If you set the adc up properly then no you probably wouldn't, ADC_CLOCK_INTERNAL is for device frequencies 1mhz and lower, its all in the datasheet along with the aquisition time setting.
ashrau



Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:14 pm     Reply with quote

Thanks! Very helpful Smile
_________________
ashrau
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group