CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Having troubles with 16F876A and RS232

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
simons



Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 18

View user's profile Send private message

Having troubles with 16F876A and RS232
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 4:50 am     Reply with quote

Hello!! I'm new to this forum..

I'm having some troubles handling serial communication between a 16f876A with max232 and a pc
These are the fuses and other initialization stuff..
Code:

#include <16F876A.h>
#device adc=8
#use delay(clock=20000000)
#fuses NOWDT,HS, NOPUT, NOPROTECT, NODEBUG, NOBROWNOUT, NOLVP, NOCPD, NOWRT
#use rs232(baud=9600,parity=N,xmit=PIN_C6,rcv=PIN_C7,bits=8)


I have this interrupt routine:

Code:
#int_RDA
RDA_isr()
{

     ibuff_Rx = getc(); //catch the incoming char
     interrupt=1; //set a variable to 1
     output_low(PIN_C4); //light on the RX led on the board
     enable_interrupts(INT_RDA); //make sure the RDA int is active for new char
}


Then I have this in the main statement:
Code:

char check='r';
if(interrupt==1)
{

if(ibuff_Rx==check)
{
printf("\cCOMMAND RECEIVED: %C",ibuff_Rx); //send back the command
output_high(PIN_B4); //light on the check led
}
else
{
printf("\cWRONG COMMAND: %C",ibuff_Rx);
output_low(PIN_B4); //light off the check led
}

interrupt=0;
}


I'm sending the 'r' character with hyperterminal and this is correctly recognised because the check led lights on.
When the MCU sends back the character to pc, in the hyperterminal i see garbage characters, but the string "COMMAND RECEIVED" displays correctly. It's only the %C part that doesn't display correctly.

I don't know how to fix this!!!
I tried puts instead of printf .. same result, garbage characters...

This this is driving me nuts.. help me please Mad Crying or Very sad
ECACE



Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 94

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:21 pm     Reply with quote

What type is your ibuff_Rx? I don't see it defined.

What happens if you change your %c to %s?

What are some examples of the junk data.. if you put in a Y, what does it display?

Lastly, what version of the compiler are you using?
_________________
A HW Engineer 'trying' to do SW !!! Run!!!
Guest








PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 2:13 pm     Reply with quote

Hi!
ibuff_Rx is defined as char.

if I change %c to %s the garbage still remains but it's longer..

some examples of junk data are three vertical lines or a +/- or or question mark and stuff like this...

the compiler version is 3.181.
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 3:23 pm     Reply with quote

Make a very simple test program and see if it works. Type characters
in from Hyperterminal and see if they are sent back properly to the PC.
Example:
Code:
#include <16F876A.h>
#fuses XT, NOWDT, BROWNOUT, PUT, NOLVP
#use delay(clock=4000000)
#use rs232(baud=9600, xmit=PIN_C6, rcv=PIN_C7, ERRORS)

#int_rda
void rda_isr(void)
{
char c;

c = getc();  // Get character from PC
putc(c);     // Send it back to the PC
}   

//========================
void main()
{
enable_interrupts(INT_RDA);
enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);

while(1);
}
simons



Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 18

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 3:33 pm     Reply with quote

the example works great! every character is sent back to the pc..
but i can't figure out what's going wrong in my code
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 4:05 pm     Reply with quote

Your program is not complete. For example, you don't show the
declaration of iBuff_Rx.

Post the complete program (but about the same length) and post it in
one Code box. Don't split it up over 3 code boxes. Compile it first.
Make it has no errors. Then post it.

Also, add the ERRORS parameter to your #use rs232() statement.
simons



Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 18

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:45 am     Reply with quote

Ok here's the complete code, I made a little change but basically it's the same code.

PIN_B4 is check led
PIN_C3 is TX led
PIN_C4 is RX led

all leds are active low.

Code:

#include <16F876A.h>
#device adc=8
#use delay(clock=20000000)
#fuses NOWDT,HS, NOPUT, NOPROTECT, NODEBUG, NOBROWNOUT, NOLVP, NOCPD, NOWRT
#use rs232(baud=9600,parity=N,xmit=PIN_C6,rcv=PIN_C7,bits=8, ERRORS)

#include "lcd_new.h" //my own lcd driver


BOOLEAN interrupt=0;

char ibuff_Rx;


#int_RDA
RDA_isr()
{


        ibuff_Rx = getc();

        interrupt=1;
        output_low(PIN_C4); //rx led on

}






void main()
{
int i;

char check='r';

   setup_adc_ports(NO_ANALOGS);
   setup_adc(ADC_OFF);
   setup_spi(FALSE);
   setup_counters(RTCC_INTERNAL,RTCC_DIV_1);
   setup_timer_1(T1_DISABLED);
   setup_timer_2(T2_DISABLED,0,1);
   setup_comparator(NC_NC_NC_NC);
   setup_vref(FALSE);
   set_tris_a(0b00000000);
   set_tris_b(0b00000000);
   set_tris_c(0b00000000);
   
   lcd_init();
   delay_ms(100);
   lcd_init();
   delay_ms(100);
   
   printf(send_char,"\c-WELCOME-");
   delay_ms(1000);


   printf(send_char,"\c !Work In Progress!\nTest Board by Simons");
   delay_ms(1000);

   clear_display();


   output_high(PIN_C3);
   output_high(PIN_C4);

   enable_interrupts(INT_RDA);
   enable_interrupts(global);


   printf("-WELCOME-\n\r");


   while(1)
   {



   output_high(PIN_C4); //all leds off
   output_high(PIN_C3);

   if(interrupt==1)
   {
      if(ibuff_Rx=='r')
      {

         output_low(PIN_B4);
         output_low(PIN_C3);

         //31 is a test value

         printf(send_char,"\cRECEIVED: %C \nTEMP: %u",ibuff_Rx,31);


         printf("RECEIVED: %C \rTEMP: %u\r",ibuff_Rx,31);

         ibuff_Rx=' ';
         interrupt=0;
      }
      else
      {
         output_high(PIN_B4);
         output_low(PIN_C3);
         printf(send_char,"\cRECEIVED: %C",ibuff_Rx);

         ibuff_Rx=' ';
         interrupt=0;

      }//if ibuff scope
   }//if interrupt scope
}//while scope

}//main scope



Ok now I notice a thing:
if I remove the printf function that sends out data in rs232, the character is recognised and printed correctly to the lcd.
When I put the printf back, seems like that when the function is called, the interrupt is fired again even if it's a transmission and not a reception.

Thanks for help!
Ttelmah
Guest







PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 10:51 am     Reply with quote

Are you sure you have a good ground connection between the systems?. What you describe is exactly what you will see, if the ground is not properly connected, and the system effectively gets grounded through the second data line.

Best Wishes
simons



Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 18

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:57 pm     Reply with quote

The board where the pic is installed is a demo board, I didn't build it... It has it's own DC Adapter and a rs232 port.
I checked and everything seems fine.. no floating points or non-properly grounded areas..
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:16 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:
void main()
{
int i;

char check='r';

setup_adc_ports(NO_ANALOGS);
setup_adc(ADC_OFF);
setup_spi(FALSE);
setup_counters(RTCC_INTERNAL,RTCC_DIV_1);
setup_timer_1(T1_DISABLED);
setup_timer_2(T2_DISABLED,0,1);
setup_comparator(NC_NC_NC_NC);
setup_vref(FALSE);
set_tris_a(0b00000000);
set_tris_b(0b00000000);
set_tris_c(0b00000000);

Get rid of the line in bold. You're setting the Rx pin to be an output.
My advice is to get rid of all the TRIS statements and let the compiler
set the TRIS. It does it automatically when you specify the #use rs232
library. It will do it correctly.

If you get rid of that line I believe it will fix your problem.
simons



Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 18

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 4:44 am     Reply with quote

OMG!! Now it works reeeeally well!!!

Thanks a lot man!!! This is very much appreciated!!! Razz
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group