CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

C question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gjs_rsdi



Joined: 06 Feb 2006
Posts: 468
Location: Bali

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

C question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 6:21 pm     Reply with quote

My apology for the question if it is not CCS related
I have to fill two bytes with data that are individual bits
What I am doing is much assembler like:
Code:
int byte0=0;
short bit0=0;
if(bit0==1)
   {
      bit_set(byte0,0);
   }
else
   {
      bit_clear(byte0,0);
   }   

And so on for two bytes 8 bit each

To fill in this way the 8 bits of two bytes takes many program lines and a lot of comments to remember what is what

Can somebody show me (teach me) how to do it in more "C" like way?

Best wishes
Joe
Mike Walne



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 1785
Location: Boston Spa UK

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 4:06 am     Reply with quote

Depends on the exact form of your bits.

You could try:-

1) A union.
2) A loop if the bits are arranged as an array.

Mike
gjs_rsdi



Joined: 06 Feb 2006
Posts: 468
Location: Bali

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 10:37 pm     Reply with quote

Thank you for the answer Mike
Will try to learn the subject

Best wishes
Joe
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19445

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 3:13 am     Reply with quote

As Mike says, a union would be the standard way to do this. Since CCS allows bit arrays (int1), you can do it like:
Code:

union bit_access
{
   int1 bits[16];
   unsigned int16 word;
   unsigned int8 bytes[2];
} val;

void main(void)
{
   int8 ctr;
   int8 abit;
   const int8 fill_with[16] = {1,0,1,0,0,0,0,0,1,0,0,0,0,1,1,1};
   //16 values to putinto the bits as a demo

   val.word=0; //clear the memory to start.
   //demonstrate filling 16 bit value
   for (ctr=0;ctr<16;ctr++)
   {
      abit=fill_with[ctr];
      val.bits[ctr]=abit;
   }

   //Now see what is held
   printf("byte 0: %2x, byte 1: %2x\n\r",val.bytes[0],val.bytes[1]);
   while(TRUE)
     ;
}


This should give 05 E1

Remember bits in the 'source' array here are being read least significant bit first.

This demonstrates byte, and word access to the same memory (word to clear it at the start, and byte to print it).
gjs_rsdi



Joined: 06 Feb 2006
Posts: 468
Location: Bali

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 7:23 pm     Reply with quote

Thanks for the details Ttelmah Smile
I will implement and work with

Best wishes
Joe
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 9:23 pm     Reply with quote

One thing you never told us is where these 16 bits come from.
Are they declared variables (int1) ? Or are they port pins ?
gjs_rsdi



Joined: 06 Feb 2006
Posts: 468
Location: Bali

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 4:57 pm     Reply with quote

Hi PCM programmer

They are all defined as (short).
Activated by switches that connects VSS as they have pull-up resistors of 10K to VDD.
All read with a 1 to 16 MUX with 4 pins as MUX address and 1 pin for the data in.

Best wishes
Joe
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19445

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 12:47 am     Reply with quote

You are doing more transfers than are needed. Don't fiddle with reading the bits into separate places. Bring them in directly.

So:
Code:

int16 mask;
int16 val=0;
int8 mult_addr;

    mult_addr=WhateverBitYouAreReading; //however you are
    //generating this address
    mask=1<<mult_addr;

    //Then put 'mult_addr' out to your multiplexer
    if (data_from_input) //where this is your data input
       val = val | mask;
    else
       val = val & (mask ^ 0xFFFF);


This way the required bit is read directly into the 'val' variable.

Even better if you are looping and doing the read, just load 'mask' with 1 at the start of the loop, and rotate it once each time round the loop.
gjs_rsdi



Joined: 06 Feb 2006
Posts: 468
Location: Bali

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 5:29 am     Reply with quote

Thanks Ttelmah

Said the truth, I don't understand how the program is setting/clearing the address bits to the MUX.
I will try to implement and see how is going

Best wishes
Joe
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9199
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:38 am     Reply with quote

perhaps this may help ?

given: mux adrs lines are on portA,bit3...0
mux data lins is tied to portB, bit1

something like...
Code:

for(mux_adrs=0;mux_adrs<16,mux_adrs++){
  output_a(mux_adrs);     // sets mux address
  delay_ms(1);            // allow mux to 'settle' before reading
  mux_data=input(PIN_B1); // read the mux data
  switch_array[mux_adrs]= mux_data;   // rem store mux data into array
}

Now I haven't tried it, it's still dark here, only has 2 coffees but...

it's a simple loop that
1) sets the muxes address
2) wait's a bit
3) read the mux data
4) stores the data
for all 16 addresses of the mux.

I think this is what you want to do.

switch_array[] is an unsigned 16 bit integer
the delay probably can be shorter,the mux device datasheet will say what the minimum is, I'd x2 that , just to be sure.

There's a LOT of ways to do what you want, to me , this is simple( one step at a time) and easy to read. Since you're reading switches it does NOT have to be fast and fancy.

Hope this helps

Jay
gjs_rsdi



Joined: 06 Feb 2006
Posts: 468
Location: Bali

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 11:13 pm     Reply with quote

Thanks Jay

Your program is very clear, except I have a question:
Code:
output_a(mux_adrs);

How I can use the other pins of port A?
I mean they will be output also together with pin 3...0, no?
Yes, you are right, I don't need a fast reading for the switches Smile

Best wishes
Joe
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19445

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 2:55 am     Reply with quote

There are a number of different answers to how to use the other pins:

1) Have a 'byte to send to port A' variable, and mask in the three bits, then send the whole variable.
2) Look at PCM_Programmer's 'Flex_lcd'. Here he allows any pins on a port to be used to drive the LCD, by outputting the data 'bit at a time', using a test, and bit output. Can be adapted for any combination of pins.
3) If you are happy to use the other bits as inputs, then switch the port to fast_IO, and only set the bottom three bits as outputs. Then you can write a 'byte' to the port, and only the three output bist will be used.
Loads of other similar ways of doing this.....
gjs_rsdi



Joined: 06 Feb 2006
Posts: 468
Location: Bali

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 4:49 pm     Reply with quote

Thanks Ttelmah
I am working on the subject, will report after implemented.

Best wishes
Joe
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group