CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Device ID not matching ID that CCSLOAD is reading
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SvenBraun



Joined: 19 Mar 2016
Posts: 29

View user's profile Send private message

Device ID not matching ID that CCSLOAD is reading
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 12:27 pm     Reply with quote

I was trying to find a solution to this by searching, but couldn't find the resources I needed, so I made an account to ask this question.

Main question: What can impact the reading of the Device ID in the Diagnostics of CCSLOAD?

Lead-up story:
I'm working with an evaluation board from Microchip, and I was attempting to load a new program, compiled using CCS.

During download, my ICD [ICD-U64] would change from red to green, signifying that it was ready to download. When it was starting the download process, it would abruptly stop, giving me 'Error: Download failed'.

I made modifications, double-checking pin connections, syntax, and fuses, but each time I would get the same message. I asked a group mate, who had loaded a program onto that chip before, if I could use his computer to attempt it. Even his computer would not download to the chip, even after he had done so previously.

I opened up CCSLOAD, and attempted loading it via the standalone CCSLOAD. No dice, but it led me to discover that the Device ID the diagnostics was reading did not match up to the chip I was using.

I can't remember what the exact value was (I don't have the chip with me right now), but it was something to the effect of:

Read: [...]001XXXX
Expected: [...]011XXXX

This device ID, while still in the same family, does not match up to the PIC chip I'm using.

My working theories are:
* My group mate somehow messed up during programming
* I somehow messed up during programming
* CCS is messing up
* The chip is somehow defective

After talking to my group mate, he swears he wouldn't have done anything that could mess up the device ID. I don't believe I have done anything to mess up the device ID. So I'm turning to CCS to see if there might be an issue with the compiler.

Is there a possibility that there could be a transmit delay with CCSLOAD? Has this issue happened to anyone else?


Compiler version: 4.135
CCSLOAD software version: 4.035
Hardware: Rev 0
asmboy



Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 2128
Location: albany ny

View user's profile Send private message AIM Address

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 1:58 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:
while still in the same family,


if it is not EXACTLY the device you specified - that error can occur.

when you say "same family" i think you are missing something very basic about what a PIC programmer has to KNOW to get the job done..

be a lot more specific and better answers may come your way.

Code:
Device ID the diagnostics was reading did not match up to the chip I was using.



SO
what part number target?
what part number attempted to program?

if not the same - there is your answer. Same "family" is not good enough
SvenBraun



Joined: 19 Mar 2016
Posts: 29

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 2:07 pm     Reply with quote

My test program is written for PIC18F87J72.

I'm attempting to program it as a PIC18F87J72.

My PIC evaluation board is listed, in both the order and physical markings on the uC, as a PIC18F87J72.

The Device ID that is coming up during Diagnostics is PIC18F67J90. From what I've read in the datasheets, they appear to be related, at least through basic architecture (the datasheet lumps the 87J72 with about 15 other PIC models, including the 67J90).
asmboy



Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 2128
Location: albany ny

View user's profile Send private message AIM Address

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 2:53 pm     Reply with quote

this board? or some other ?

http://www.microchip.com/DevelopmentTools/ProductDetails.aspx?PartNO=adm00333

and when you READ the top Of the chip
what does IT say ??

if it really is the 87j72 -then you need to contact CCS support and get them on the case.
--------------------------------
but fundamentally they are NOT the same family - and come on - one is 80 pin the other is 64 pin and have they many differences in supported hardware features too.
NOT the same family in terms of sharing a data sheet at all !!
You need to better read the data sheets.
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19348

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 2:19 am     Reply with quote

Seriously, the first thing to do is update CCSLOAD. 4.035!....
Current version is 5.022.

This may well be the whole problem, with the 87J92, actually postdating, or being 'brand new' in your software.

Then the device ID, is 'hard programmed'. Actually built into the silicon, so cannot be changed by any normal process. You are missing one 'x' in the value you type in your post, the correct ID is:

011x xxxx

If you are getting
001x xxxx

You are seeing a 67J90, 87J11, 87J50, 64J11, 64J90, or 65J10.

You can get ID problems, if the connection cable is too long.

I really would suspect the whole problem is that your software is too old.
SvenBraun



Joined: 19 Mar 2016
Posts: 29

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:57 am     Reply with quote

asmboy wrote:
this board? or some other ?

http://www.microchip.com/DevelopmentTools/ProductDetails.aspx?PartNO=adm00333

and when you READ the top Of the chip
what does IT say ??

if it really is the 87j72 -then you need to contact CCS support and get them on the case.
--------------------------------
but fundamentally they are NOT the same family - and come on - one is 80 pin the other is 64 pin and have they many differences in supported hardware features too.
NOT the same family in terms of sharing a data sheet at all !!
You need to better read the data sheets.



Sorry for the delayed reply - I'm back in my working environment, so I can double check my architecture.

1. Eval board linked: yes, that's the evaluation board I'm using.
2. The top of the chip reads "PIC18F87J72-I/PT"
Full text:
Code:
MICROCHIP
PIC18F87J72
-I/PT (e3)
1010D1K




Ttelmah wrote:
Seriously, the first thing to do is update CCSLOAD. 4.035!....
Current version is 5.022.

This may well be the whole problem, with the 87J92, actually postdating, or being 'brand new' in your software.

Then the device ID, is 'hard programmed'. Actually built into the silicon, so cannot be changed by any normal process. You are missing one 'x' in the value you type in your post, the correct ID is:

011x xxxx

If you are getting
001x xxxx

You are seeing a 67J90, 87J11, 87J50, 64J11, 64J90, or 65J10.

You can get ID problems, if the connection cable is too long.

I really would suspect the whole problem is that your software is too old.


1. I was having issues using the 'Update from Web' downloader in CCSLOAD, so after reading your comment, I downloaded it from the website (which I should've done in the first place).
2. The number of X's was indeed a mis-type on my part. You are correct.
3. I would estimate my cable to be around 6ft. I've used the same cable for programming a PIC18F4455, and I don't think it's extraordinarily long, but I'll keep that in mind.

After updating CCSLOAD, I am still getting:

R: 0101 0000 001X XXXX
E: 0101 0000 011X XXXX

Here are my new version specs:
Software: 5.024
Firmware: 3.14
Hardware: Rev 3 (PID 195)
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:44 am     Reply with quote

SvenBraun wrote:

3. I would estimate my cable to be around 6ft. I've used the same
cable for programming a PIC18F4455, and I don't think it's extraordinarily long.

See the post by asmallri in this thread:
http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=51762
Another post on cable length. See the conclusion at the end.
https://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=43346
Also, see the cable sold by CCS. It's not 6 ft. long:
http://www.ccsinfo.com/product_info.php?products_id=mod_cable
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19348

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:57 am     Reply with quote

I'd also add, that later processors seem more and more critical of longer cables. Old chips will program with cables that will not work on newer chips. 6' sounds much too long.
SvenBraun



Joined: 19 Mar 2016
Posts: 29

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:04 pm     Reply with quote

PCM programmer wrote:
SvenBraun wrote:

3. I would estimate my cable to be around 6ft. I've used the same
cable for programming a PIC18F4455, and I don't think it's extraordinarily long.

See the post by asmallri in this thread:
http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=51762
Another post on cable length. See the conclusion at the end.
https://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=43346
Also, see the cable sold by CCS. It's not 6 ft. long:
http://www.ccsinfo.com/product_info.php?products_id=mod_cable


My apologies; I misinterpreted 'cable' as the USB cable from the computer to the programmer.

I just measured the RJ11 cable, and it appears to be around 215 mm.

I will look for a shorter cable and post back my results.
newguy



Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 1903

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 1:19 pm     Reply with quote

SvenBraun wrote:
I just measured the RJ11 cable, and it appears to be around 215 mm.


That's about twice as long as my programming cables.
SvenBraun



Joined: 19 Mar 2016
Posts: 29

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 2:05 pm     Reply with quote

I was able to find our technician and cut down an RJ11 cable to about 100mm (about half the size of the last wire). New connectors attached, and all pins were verified with a DVM.

I closed out of CCSLOAD, unplugged the board. Plugged the board in, relaunched CCSLOAD. I am still getting the following:

R: 0101 0000 001X XXXX
E: 0101 0000 011X XXXX

I'm not sure what to do beyond this point, outside of contacting CCS Support and/or Microchip.
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19348

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 2:31 am     Reply with quote

I think you need to contact MicroChip.

1010, is quite early for these chips. Seems unlikely that any genuine supplier would be holding chips 6 years old. Worrying.
They should be able to identify from the D1K code what this.

502X, would be correct for an 86J72, rather than an 87J72.

There do seem to be a suspicious number of Chinese companies listing that board.
SvenBraun



Joined: 19 Mar 2016
Posts: 29

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 11:58 am     Reply with quote

I have went ahead and filed a case with Microchip about the issue.

Further information, if it's relevant:

The box it came in is from Microchip, with a label saying it was inspected 7/25/13.

The board was made in China, with a barcode with the letters CN underneath (I'm guessing to signify the country of origin in their system).

The pack list correctly lists the products, but the Check-off column is unmarked.

I will post back as this issue (hopefully) concludes.
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9164
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 12:10 pm     Reply with quote

Seems there's 3 areas that could be a problem..
1) the programmer is not genuine
2) CCSLOAD has a bug
3) the PIC you're using isn't genuine.

If the PIC was bought from say Digikey, odds are is really is genuine, but from a small 3rd party place, who really knows ?
I'd ask Microchip nicely to supply a couple of samples of that PIC. They have always been accomodating to me in the past.

Jay
BTW ther's a 3rd party place selling PICKit3 'knockoffs' here for 1/2 of uCs price !
asmboy



Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 2128
Location: albany ny

View user's profile Send private message AIM Address

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 12:37 pm     Reply with quote

Anecdote: I have a local client with a product that uses 18f26k22 in DIP package. I produced an updated version of the firmware for them and said client asked me to program a few chips THEY had purchased -- with the new code. my programmer rejected every one as being wrong device type. \

the type being reported ? 0xFFFF

on close inspection the dip tops were NOT laser etched - but rather printed with a grey paint instead. ( i could scrape it off with the edge of a razor blade )

purest JUNK - -- client says their purchasing agent found these on Alibaba and had 100 pieces air shipped from China for $1 each........

until this experience i could not believe that such a fraud was even possible - but I am smarter now - and so is the client.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group