CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

SD Card Speed using PIC18F4550

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rtrombetta



Joined: 14 Oct 2011
Posts: 8

View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger

SD Card Speed using PIC18F4550
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 8:08 am     Reply with quote

Hi!
I´m using PIC18F4550 (CCSC v4.120) running at 5V with bulk mode USB and a SanDisk 2.0G micro SD Card running in SPI mode (using PIC HW SPI). The SD card is using 3.3V and a 74HC126 buffer powered with 3.3v between PIC and SD in CS,SCLK and SDI lines. A pull up resistor (15K) between 3.3v and SD SDO line. Everything is working well except the speed.
I need to read the card as fast as possible and send data to USB port using bulk mode. I´m using the mmcsd.c library from CCS.

This library starts with...
Code:

#use spi(MASTER, DI=MMCSD_PIN_SDI, DO=MMCSD_PIN_SDO, CLK=MMCSD_PIN_SCL, BITS=8, MSB_FIRST, MODE=0, stream=mmcsd_spi)


the pins specified at the header matches hw_spi of 18f4550, but I receive an error when i call mmcsd_init();
I think that is because I need to init the card with 400Kbps, then i putted a line at the start of the mmcsd_init function and other at the end:

Code:

// start of mmcsd_init
setup_spi(SPI_MASTER | SPI_L_TO_H | SPI_XMIT_L_TO_H | SPI_CLK_DIV_64);

// before the "return" of mmcsd_init function
// I´m playing with this line to find a suitable speed without errors
setup_spi(SPI_MASTER | SPI_L_TO_H | SPI_XMIT_L_TO_H | SPI_CLK_T2);


and this worked well and the card inits without errors, but I still having problems to speed up the read rates.

fuses:
Code:

#fuses MCLR
#fuses HSPLL
#fuses NOWDT
#fuses PROTECT
#fuses NOLVP
#fuses NODEBUG
#fuses USBDIV
#fuses PLL5
#fuses CPUDIV1
#fuses VREGEN
#fuses NOCPD
#fuses NOBROWNOUT
#fuses NOFCMEN
#fuses PUT

#use delay(clock=48000000)


most relevant code of main routine that reads the sdcard and send to the usb port:
Code:

// the next line is used to switch the spi bus speed st runtime

while (address < size) {
  if (mmcsd_read_data(address,256,&out_data)) {
    lcd_putc("\fError reading card");
    delay_ms(1000);
  }
  if (!usb_puts(1,out_data,256,100)) {
    lcd_putc("\fError sending data");
    delay_ms(1000);
  }
  address  = 256;
}


The data rate between PIC and PC is 44KB/s. I commented out lines for read the SD card and the data rate rises to 300KB/s (2.4Mbps). So i think that the problem is the spi bus speed.

Using

Code:

setup_spi(SPI_MASTER | SPI_L_TO_H | SPI_XMIT_L_TO_H | SPI_CLK_DIV_64);


everything works well, but i can only send data at 33KB/s to USB.

using
Code:

setup_spi(SPI_MASTER | SPI_L_TO_H | SPI_XMIT_L_TO_H | SPI_CLK_DIV_16); // div_16 or less


the mmcsd_read_data() function returns error.

using
Code:

setup_timer_2(T2_DIV_BY_1,2,1);
setup_spi(SPI_MASTER | SPI_L_TO_H | SPI_XMIT_L_TO_H | SPI_CLK_T2);


everything works well and data rate rises to 44KB/s. If I try to rise the timer_2 speed, the read function returns error too.

All parts are mounted using a pre-drilled experimenters board and wired using hard disk flat cables. What can be happening ? Someone experimented these problems too ? Can be these issues due a high capacitance ? How can I measure capacitance at the clock line ? I have an old osciloscope (analog 20Mhz) and tryed to measure the clock line but I think there´s something wrong with this scope. It´s giving about 100ns of rise time. I don´t know if it is a osciloscope problem, or if really there´s a high capacitance at the clock line.


Last edited by rtrombetta on Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:24 am; edited 2 times in total
asmallri



Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 1631
Location: Perth, Australia

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website

PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 10:31 am     Reply with quote

The following assumes you have a pullup on the DO output of the card.

When initializing the SD/MMC interface the SPI bus speed must be less that 400Khz. Once the basic initialization has been done you can increase the SPI clock speed to 10MHz or higher.

I cannot tell from your code snippet where you are in the initialization sequence.
_________________
Regards, Andrew

http://www.brushelectronics.com/software
Home of Ethernet, SD card and Encrypted Serial Bootloaders for PICs!!
rtrombetta



Joined: 14 Oct 2011
Posts: 8

View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger

spi speed
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:22 am     Reply with quote

Hi Andrew!
Thanks for reply!

Yes, I'm using a pull up resistor between 3.3v and card's SDO line.

I'm using mmcsd.c library from CCS to r/w the card.
At the start of this library the "#use spi" is called without parameters so it will try to communicate as fast as possible with the card.
For this reason I modified the mmcsd_init() function and putted a setup_spi at the start of this function to fall the speed to an acceptable speed (SPI_CLK_DIV_64).
At the end of this function (before it returns) I putted setup_spi again to play with clock rates after the initialization.
I really don't know if the "setup_spi()" function works together with "#use spi()". I think this is the only way to change the speed at runtime.
rtrombetta



Joined: 14 Oct 2011
Posts: 8

View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger

Osciloscope Images
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:17 pm     Reply with quote

I found the problem, but not the solution.
These are the pictures that i took from oscope:

1-Clock Line at SPI_CLK_DIV_64 (750Khz).
1v/div x 0.2us/div
Level ~3.2V
rise time=320ns (very high)


2-Clock Line at SPI_CLK_DIV_64 (750Khz).
1v/div x 0.5us/div
Level ~3.2V


3-Clock Line at SPI_CLK_DIV_16 (3Mhz).
1v/div x 0.2us/div
Level ~2.4V (clock signal does not rises to 3.3V)


4-Clock Line at SPI_CLK_DIV_4 (12Mhz).
1v/div x 0.2us/div
Level min~1V max~2.4v (clock signal does not rises to 3.3v and not falls to 0V)


5-Clock Line at SPI_CLK_T2 (2Mhz).
1v/div x 0.2us/div


Does anyone have any sugestion to correct this problem ? Maybe this will not happen when I build this circuit in a PCB with the correct layout.
asmallri



Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 1631
Location: Perth, Australia

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website

Re: Osciloscope Images
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 6:19 pm     Reply with quote

rtrombetta wrote:
I found the problem, but not the solution.
These are the pictures that i took from oscope:

1-Clock Line at SPI_CLK_DIV_64 (750Khz).
1v/div x 0.2us/div
Level ~3.2V
rise time=320ns (very high)


2-Clock Line at SPI_CLK_DIV_64 (750Khz).
1v/div x 0.5us/div
Level ~3.2V


3-Clock Line at SPI_CLK_DIV_16 (3Mhz).
1v/div x 0.2us/div
Level ~2.4V (clock signal does not rises to 3.3V)


4-Clock Line at SPI_CLK_DIV_4 (12Mhz).
1v/div x 0.2us/div
Level min~1V max~2.4v (clock signal does not rises to 3.3v and not falls to 0V)


5-Clock Line at SPI_CLK_T2 (2Mhz).
1v/div x 0.2us/div


Does anyone have any sugestion to correct this problem ? Maybe this will not happen when I build this circuit in a PCB with the correct layout.


You have a hardware fault. Do you have filtering and bypass capacitors? Is your 3.3 volt rail stable?
_________________
Regards, Andrew

http://www.brushelectronics.com/software
Home of Ethernet, SD card and Encrypted Serial Bootloaders for PICs!!
bkamen



Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Posts: 1611
Location: Central Illinois, USA

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2011 11:05 pm     Reply with quote

Are you using a x10 probe that hasn't been adjusted to the scope's input?

I can make waveforms exactly like that with a x10 and any square wave while the compensation cap is out of cal.

Also, what's the bandwidth of your scope (and the probe - they can be different)

-Ben
_________________
Dazed and confused? I don't think so. Just "plain lost" will do. :D
asmallri



Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 1631
Location: Perth, Australia

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website

PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2011 11:18 pm     Reply with quote

bkamen wrote:
Are you using a x10 probe that hasn't been adjusted to the scope's input?

I can make waveforms exactly like that with a x10 and any square wave while the compensation cap is out of cal.

Also, what's the bandwidth of your scope (and the probe - they can be different)

-Ben


I initially thought something similar but that would not explain the fourth trace.
_________________
Regards, Andrew

http://www.brushelectronics.com/software
Home of Ethernet, SD card and Encrypted Serial Bootloaders for PICs!!
rtrombetta



Joined: 14 Oct 2011
Posts: 8

View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger

Re: Osciloscope Images
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:20 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:

You have a hardware fault. Do you have filtering and bypass capacitors? Is your 3.3 volt rail stable?


Hi Andrew!
Sorry about the delayed answer.
Yes, I have both filtering and bypass capacitors. I tried to use an acid-lead battery as a power source to avoid noise but the same happens. At the 74HC126 datasheet the input rise/fall time at 2V is 0 to 1us, at 4.5V is 0 to 500ns and at 6V is 0 to 400ns.
I tried to use resistor divider to interface between the PIC and the SD card but the rise/fall time was increased.
I will try to use a 74LVC126 instead the 74HC126. The 74LVC126 datasheet says that rise/fall time is typically 9ns.


Last edited by rtrombetta on Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:28 pm; edited 1 time in total
rtrombetta



Joined: 14 Oct 2011
Posts: 8

View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm     Reply with quote

bkamen wrote:
Are you using a x10 probe that hasn't been adjusted to the scope's input?

I can make waveforms exactly like that with a x10 and any square wave while the compensation cap is out of cal.

Also, what's the bandwidth of your scope (and the probe - they can be different)

-Ben


Hi Ben! Thanks for reply!
The bandwidth of both scope and probe is 20Mhz. The probe compensation cap is correctly calibrated. I think the problem is 74HC126.
bkamen



Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Posts: 1611
Location: Central Illinois, USA

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:47 pm     Reply with quote

rtrombetta wrote:
bkamen wrote:
Are you using a x10 probe that hasn't been adjusted to the scope's input?

I can make waveforms exactly like that with a x10 and any square wave while the compensation cap is out of cal.

Also, what's the bandwidth of your scope (and the probe - they can be different)

-Ben


Hi Ben! Thanks for reply!
The bandwidth of both scope and probe is 20Mhz. The probe compensation cap is correctly calibrated. I think the problem is 74HC126.



have you looked up the rise/fall time of that 74HC126?
_________________
Dazed and confused? I don't think so. Just "plain lost" will do. :D
rtrombetta



Joined: 14 Oct 2011
Posts: 8

View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:22 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:
have you looked up the rise/fall time of that 74HC126?


In the 74HC126 datasheet the input rise/fall time at 2V is 0 to 1us, at 4.5V is 0 to 500ns and at 6V is 0 to 400ns.
I tried to use resistor divider to interface between the PIC and the SD card but the rise/fall time was increased.
I will try to use a 74LVC126 instead the 74HC126. The 74LVC126 datasheet says that rise/fall time is typically 9ns.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group