CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

RA8835 driver
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 10:56 am     Reply with quote

There's a bug in this function in sed1335.c in vs. 4.073. I just found it.
The expression shown in bold is wrong. It's adding 1 to the address
before it's cast to an int8 pointer. That's wrong. It should be cast to
an int8* before the 1 is added to it. This bug probably doesn't affect
you though. I don't think you call this routine.
Quote:
int16 getCursorAddress()
{
int16 addr;

glcd_sendCMD(GLCD_CMD_GET_CSR_ADDR);
TGLCD_DATA
*(int8*)(&addr ) = glcd_readByte(); // Read low part
*(int8*)(&addr + 1) = glcd_readByte(); // Read high part

return addr;
}


It should be changed to this.
Code:
*((int8*)&addr + 1) = glcd_readByte(); 


-------
Actually, I rediscovered it. I had found it before, in this thread:
http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=32684&start=25
I don't know if it was reported back then, but I'm going to report it now.
murtis



Joined: 12 Aug 2007
Posts: 41

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 4:56 pm     Reply with quote

I looked to driver code SED1335.c. However, i did not find anything about calling this routine. So, the bug doesn't affect me....
_________________
MurtiS
murtis



Joined: 12 Aug 2007
Posts: 41

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:16 am     Reply with quote

I tried you said, But, no change on the GLCD screen. I will try to find any error, but i do not know how i can.
_________________
MurtiS
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 1:15 pm     Reply with quote

The problem could be one of these:

1. A bug in the SED1335.c driver.
2. A bug in the Graphics.c driver.
3. A bug in your compiler version.
4. A bug in your code that calls the drivers.
5. The SED1335 and RA8835 may not be completely compatible, either
in terms of software and/or hardware timing.
6. You may have connected the Winstar LCD incorrectly to your PIC.
7. Your individual unit of the Winstar LCD may have a problem in it.
8. A particular batch of the Winstar LCDs may have bugs.
9. Your individual PIC may be flaky.
10. Your board may have power supply problems such as droop or noise.
murtis



Joined: 12 Aug 2007
Posts: 41

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2008 8:10 am     Reply with quote

PCM programmer wrote:
The problem could be one of these:

1. A bug in the SED1335.c driver.
2. A bug in the Graphics.c driver.
3. A bug in your compiler version.
4. A bug in your code that calls the drivers.
5. The SED1335 and RA8835 may not be completely compatible, either
in terms of software and/or hardware timing.
6. You may have connected the Winstar LCD incorrectly to your PIC.
7. Your individual unit of the Winstar LCD may have a problem in it.
8. A particular batch of the Winstar LCDs may have bugs.
9. Your individual PIC may be flaky.
10. Your board may have power supply problems such as droop or noise.


to 1: Perhaps. I am searching whether there are any bugs or not
to 2: Perhaps. I am searching whether there are any bugs or not
to 3: I searched for bug. But, i did not find anything
to 4: There is no bug in my code that calls the drivers
to 5: The SED1335 and RA8835 completely compatible in according to Hardware. Perhaps, there can't be compability as sofware.
to 6: There is no problem. Because i have more than one. I tried the other ones.
to 7: There is no problem. Because i have more than one. I tried the other ones.
to 8: I do not know.
to 9: There is no problem. Because i have more than one. I tried the other ones.
to 10: these got controlled.

However, i will inform you when something can be good things. If you have some idea, i want to know your idea or some development
_________________
MurtiS
murtis



Joined: 12 Aug 2007
Posts: 41

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

I think....
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:09 am     Reply with quote

I think that there are any problems such as droop or noise or timing speed_?
_________________
MurtiS
murtis



Joined: 12 Aug 2007
Posts: 41

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 11:57 pm     Reply with quote

There is no noise or timing speed... I could not find any error or bug, for now....
_________________
MurtiS
Lykos1986



Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 68

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:19 am     Reply with quote

Have you found any solution to your problem? I have exactly the same problem, but I am using a regular SED1335 driver!
murtis



Joined: 12 Aug 2007
Posts: 41

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 4:33 am     Reply with quote

Lykos1986 wrote:
Have you found any solution to your problem? I have exactly the same problem, but I am using a regular SED1335 driver!


I have not yet any solution. But, i try to find the problem... If you have a solution or any idea, can you share with me_?

Thanks
_________________
MurtiS
murtis



Joined: 12 Aug 2007
Posts: 41

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 6:44 pm     Reply with quote

Absolutely, SED1335 is not fully compatible with RA8835 controller in according to software. If you see the regular driver code for SED1335, we can see the reading problem. So, interesting character or some dot goes on the GLCD Screen. But, there is no idea which line has error....
_________________
MurtiS
murtis



Joined: 12 Aug 2007
Posts: 41

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 2:37 am     Reply with quote

Do you have any idea_? The problem is going on.
_________________
MurtiS
murtis



Joined: 12 Aug 2007
Posts: 41

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:40 pm     Reply with quote

If you call the this header that is below:

Code:
void glcd_pixel(int16 x, int16 y, int1 color)
{
   int8  data;
   int16 addr;

   // Calculate the byte address containing the pixel
   addr = GLCD_GRAPHICS_ADDR + (GLCD_WIDTH/8 * y + x/8);

   // Read the byte of data at the address
   data = getData(addr);

   // Turn the pixel on or off
   if(color == ON)
      bit_set(data, 7 - x%8);
   else
      bit_clear(data, 7 - x%8);

   // Write the new data byte to display memory
   setData(addr, data);
}


error is on the line
Code:
data = getData(addr);


while the reading byte must be 0b00000000, the reading byte is 0b01000000. I tried to find how the reading byte is changing but this is very hard
_________________
MurtiS
thiru_electrifiers



Joined: 05 Jul 2008
Posts: 3

View user's profile Send private message

is this thread still alive ?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 7:39 am     Reply with quote

hi,
i too face the same problem..
the display read command always returns a corrupted data...
murtis



Joined: 12 Aug 2007
Posts: 41

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 8:37 am     Reply with quote

I have no time for trying another solution now. If we have a solution for this, i will send here...
_________________
MurtiS
murtis



Joined: 12 Aug 2007
Posts: 41

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

solution1:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 8:45 am     Reply with quote

Error is on the line below:
Code:
data = getData(addr);


We can solve this problem, but we need the 9Kb on the memory. If we can use the memory of the microcontroller in according to memory of the GLCD, this problem will be solved this problem by this way.

I do not know solution for now Smile
_________________
MurtiS
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group