|
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
xvi.lajos
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 12 Location: Hungary
|
debug stream |
Posted: Mon Aug 04, 2003 10:15 am |
|
|
Helló,
I need some help with the CCS ICD hardware.
Well, I have a homemade microchip IDC1.
I replaced the firmware to teh CCS ICD.
I works fine but now I would like to use the stream function when I debug a program.
The problem is that in my circuit there is no connection between RB3 and the ICD unit.
So would you like to help me with a conection diagram between PB3 and the PC serial port.
Thanks George
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 144516655 |
|
|
Douglas Kennedy
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 755 Location: Florida
|
Re: debug stream |
Posted: Mon Aug 04, 2003 11:47 am |
|
|
<font face="Courier New" size=-1>:=Helló,
:=I need some help with the CCS ICD hardware.
:=Well, I have a homemade microchip IDC1.
:=I replaced the firmware to teh CCS ICD.
:=I works fine but now I would like to use the stream function when I debug a program.
:=The problem is that in my circuit there is no connection between RB3 and the ICD unit.
:=So would you like to help me with a conection diagram between PB3 and the PC serial port.
:=Thanks George
#use RS232(DEBUGGER) is a very nice feature. Unlike Microchip's ICD2 and the C18 which has yet to have a working printf you can print out very complex statements to the scrollable monitor window and all with the little old ICD1 plus its fast compared to ICD2.
Even though Microchip dumped the ICD1 I would still check their website for any schematics. I have the paper doucumentation for the ICD1 and it shows the following.
The PC db9 pinouts are 8 CTS 2 RX 3 TX 7 RTS 4 DTR 5 GND
the data flowing from and to your target chip is half duplex on RB3 which goes to RC0 of the 876 . DTR goes (directly) to MCLR of the 876 the others RTS to RB4 CTS to RB5 RX to RC6 TX to RC7 after passing through a MX232 level shifter)</font>
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 144516657 |
|
|
xvi.lajos
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 12 Location: Hungary
|
Re: debug stream |
Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 8:32 am |
|
|
Thanks for the replay sir but I think it is a missunderstanding.
Of course my english :((
My MPLAB ICD works fine with the CCS ICD-S firmware.
According to the microcip's manual I had to be unconnected the RB3 pin in the ICD header, because thay said MPLAB ICD doesn't suport the low voltage programing.
So I would like to know where do I wire the RB3 pin from the ICD header.
Do I wire to the 16f876 chip inside in the ICD or to the r2232 level converter?
And to what pin?
I try to use a debug stream and I can monitoring the pulses on the RB3 pin on the header but of course I can see nothing in the debugger window because the RB3 pin is unconnected.
Thanks George
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 144516709 |
|
|
Boris M. Kokodyniak Guest
|
Re: debug stream |
Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:23 pm |
|
|
I am in the same boat, my friend. I also have programmed the Microchip ICD1 with the latest CCS ICD-S20 firmware.
At the ICD module end, RB3 in the ICD cable already is connected to the PIC16F876. You don't need to change any wiring here.
At the target end, you only need to ensure that RB3 in the ICD cable connects to the RB3 pin on your target PIC. For example, the ICD1 Demo Board already has this. But the ICD1 Header Board had an error and RB3 was connected to the wrong pin; see the Microchip Technical Note ETN20 on how to correct the RB3 trace on the PCB.
About Low Voltage Programming (LVP): When enabled, it uses pin RB3. However, when not enabled, pin RB3 is not used either during ICSP (In Circuit Serial Programming) or by the ICD. So there is no conflict, as the ICD1 does not support LVP anyway.
This is alot to digest, so here is a summary: You don't need to do anything to the Microchip ICD1 hardware to use #use RS232(DEBUGGER). Just make sure your target ICD connector brings the RB3 pin on your target PIC to the RB3 wire in the ICD cable, and use Microchip's 6-wire cable that came with ICD1.
One warning about #use RS232(DEBUGGER): I have noticed that it seems to run partially in the background, as the PIC16F876 on the ICD1 module is involved in converting data from half-duplex on the RB3 wire to something that the CCS debugger understands. Beware that overflows can occur in the debugger monitor window, whence characters get missed. Just make sure that the volume of printing to the monitor window is sufficiently small that your program will not overtake the monitor; alternatively, stop execution for a while and let the monitor catch up.
:=Thanks for the replay sir but I think it is a missunderstanding.
:=Of course my english <img src="http://www.ccsinfo.com/pix/forum/sad.gif" border="0">(
:=My MPLAB ICD works fine with the CCS ICD-S firmware.
:=According to the microcip's manual I had to be unconnected the RB3 pin in the ICD header, because thay said MPLAB ICD doesn't suport the low voltage programing.
:=So I would like to know where do I wire the RB3 pin from the ICD header.
:=Do I wire to the 16f876 chip inside in the ICD or to the r2232 level converter?
:=And to what pin?
:=I try to use a debug stream and I can monitoring the pulses on the RB3 pin on the header but of course I can see nothing in the debugger window because the RB3 pin is unconnected.
:=Thanks George
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 144516745 |
|
|
Boris M. Kokodyniak Guest
|
Re: debug stream |
Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:24 pm |
|
|
I am in the same boat, my friend. I also have programmed the Microchip ICD1 with the latest CCS ICD-S20 firmware.
At the ICD module end, RB3 in the ICD cable already is connected to the PIC16F876. You don't need to change any wiring here.
At the target end, you only need to ensure that RB3 in the ICD cable connects to the RB3 pin on your target PIC. For example, the ICD1 Demo Board already has this. But the ICD1 Header Board had an error and RB3 was connected to the wrong pin; see the Microchip Technical Note ETN20 on how to correct the RB3 trace on the PCB.
About Low Voltage Programming (LVP): When enabled, it uses pin RB3. However, when not enabled, pin RB3 is not used either during ICSP (In Circuit Serial Programming) or by the ICD. So there is no conflict, as the ICD1 does not support LVP anyway.
This is alot to digest, so here is a summary: You don't need to do anything to the Microchip ICD1 hardware to use #use RS232(DEBUGGER). Just make sure your target ICD connector brings the RB3 pin on your target PIC to the RB3 wire in the ICD cable, and use Microchip's 6-wire cable that came with ICD1.
One warning about #use RS232(DEBUGGER): I have noticed that it seems to run partially in the background, as the PIC16F876 on the ICD1 module is involved in converting data from half-duplex on the RB3 wire to something that the CCS debugger understands. Beware that overflows can occur in the debugger monitor window, whence characters get missed. Just make sure that the volume of printing to the monitor window is sufficiently small that your program will not overtake the monitor; alternatively, stop execution for a while and let the monitor catch up.
:=Thanks for the replay sir but I think it is a missunderstanding.
:=Of course my english <img src="http://www.ccsinfo.com/pix/forum/sad.gif" border="0">(
:=My MPLAB ICD works fine with the CCS ICD-S firmware.
:=According to the microcip's manual I had to be unconnected the RB3 pin in the ICD header, because thay said MPLAB ICD doesn't suport the low voltage programing.
:=So I would like to know where do I wire the RB3 pin from the ICD header.
:=Do I wire to the 16f876 chip inside in the ICD or to the r2232 level converter?
:=And to what pin?
:=I try to use a debug stream and I can monitoring the pulses on the RB3 pin on the header but of course I can see nothing in the debugger window because the RB3 pin is unconnected.
:=Thanks George
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 144516746 |
|
|
xvi.lajos
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 12 Location: Hungary
|
Re: debug stream |
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 8:15 am |
|
|
Thanks for your help Sir,
It works fine.
George
___________________________
This message was ported from CCS's old forum
Original Post ID: 144516856 |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|