CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

itg3200 i2c problem
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tom1234



Joined: 06 Jan 2013
Posts: 39

View user's profile Send private message

itg3200 i2c problem
PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 1:58 am     Reply with quote

Hello guys,

I am trying to program Itg3200 sensor module. I used the scanner program (http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=47707&start=21 )

The problem is : when I used 1,5K or 1K pull-up resistor I see only 00 at the first case and regular counting (00,02,04,06….) At the second case.


What is going wrong . From the manual I can't find the right value for the pull-up resistor. Also I don’t know if the program at the above link is working right?

It will be helpful if someone has any idea.
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19358

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 2:23 am     Reply with quote

You need to tell us a lot more.

Yes, the I2C scanner works.

What PIC?.
What complier version?.
What supply voltage?.
What pins on the PIC?.

The Itg3200, is a 3.3v device. It won't directly drive the hardware I2C input on a 5v PIC. You can use it on some PIC's/pins, by running using software I2C. With a 3.3v PIC, it should work.

I2C bus pullup's depend on the length of the bus (capacitance), supply voltage, ratings of the device, and speed.
The output of the Itg3200 is designed for 3mA sink current, so 1KR, is going to be pushing it with 3.3v on the pullup's. If you have the pullup's going to 5v, then you are outside the specifications of the chip.
Something around 3.3KR, should be adequate provided your bus is not long.

I suspect your problem is voltage translation between the device voltages.
Tom1234



Joined: 06 Jan 2013
Posts: 39

View user's profile Send private message

itg3200 i2c problem
PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 2:43 pm     Reply with quote

dspic33fj64GP202

Supply voltage =3.3V --> 1 k resistor is right

I2C pins : B8-->SCL1,B9-->SDA1

From the scanner program i expect to see only one value(address). Is this right???
dyeatman



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 1924
Location: Norman, OK

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 3:34 pm     Reply with quote

What is VLogic pin 8 tied to?
_________________
Google and Forum Search are some of your best tools!!!!
Tom1234



Joined: 06 Jan 2013
Posts: 39

View user's profile Send private message

itg3200 i2c problem
PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:38 pm     Reply with quote

I didn't connect anything to VLogic pin
dyeatman



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 1924
Location: Norman, OK

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:56 pm     Reply with quote

The datasheet says the VLogic pin voltage determines the I2C
bus signal levels. I would tie it to your 3.3V VDD to be safe.

Also, where are you reading that 1K pullups are the right value?
_________________
Google and Forum Search are some of your best tools!!!!
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19358

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 12:42 am     Reply with quote

I suspect he may be finding a reference to this, which will list it as the _,minimum_ value. However provided the bus is not too long, something between 2.2K, and 3.3K, is a much better range for 3.3v I2C.

Vlogic is vital. I suspect this is the main problem. The chip will not respond properly to I2C without it.

Best Wishes
Tom1234



Joined: 06 Jan 2013
Posts: 39

View user's profile Send private message

itg3200 i2c problem
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 11:03 am     Reply with quote

I used a 3 K resistors as pull-up resistors and also I connected
the Vlogic to VDD .

when I run the scanner program I receive only the value 00.
What is going wrong?
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 11:14 am     Reply with quote

Did you buy the Itg3200 board or did you build it yourself ? If you bought
the board, post a link to the website for the board, so that we can see a
schematic for it. If you built the board yourself, then upload the
schematic to a free image hosting website, then post a link to it.

Also, post the #use i2c() statement that you are using.
Tom1234



Joined: 06 Jan 2013
Posts: 39

View user's profile Send private message

itg3200 i2c problem
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 12:29 pm     Reply with quote

I bought the sensor from the ebay (i asked the seller for the schematic).

For the i2c i used :
#use i2c(Master, sda=PIN_B9, scl=PIN_B8)
Tom1234



Joined: 06 Jan 2013
Posts: 39

View user's profile Send private message

itg3200 i2c problem
PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:08 am     Reply with quote

Guys I need your suggestions .what i need to do?
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:13 am     Reply with quote

Post a link to the Ebay page so we can at least look at the board.
Tom1234



Joined: 06 Jan 2013
Posts: 39

View user's profile Send private message

itg3200 i2c problem
PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:29 am     Reply with quote

Sensor:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/260778520666?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:52 am     Reply with quote

I am searching for a schematic for that board.

But, by looking at the image of the board with the Invensense pin
diagram, I can see a few things:

This board has built-in i2c pull-up resistors, R1 and R2. The photo
is at an angle so it's hard to read the resistor value. But it looks like 332,
which is 3.3K, which makes sense for an i2c board running at +3.3v.
This means you don't have to add external pull-up resistors.


There is no documentation of the board's pinout. Did you get a sheet
of paper with the board that lists the functions of pins 1 to 7 ?
Or does the board have the pin labels printed on the back of the board ?
(example: VDD, SDA, SCL, for all 7 pins). If it does, then post it here.
Or make a photo of the back side of the board, upload it to a free image
hosting website and post a link to it.
Also, are there any components on the back side of the board ?

Here is my estimate of the board pinout:

1 - ?
2 - Vlogic
3 - Ground (probably)
4 - Vdd (probably)
5 - CLKIN
6 - SDA
7 - SCL


There are three gold pads at the bottom of the board. The center pad
is connected to the AD0 pin on the itg3200 chip. It appears from the
photo, that there is a trace going from the center pad to what is probably
the ground plane. Can you check that with an ohmmeter ? I want to
know if the AD0 pin is floating, or is it connected to ground (or possibly Vdd).
Tom1234



Joined: 06 Jan 2013
Posts: 39

View user's profile Send private message

itg3200 i2c problem
PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 2:13 pm     Reply with quote

There is not any component on the back side of the board.

The pins label are printed (on the back side)are :
1)Vdd
2)Vlogic
3)GND
4)INT
5)CLK
6)SDA
7)SCL

I checked the 3 pads (with the pins) the first is connected to VDD and the last to the GND. The center pad is not connected

If you need any other information let me know.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group