View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
andys
Joined: 23 Oct 2006 Posts: 175
|
Question about PT100 sensor |
Posted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 6:45 pm |
|
|
I use the PT100 temperature sensor. It is working, creating a value, but is wrong.
I read in the forum about some functions to create the real output (according what is coming by the sensor) but i don't understand which one to use?
Also will I need any other hardware component to use this sensor (to receive right data) ? |
|
|
asmboy
Joined: 20 Nov 2007 Posts: 2128 Location: albany ny
|
|
Posted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:03 pm |
|
|
why not post your:
CODE
SCHEMATIC
compiler version ??
REAL or simulation ?? |
|
|
SherpaDoug
Joined: 07 Sep 2003 Posts: 1640 Location: Cape Cod Mass USA
|
|
Posted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:28 pm |
|
|
Also tell us what data you are expecting and what you are actually getting. _________________ The search for better is endless. Instead simply find very good and get the job done. |
|
|
andys
Joined: 23 Oct 2006 Posts: 175
|
Question about PT100 sensor |
Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:05 am |
|
|
I did a simple read the value via a adc converter and print it :
Code: |
void main() {
unsigned int8 value;
unsigned int8 temperature;
setup_adc_ports(sAN0);
setup_adc(ADC_CLOCK_INTERNAL);
set_adc_channel(0);
do {
value = read_adc();
delay_ms(100);
printf("%lu\n",value);
} while (1);
}
|
According some thread which i read : i also try to do :
temperature=(value-100)/0.384;
again the resualt which i get is not look like logic.
I any one who use this kind of sensosr ? |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9225 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:24 am |
|
|
If this is a platinum temperature sensor, then of course, you'll need PROPER signal conditioning !! At the very least a simple opamp will do, with correct resistors chosen for gain and span.Since this sensor is 'industrial', there are hundreds of sites with the knowledge you seek.
Just google 'pt100 signal contioning' or similar,heck,just google 'pt100' and a picture of the schematic you need pops up...amazing internet...
There are premade 'interfaces' for them but I always made my own.
I suggest running the ADC in 10 bit mode and NOT using the internal ADC clock,though without knowing which PIC and configuration, I can't help further.
hth
jay |
|
|
branko
Joined: 26 Mar 2013 Posts: 8 Location: Russia
|
Re: Question about PT100 sensor |
Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 8:45 am |
|
|
You have to calculate pt100 resistance first and then pt100 temperature from it. I have done a pt100 project and it gives very accurate values of pt100's resistance and temperature. It is written in mikroC PRO PIC. If you need my project email me at brankomilovanovic@yahoo.com and I will send your the project files. _________________ Regards
Branko |
|
|
|