CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

How to set interrupts?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
amjad_alahdal



Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 50

View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger

How to set interrupts?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 7:06 am     Reply with quote

how can I set interrupts at any port in the PIC ?
I need to set also a counter that counts up when the interrupt goes from h_to_low and then goes from low to high.

I started to call some interrupts functions. But, it's still not complete .

in the beginning of the program I wrote the following :

Code:

#INT_EXT
void ext_isr() {
static int1 Encoder_1 =FALSE;

   if(!Encoder_1)     
   {
      Encoder_1 =TRUE;   
      ext_int_edge(L_TO_H);   // change so interrupts on release
   }
   delay_ms(100);             // debounce button
}


Encoder_1 ====> PIN_A3

In the part in which I want the interrupt to be activated in wrote the following.
Code:

   ext_int_edge(H_TO_L);      // init interrupt triggering
   enable_interrupts(INT_EXT);// turn on interrupts
   enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);




my programmer is still not working well. and I got confused.

Help please [/code]
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9170
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 7:51 am     Reply with quote

First thing to do is read the PIC datasheet and processor.h file that you're using.Within those documents you'll read which pins have interrupts.
2nd thing is to read the various examples that CCS supplies in the 'examples' folder.Several show how to setup and use interrupts.

We don't know which PIC you're using, but, historically the INT_EXT ISR has been associated with pin B_0 not A_3.

hth
jay
amjad_alahdal



Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 50

View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 8:00 am     Reply with quote

Thank you for letting me notice about the pin
and Yes
I have checked the datasheet.
B0 refers to External Interrupt 0
B1 refers to External Interrupt 1
B2 refers to External Interrupt 2
amjad_alahdal



Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 50

View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 12:04 pm     Reply with quote

Ok,
As I have been reading about the interrupts. I found out the following.
First I have to write the function in which the interrupts should do.
In my situation I should write the following program :
Code:


#int_Encoder
void Encoder_isr() {
counter++;

}

in the main I have to activate
   enable_interrupts(global);
   enable_interrupts(int_encoder);
   ext_int_edge( L_TO_H );// this will set the interrupt when
// the interrupted signal goes from L to h
// and then




I wish I could get it right
alan



Joined: 12 Nov 2012
Posts: 357
Location: South Africa

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 12:33 pm     Reply with quote

No
Code:

ISR declaration should be

#int_EXT
void Encoder_isr()
{
  counter++;
}

void main() {
   enable_interrupts(INT_EXT)
   ext_int_edge( L_TO_H );// this will set the interrupt when
// the interrupted signal goes from L to h
// and then

your code
}
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19359

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 1:53 pm     Reply with quote

Not quite.
Code:

#int_EXT
void Encoder_isr()
{
   counter++;
}

void main()
{
   enable_interrupts(INT_EXT)
   ext_int_edge( L_TO_H );// this will set the interrupt when
   // the interrupted signal goes from L to h
   // and then
   clear_interrupt(INT_EXT); //if you read the data sheet, you will
   //find that selecting the edge, can result in the interrupt becoming
   //set, so you should clear it after setting the edge, and before
   enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);
   //Now the code will call the interrupt in the rising edge.

   while (TRUE)
   {
      //your code
   }
}
amjad_alahdal



Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 50

View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 10:27 pm     Reply with quote

I have written this program :

Code:


#include <18F2455.H>
#device  PASS_STRINGS=IN_RAM
#FUSES NOWDT,HS,NOBROWNOUT,NOLVP
#USE delay(clock=16M)
int counter = 0  ;

#int_EXT
void Encoder_isr() {

counter++;
}

#use rs232(baud = 9600 , xmit = PIN_A4, stream = COM_LCD)


#include<lcd.h>
void main()
{
   delay_ms(2000);
   fprintf(COM_LCD,"Hello");
   enable_interrupts(INT_EXT);
   ext_int_edge( L_TO_H );
   clear_interrupt(INT_EXT);
   enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);
   
   while (TRUE)
   {

      lcd_cursor_move(1,6);
      fprintf(COM_LCD,"%d",counter);
   }
}



when I displayed it in the LCD. The counter doesn't stop counting even if nothing has occurred it counts all the time. Isn't the counter supposed to count if and only if it goes from low to high ?
Where is the mistake ?
amjad_alahdal



Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 50

View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:01 pm     Reply with quote

Thank you guys for your help.
I believe there was no mistake in my program.
I could find out that the mistake was Hardware mistake.
Thank you for your replies
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group