CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

passing Pin to function

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
palazzolojoe



Joined: 04 Feb 2012
Posts: 7

View user's profile Send private message

passing Pin to function
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:34 pm     Reply with quote

Does anyone know how to pass a pin to a function?

For example,
Lets say I wanted pin=pin_b1
I want to pass pin_b1 into a function as follows:
Code:

void output (pin ) //this is where i am having difficulty
{
output_high(pin);
}
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19332

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 2:34 am     Reply with quote

How old is your compiler?.

A pin number, is an int16 for passing to functions. This is supported in the V4 compilers _but not in V3_. There have been functions posted here in the past to do this. On the old compilers you have to manually disassemble the number, taking the pin number/8, to get the memory address required, and then the low 3 bits of the pin number to get the bit required.
So for current compilers:
Code:

void output(int16 pin_no) {
   output_high(pin_no);
}


Be aware that if (for example) you do a basic 'output_high(fixed_pin_number)' this generates just a couple of machine instructions, while doing it with a variable, either if the compiler supports it or 'DIY', involves perhaps 20+ instructions. So if (for instance) you just need to switch between a couple of pins, it is actually much faster to do a simple test with an if statement, than to use the variable in the function.....


Best Wishes
palazzolojoe



Joined: 04 Feb 2012
Posts: 7

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 8:51 am     Reply with quote

in the properties for ccsc
File version:4.0.0.207
product version: 4.0.0.0

basically what I need this for is to enhance my servo function, my code is as follows

Code:
void move_servo(int period, float dest)
{
   long p, high_duty,low_duty;
   float temp;
   int j;

   p=(period*1000);   
   temp=((float)(1.0*(dest/90.0))+1.0)*1000.0;
   high_duty=(temp+0.5);
   low_duty=p-high_duty;

   for (j=0;j<30;j++)
   {
      output_high(pin_b1);
      delay_us(high_duty);
      output_low(pin_b1);
      delay_us(low_duty);
   }
}


I am using an hs-311 servo, my servo only moves 90 degrees at a speed of .2s/60degrees. So I am outputting a wave for .6s to ensure that it moves to the correct position. The pulse range is from 1 to 2 ms and the period is 20ms. I am not sure if there is a better way to do this but this is what I have come up with this far.

So what you're saying is that I can use int16 pin as a parameter and pass whatever pin I want the output to be (in this case pin_b1), but since its a variable it will throw off my timing and won't generate the desired wave form. So its better to just use an if statement based on what pin one wants to use.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group