CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

INT ext
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
aaronik19



Joined: 25 Apr 2011
Posts: 297

View user's profile Send private message

INT ext
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 3:42 pm     Reply with quote

Dear all,

I made this small program and unfortunately the INT EXT is not working and the RB Interrupt is working fine. PIC used is 16f876 on 4MHz crystal.

Code:

#include <garage.h>

#int_RB
void  RB_isr(void)
{
if(input(PIN_B4) )
{
   output_A(13);
}

if(input(PIN_B5) )
{
   output_A(17);
}

if(input(PIN_B6) )
{
   output_A(18);
}


}

#int_EXT
void  EXT_isr(void)
{
if(input(PIN_B1) == 1 )
{
   output_A(02);
}

if(input(PIN_B2) == 1 )
{
   output_A(03);
}

if(input(PIN_B3) == 1 )
{
   output_A(04);
}
}

#int_TIMER1
void  TIMER1_isr(void)
{

}



void main()
{
   set_tris_b(0xff);
   set_tris_a(0x00);
   setup_timer_1(T1_INTERNAL|T1_DIV_BY_8);      //524 ms overflow
   enable_interrupts(INT_RB);
   enable_interrupts(INT_EXT);
   enable_interrupts(INT_TIMER1);
   enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);

   while(1)
   {

   sleep();

   }

}


thanks for your help
asmboy



Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 2128
Location: albany ny

View user's profile Send private message AIM Address

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:49 pm     Reply with quote

you have potentially troublesome overlap here :

1- i will assume U know the EXT int is triggered by pin B0 not B1

2- also i ALWAYS do a full READ of port_B

dumi=input_b();

before exiting the ISR to avoid hanging / missed int problems
&&
personally i would do this with BOTH ISRs that you show

3- i would do a CLEAR_INTERRUPT() call to each int you enable
BEFORE enabling them in your INIT startup routine

4- lastly and i would NOT have the timer ISR call an empty routine
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 5:02 pm     Reply with quote

1. Describe the external circuit on pin B0 (for INT_EXT).

2. What are the voltage levels placed on pin B0 by this circuit ?

3. What is the Vdd voltage of the PIC ?

4. What are your #fuses ?

5. What is your compiler version ?


Quote:
4- lastly and i would NOT have the timer ISR call an empty routine

It doesn't do any harm.
aaronik19



Joined: 25 Apr 2011
Posts: 297

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 1:38 am     Reply with quote

thanks for your reply asmboy and PCM Programmer.

I am using PIC16F876, 4MHz, and the supply voltage is constant 5V. I know that the EXT works on B0 but I've put diodes to B1, B2, and B3 (instead of OR gates) to have three inputs on the EXT. I am 100% that the design is correct, do not worry Smile

the compiler I am using is the 4.093. Is this makes any difference?

Why I should clear interrupts before enable them? To be 100% sure that everything is clear? I've never hear this before but if this is the case, it makes sense...thanks.
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19363

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 4:07 am     Reply with quote

A lot of interrupts can get 'accidentally' triggered when you initialise the chip. For instance, the edge triggered interrupts may get set if you change the edge they are programmed to use. Timers may roll over after the chip wakes (typically they start at 0xFFFF, so a roll over to '0' happens with just one clock cycle). Things like RS232 inputs may see the input drawn low for a few uSec before buffer chips like the MAX232 wake up. So it is always 'safer' to assume they may well be set at boot, or write the handler so it doesn't matter if they do accidentally trigger.

Now, are you sure you are using the right 'edge' for INT_EXT?. Unlike the RB interrupt, which triggers on both edges of a signal, this only triggers on one. You are testing for pins being high, so you need to have the interrupt trigger on the 'low to high' edge, or this will never be the case. Look at the ext_int_edge setting.

Best Wishes
ckielstra



Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 3680
Location: The Netherlands

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 4:20 am     Reply with quote

You have not configured for the INT_EXT to be triggered by the rising or falling edge.
I don't know the default setting, but lets assume it is the falling edge, then your INT_EXT interrupt will fire but reading of the B1 to B3 pins will always be 0 and nothing is being output.

For testing this I suggest you add an extra test to the INT_EXT routine where you output a value when B1-B3 all are zero.

Edit: I see Ttelmah posted a similar reply while I was typing this.
aaronik19



Joined: 25 Apr 2011
Posts: 297

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 10:50 am     Reply with quote

thanks to all,

I've replaced the following code:

Code:

#int_EXT
void  EXT_isr(void)
{
if(input(PIN_B1) == 1 )
{
   output_A(02);
}

if(input(PIN_B2) == 1 )
{
   output_A(03);
}

if(input(PIN_B3) == 1 )
{
   output_A(04);
}
}


with this:

Code:

#int_EXT
void  EXT_isr(void)

value = input_b();

{
if(value = 0b00000011)
{
   output_A(02);
}

if(value = 0b00000101)
{
   output_A(03);
}

if(value = 0b00001001 )
{
   output_A(04);
}
}


but still no luck. I also inserted the ext_edge (l_to_h) but still not working. Any help please?
Ttelmah



Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 19363

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 10:55 am     Reply with quote

Two problems:
Unless you _know_ the values of the top four bits are going to be '0', again 'of course' it won't work.
It also won't work, because '=' is the value assignment operator, not the 'test' operator '=='.

if ((value & 0xF) == 0b0000011)

Best Wishes
aaronik19



Joined: 25 Apr 2011
Posts: 297

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 11:36 am     Reply with quote

yes, I inserted "==" and not "="..it was a misprint. still no luck with

Code:
if((input_val& 0xF) == 0b00001001)
{
   output_A(04);

}
ckielstra



Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 3680
Location: The Netherlands

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 11:51 am     Reply with quote

Still, you have not added debug code for the situation where none of the inputs is what you expect them to be. Now you assume the interrupt is not working where it very well might work but with different input values.

One reason for different input values is the edge on which INT_EXT is triggered. You, again, assume it is the positive edge but nowhere in your code this is configured so it might as well be the triggered by the negative edge. Ttelmah gave you a hint for the command to change this setting.
aaronik19



Joined: 25 Apr 2011
Posts: 297

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 12:06 pm     Reply with quote

sorry I always forget to put the whole code. Here it is:

Code:



//variables

byte input_val;

#int_RB
void  RB_isr(void)
{
if (input(PIN_B4))
{
   output_A(13);
}

if(input(PIN_B5) )
{
   output_A(17);
}

if(input(PIN_B6) )
{
   output_A(18);
}


}

#int_EXT
void  EXT_isr(void)
{
 if (INPUT(PIN_B1))
 {
   output_A(30);
 }
}

#int_TIMER1
void  TIMER1_isr(void)
{

}



void main()
{
 
   set_tris_b(0xff);
   set_tris_a(0x00);
   setup_timer_1(T1_INTERNAL|T1_DIV_BY_8);      //524 ms overflow
   ext_int_edge( h_TO_l );
   clear_interrupt(INT_RB);
   clear_interrupt(INT_EXT);
   clear_interrupt(INT_TIMER1);
   enable_interrupts(INT_RB);
   enable_interrupts(INT_EXT);
   enable_interrupts(INT_TIMER1);
   enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);

   while(1)
   {

   sleep();

   }

}
aaronik19



Joined: 25 Apr 2011
Posts: 297

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 12:08 pm     Reply with quote

the code that I submitted is the latest one I am experiment in...
asmboy



Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 2128
Location: albany ny

View user's profile Send private message AIM Address

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 1:15 pm     Reply with quote

you are still not initializing fully
Quote:

You have not configured for the INT_EXT


WHICH direction of change will take the INT ISR????????
aaronik19



Joined: 25 Apr 2011
Posts: 297

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 1:59 pm     Reply with quote

sorry asmboy but I am not understanding you. What do yo mean by "initializing fully "?
newguy



Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 1903

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 2:15 pm     Reply with quote

The edge interrupt(s - depending on processor) can be configured to trigger on either a rising or falling edge. Look up ext_int_edge() in the help file.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group