CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to CCS Technical Support

controlling a servo with 12f675
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
IceMetal



Joined: 20 Nov 2008
Posts: 79
Location: white Plains, NY

View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger

controlling a servo with 12f675
PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 8:22 pm     Reply with quote

is it possible to control a servo with a 12f675 I was browsing the code, on this forum and most of the codes I seen they use CCP_PWM or the servo.c and that does not work on the 12f675, can anyone point me out some same code that I can use to control a servo using a 12f675, thanks
dyeatman



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 1933
Location: Norman, OK

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 8:50 pm     Reply with quote

Take a look at a helpful tutorial here:
http://www.best-microcontroller-projects.com/12F675.html
_________________
Google and Forum Search are some of your best tools!!!!
IceMetal



Joined: 20 Nov 2008
Posts: 79
Location: white Plains, NY

View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger

PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 8:53 pm     Reply with quote

dyeatman wrote:
Take a look at a helpful tutorial here:
http://www.best-microcontroller-projects.com/12F675.html

are you the one selling that code? shame on you.
dyeatman



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 1933
Location: Norman, OK

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 9:00 pm     Reply with quote

What is your problem!

Actually I used Google and found this info in 30 seconds which is
something YOU should have done on your own before you came asking
for help. You can bet I won't respond to your request for help on this board
in the future....
_________________
Google and Forum Search are some of your best tools!!!!
IceMetal



Joined: 20 Nov 2008
Posts: 79
Location: white Plains, NY

View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger

PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 9:12 pm     Reply with quote

dyeatman wrote:
What is your problem!

Actually I used Google and found this info in 30 seconds which is
something YOU should have done on your own before you came asking
for help. You can bet I won't respond to your request for help on this board
in the future....


I was just kidding cause they want $7 for that code, and is for a different compiler that has different library, but thanks anyways.
IceMetal



Joined: 20 Nov 2008
Posts: 79
Location: white Plains, NY

View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger

PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:40 pm     Reply with quote

I did some reading on servos, and I end up doing the programs myself



the timing on mine is different cause the timing in the picture didnt work for me, so you might have to adjust it, but at the end delay 1 and delay 2 should add up to 20ms cause the servo reads the pulse every 20ms

Code:
#include <12F675.h>
#fuses INTRC_IO,NOWDT,NOPUT,NOPROTECT,NOMCLR

#use delay(clock=4000000)

int i;

void main()
{
while(1)
{
   for(i=0;i<100;i++)               // 0 degrees
   {
         output_high(PIN_A2);
         delay_us(700);             // delay 1
         output_low(PIN_A2);
         delay_us(19300);           //delay 2 
   }                                // delay 1 + delay 2 = 20000us
   
   for(i=0;i<100;i++)               //180 degrees
   {
         output_high(PIN_A2);
         delay_us(2000);
         output_low(PIN_A2);
         delay_us(18000);
   }

}
}
temtronic



Joined: 01 Jul 2010
Posts: 9216
Location: Greensville,Ontario

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 5:13 am     Reply with quote

When asking for help,you should also say WHAT type of servo you need code for. From the responses so far, you're looking for 'hobby RC type servos' NOT the 'default' servos that I work with.
There is tons of code for RC servos out there though...nothing for 3HP ones though !!
asmboy



Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 2128
Location: albany ny

View user's profile Send private message AIM Address

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:21 am     Reply with quote

oh - rc hobby servos ........

a thing you would NOT know

most hobby servos do NOT need anything like the refresh rate that is spec'd.
in a project i did for hire last year - i found that HiTech brand servos needed NO refresh at all!!!

when the servo is first powered up -- idle -
it took TWO back to back pulse sequences to:

pulse 1: wake it up // but no motion
pulse 2: move to position and stay indefinitely

i think you will find that refresh time in general is not much of an issue

anyway......

you are NOT going to make a useful program with all those primitive LOOOOONG delay_ms() function calls .

my humble suggestion is to use a 16 mhz external crystal and work out
how to use timer0 to get any precise delay you want - without stalling your execution in dead-end code - ie: delay_ms(whatever)

no program worth using , ever creates delays of that duration -
the way you do - its ALL about how to use timers creatively.

thats your next homework assignment:

figure out how to tell relative time without using "delay_ms()"
IceMetal



Joined: 20 Nov 2008
Posts: 79
Location: white Plains, NY

View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:54 am     Reply with quote

thanks, but my application is very simple, what I need to do, is press one button and the rc servo would move to 0 and press the same button again and the RC servo would move to 180, but I would look into TIMER0, when I looked at the 12f675 datasheet I didn't see it had PWM so I though it was not possible to do it that way.
asmboy



Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 2128
Location: albany ny

View user's profile Send private message AIM Address

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 12:27 pm     Reply with quote

I you setup_timer0()

with a divider of RTCC_DIV_1

then each COUNT of the timer is 1 uSec.

If you can spare the pins i would use a 16mhz crystal and set
RTCC_DIV_4 - so you get some useful clock cycles as well ;-))


BTW: the commercial product i worked on for controlling multiple multiplexed Hitech RC servos -
used an 18F part with 16mhz reference such that i could use the 16 bit Timer0 to preload the counter with the usec delay i wanted:
as in load (65536-mydelay) and then just poll for the overflow T0IF flag to tell me the delay has expired. In that 18F family it can even be handled on an interrupt basis - and you have NO foreground overhead other than
toggling the output line high - set the delay and let my #int routine clear the output line when the count is up.
NO FOREGROUND MONITOR - NO delay_MS()
IceMetal



Joined: 20 Nov 2008
Posts: 79
Location: white Plains, NY

View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 1:27 pm     Reply with quote

Thanks, I'm just trying to avoid putting the crystal because all this would go in a tini box. I found this code in the forum and I was trying to figure out how to jump in the loop of 0 and in the loop of 180 by pressing a push button.
http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=19874

I tried putting the code in all different loops, but still does not work,
Should I post this as a new topic?
asmboy



Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 2128
Location: albany ny

View user's profile Send private message AIM Address

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:39 pm     Reply with quote

i am getting your point - you need to go very simple - and your specs dont require programmability - so i guess you are stuck with 4mhz internal

at least your instruction cycle is appx 1uSEC - there is not much you can do with that - given thta you want programmatic resolution equal to an instruction cycle. i would make the delays a couple counts SHORTER than the delay you want to allow for the cycles used in pin switchjing ;-))


your .LST file will reveal more about that
IceMetal



Joined: 20 Nov 2008
Posts: 79
Location: white Plains, NY

View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:53 pm     Reply with quote

Thanks asmboy, what can you suggest, I will run the loop of 0 and 180 for a second and then go back to the main loop, but on the main loop how do I know what loop was on last? my idea is

Press button go to
0 degree loop
press button again go to
180 degree loop


and so on, I just trying to figure out the logic of how to jump between loops with one button.
IceMetal



Joined: 20 Nov 2008
Posts: 79
Location: white Plains, NY

View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:18 pm     Reply with quote

I did this code and it works the only problem if I hold the button for more than 1 second it the servo keeps moving left and right, is there a way to make it so no matter how long is pressed it would stay in that location, and it would only move when I pressed again:

Code:

#include <12F675.h>
#fuses INTRC_IO,NOWDT,NOPUT,NOPROTECT,NOMCLR
#use delay(clock=4000000)

#define BUTTON  PIN_A4
#define Right        0
#define Left         1
int i;

void main()
{
  int8  ServoLocation = Left;
 
   while (TRUE)
   {   
      if ((input(BUTTON) == 0) && (ServoLocation == Left))
      {
       for(i=0;i<100;i++)               //servo would move to left
         {
         output_high(PIN_A2);
         delay_us(2000);
         output_low(PIN_A2);
         delay_us(18000);
         ServoLocation = Right;
         }     

      }
      else if (input(BUTTON) == 0 && (ServoLocation == Right))
      {
      for(i=0;i<100;i++)               //  servo would move to right
         {
         output_high(PIN_A2);
         delay_us(700);             // delay 1
         output_low(PIN_A2);
         delay_us(19300);           //delay 2
         ServoLocation = Left;
         }
         
      }
   }
}
asmboy



Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 2128
Location: albany ny

View user's profile Send private message AIM Address

PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 9:33 am     Reply with quote

you are running afoul of several things -
the ACTION you command is all done in millisecs but you are STILL HOLDING the button TRUE - so it flips right away to the OTHER function before you can release it.

ALSO you could have contact bounce - further complicating this

what you want to do is DETECT WHEN A BUTTON IS PRESSED
but do NOTHING Until it is RELEASED - THEN enter the operating mode

and i see you DO not initialize the servo on 'wakeup' either - so i did ;-))
like this:


Code:

#include <12F675.h>
#fuses INTRC_IO,NOWDT,NOPUT,NOPROTECT,NOMCLR
#use delay(clock=4000000)
#define BUTTON  PIN_A4
#define Right        0
#define Left         1
int i;

void leftie(void){
         output_high(PIN_A2);
         delay_us(2000);
         output_low(PIN_A2);
         //  ?? delay_us(18000);  // WHY THIS DELAY ??? 
}
void rightie(void){       
        output_high(PIN_A2);
         delay_us(700);             // delay 1
         output_low(PIN_A2);
        //  delay_us(19300);           // 19300 WHY ?????  delay 2
}
void main()
{
  UNSIGNED int8  ServoLocation = Left;
  int1  GoMove=0;
        // the fast way i would intialize this thing
         leftie();
         delay_ms(60);    // 55 msec typical deadband max for servo
         leftie();
   while (TRUE){ // loop forever
   // separate the BUTTON management simplistically from ACTIONS
   // *--*
     if (input(button)){  // BUTTON PRESSED ??
       delay_ms(30); // wait short simplest  debounce interval
       if (input(button)){  // still PRESSED down ??
           while(input(button)){}; // YES - IDLE till released
           gomove=1;    // move the servo NOW
       } // implied ELSE IE: not held down long enuf to matter so exit
    }

   // now move is executed ONLY if a complete press and release was done
   if (gomove) {
      if (ServoLocation == Left){
          leftie();
          ServoLocation == Right;
      }
      ELSE {
           rightie();
           ServoLocation = Left;
      }
    gomove=0; 
    delay_ms(60); // deadband between any possible next moves
    //   ONLY Needed ONCE after each move
   } // end go move
 } //end while(1)
}// end main


I URGE YOU TO BEFORE doing any moves - INITIALIZE the position TWICE - as i found necessary for Hitech servos

ALSO the SECOND long delay at the END of leftie and rightie ??

makes NO Sense to me at all ?? at least not NOW

the servo ONLY needs the time HIGH controlled by the FIRST delay to
move -- with a dead band BETWEEN commands of NO MORE than the MAXIMUM move command time of abt 50 msec !!!!


if you need it for some other reason - then put it back or insert it ONCE after the GO CMD as i did for 60 msec
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group